Book Notification

Simon Mason Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Wilkins Mysteries Books

A Killing in November (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Broken Afternoon (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost and Never Found (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Garvie Smith Mysteries Books

Publication Order of The Quigleys Books

The Quigleys (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quigleys at Large (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quigleys Not for Sale (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Quigleys in a Spin (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Great English Nude (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Fantasist (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lives of the Dog-Stranglers (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moon Pie (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Rough Guide to Classic Novels (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of True Adventures Books

Bandit's Daughter (With: Amerigo Pinelli) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mysterious Life of Dr Barry (By: Lisa Williamson) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flag Never Touched The Ground (By: Kekla Magoon) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Simon Mason

Simon Mason is an accomplished British author. His work spans both adult and children’s books, and his stories are well-crafted, entertaining, and full of compelling characters that draw readers in.

Mason’s writing style is known for its engaging narratives and stories. His first adult novel, The Great English Nude, won him the Betty Trask debut novel award, and Moon Pie, which was shortlisted for a Guardian Children’s Fiction prize. His latest books are crime thrillers, the first of which, A Killing in November, is set for publication in January 2022.

His stories are truly unique, as he has a special gift for creating emotionally engaging stories that draw readers in and make them feel connected to the characters. His writing is sensitive and well-crafted, and his characters are multidimensional and believable, with an unparalleled ability to capture the essence of human emotion, bringing it to life on the page. His stories are full of complex characters and thought-provoking themes, and his narratives are full of suspense, drama, and intrigue. Mason’s stories are always highly entertaining and emotionally engaging, making them a must-read for any fan of great literature.

Mason has also written Running Girl, his first story starring Garvie Smith. What’s more, Mason currently holds the position of RLF Fellow at Exeter College, Oxford, where he lives with his wife and two children.

Simon Mason is a highly-regarded author whose works have been recognized and appreciated by readers and critics alike. His stories are a pleasure to read and are sure to capture the imaginations of all who read them.

Early and Personal Life

Simon Mason is a British author of historical fiction who was born in Sheffield, Yorkshire on February 5th, 1962. He is an alumnus of the Lady Margaret Hall at Oxford, and balances his writing career with a part-time editorial role at David Fickling Books, an imprint of Random House. His 2011 children’s novel, Moon Pie, was published by David Fickling Books and was very well-received.

His father was the professional footballer Cliff Mason, and he would grow up to make creative-writing his life. Now happily married, he is a father of two children. He resides in Oxford, England and dedicates his time to writing and his family.

Writing Career

Simon Mason is a British author who has been publishing works since 1990. His career has been marked by a wide range of genres from children’s fiction to crime novels and non-fiction. Mason is known for his ability to write with both humour and warmth, creating stories that can be both entertaining and thought-provoking.

Mason’s first published work was ‘The Great English Nude,’ a romantic and traditional novel published in 1990 which won the Betty Trask Award. He went on to write ‘Death of a Fantasist’ in 1994, described by The Independent as ‘beautifully told.’

In 2002, Mason began writing the children’s series ‘The Quigleys,’ about a lovable family. This marked the start of a series of books and was short-listed for the Branford Boase Award. In 2011, he wrote the novel Moon Pie which was short-listed for the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize. Mason also wrote the Rough Guide to Classic Novels, a book in the Rough Guides series which was praised for its ability to celebrate the finest achievements of the human race without couching them in forbidding academic language. Finally, Mason has a new crime series coming out in 2022 called ‘A Killing in November,’ which is set in Oxford and features two mismatched detectives.

All in all, Simon Mason’s career has been one of success and variety, with a wide range of works that have been praised for their ability to be entertaining, thought-provoking and warm.

A Killing in November

The thriller novel, ‘A Killing in November,’ was published on January 20th 2022 via the Kindle platform. This novel marked the beginning of Mason’s ‘Oxford Crime’ series, which has proven to be a popular and successful literary endeavour. Readers have praised Mason’s work, especially ‘A Killing in November,’ for its suspenseful plot and intriguing characters.

Ryan Wilkins and DI Ray Wilkins are an unlikely detective duo; the former a member of the criminal classes from a trailer park, and the latter a polished and sophisticated graduate of Oxford. When a young woman is discovered strangled at Barnabas Hall, they’re compelled to investigate. Rich Oxford was not Ryan’s natural habitat and St Barnabas’s Provost do not appreciate his forceful line of questioning.

Ryan and Ray work to uncover the links connecting a Syrian refugee lawyer and a priceless imprint of the Koran in the college collection, in addition to the identity of the dead woman. As tensions rise, Ray is in despair and Ryan in disciplinary measures, but their unconventional detective work slowly reveals the answers. Together, they navigate dangerous turns, troubled pasts and the Sheik al-Medina, a ruler of a Gulf state connected to human-rights abuses.

A Killing in November is a suspenseful detective story about two detectives from different backgrounds, and the dark secrets they uncover in their investigations.

The Quigleys at Large

As the third book in ‘The Quigley’s’ series, ‘The Quigleys at Large’, this was published on March 6th 2003 by David Fickling Books. The book was well-received by readers and critics alike, quickly becoming a popular choice for children’s bedtime stories. It was Mason’s third novel in the series, and the first one to be published by David Fickling Books.

The Quigleys are back for another series of adventures. This time, they’re on a camping trip in France. Mum demonstrates skipping talents at the local village fete, while Will finds himself locked in an empty school. Dad, as usual, manages to lose the pet bird. However, they all have a great time, and the family dynamic of warmth and humor remains strong.

It’s no surprise that the Quigleys are back for another fun-filled adventure given all the fun had the last time round. As always, the family dynamic of warmth and humor shines through, making this a great read for children. It’s full of heartwarming moments and laughter, making it a truly enjoyable experience.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Simon Mason

Leave a Reply