Book Notification

Simone St. James Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Haunting of Maddy Clare (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Inquiry Into Love and Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silence for the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Side of Midnight (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost Among the Living (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Broken Girls (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sun Down Motel (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Cold Cases (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost 19 (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Road (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

For twenty years, author Simone St. James worked in the television business before making the switch to writing fiction full time. She lives outside of Toronto, Canada with a rescue cat that she spoils and her husband. She loves old gothic novels from the seventies, sushi, coffee, rainy days, and Sherlock.

While in high school, she wrote her first ghost story, which was about a haunted library.

It took her years of writing, not to mention rejections before her first book, “The Haunting of Maddy Clare” sold in the year 2012. Once it was published, it won an Arthur Ellis from Canada’s Crime Writers and two RITA Awards.

“The Haunting of Maddy Clare” is the first stand alone novel which was released in the year 2012. Sarah Piper’s meager existence is altered when the temp agency sends her off to play assistant to a ghost hunter. Alistair Gellis, who is handsome, rich, haunted by World War I, and has an obsession with ghosts, has been called in to investigate Maddy Clare’s spirit. This nineteen year old is haunting the barn that she killed herself in.

Sarah is tasked with facing her, since she hated males while living. Quickly, Sarah gets caught up in a struggle. Maddy’s ghost is a real thing, and she is angry with powers that defy reason.

Will Alistair and Maddy’s assistant (who is named Matthew Ryder and is unsettling and rough) find out who Maddy was, what drives her quest for revenge, where she comes from? And can he do it before she is able to destroy them all?

Fans of the novel found that they were able to finish the book off in just a single sitting. The book was written beautifully, as everything was beautifully executed. This was simply a great story, full of mystery, romance, and ghosts. Some found that this one, despite it not being their usual read, were riveted to what was happening.

“An Inquiry Into Love and Death” is the second stand alone novel which was released in the year 2013. Jillian Leigh (a student at Oxford) has to go to the Rothewell village to pack up her uncle Toby’s belongings. He was a prominent ghost hunter who was killed after falling off a cliff.

Quickly, there are some unsettling things that become terrifying events that make Jillian believe there is an angry spirit that is attempting to come into the house. She feels this spirit already haunts the woods that surround Blood Moon Bay. Did Toby found something sinister out while investigating, was he really killed?

Drew Merriken, an inspector with Scotland Yard, shows up and it makes Jillian have more questions than she does answers. She has the added feelings of a powerful attraction, that they both share. She begins to suspect that someone is willing to do whatever it takes to keep the truth hidden and starts to find out secrets buried deep in Rothewell. Not to mention about her personally.

Fans of the novel were truly creeped out by this story, it made them feel and hear everything that was going on in their home. The author writes in a way that people enjoy reading about. This is a story that some feel is a page turner, and the prose was strong the entire time. It even felt true and authentic to the period, characters, and setting.

“Silence for the Dead” is the third novel which was released in the year 2014. The year is 1919. Kitty Weekes (who is good looking, resourceful, and on the run) fakes her background so she can get a job as a nurse at a place called Portis House. It is a facility that helps soldiers who were shell shocked during World War I. It used to be a gorgeous estate, but is now home to men that hide their shame of mental trauma, all while suffering dreams that torment and nervous attacks.

There is more than meets the eye here at Portis House, there is plaster that crumbles, the plumbing makes some awful noises, and weird cold breaths of air come into the empty rooms. The old occupants left all of a sudden, although no one knows what happened to them. Why does every patient apparently suffer the same nightmare, one so bad they never speak of it?

Jack Yates proves to be a dangerous ally for Kitty. He may be a madman, war hero, possibly both. While they forge this alliance to reveal the truth, they find out some disturbing things that seem to suggest that there are powerful spectral forces at work here. They have to fight the force by themselves after a medical catastrophe leaves them in worse shape than before. There are caught in the middle of a mystery that could be able to wreck each of them.

“The Other Side of Midnight” is the fourth novel which was released in the year 2015. London in the year 1925. Gloria Sutter (who is a glamorous medium) has made a boatload of money assisting the bereaved in their quest to contact their loved ones who were killed during the first world war. She has just been murdered during a séance, right after she left a message for Ellie Winter. This woman is an ex friend and only rival.

Ellie no longer contacts the dead. Now, she finds lost items. She is unable to refuse Gloria’s final request, as she was the only real psychic that Ellie ever knew. Ellie has to dig into Gloria’s secrets and go right back into the psychic’s world, filled with fakes, hucksters,and lowlifes. Her and James Hawley, a handsome war veteran that spends his time debunking all the psychics he can.

Ellie and James find out some evil mysteries that surrounded Gloria’s death and life. Ellie is haunted by some awful visions that signal grisly murders of the people that Gloria associated with. Ellie’s unsteady partnership with James turns to the intimate. All the while, there is a huge and maleficent force that starts to fight back against their quest to find the truth. They also fight a force that wants the truth to stay buried, and any person that looks to reveal it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Simone St. James

Leave a Reply