Sipstrassi Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sipstrassi Books

Ghost King (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Last Sword of Power (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wolf in Shadow (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Last Guardian (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bloodstone (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Sipstrassi: Jon Shannow Books

Wolf in Shadow (1987)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Last Guardian (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bloodstone (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Siptrassi: Stones Of Power Books

Ghost King (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Last Sword of Power (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Sipstassi Graphic Novels

Wolf in Shadow (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Sipstrassi is the name of a book series that deals with the Stones of Power, also known as the Sipstrassi. In the first two installments of the series, the author re-imagines the legend of King Arthur, a legendary British leader of the late 5th and 6th centuries. According to medieval history, this legendary king led the British in defending their kingdom against Saxon invaders. Although there are numerous variations of this legend, the story has not changed. Arthur was the illegitimate son of Uther Pendragon, king of Britain, and Igraine, the wife of Gorlois of Cornwall. When Uther died, Arthur emerged from obscurity to win acknowledgment as a king by removing a sword stuck in a stone.

The first novel in the Sipstrassi series is called Ghost King, and this legend of the Stones of Power starts with a story of death and glory, love and ultimate betrayal. In this story, chaos and terror is stalking the realm because the king has been slain by traitors, and the sword of power has been lost beyond the Circle of Mist. Across the land, we find armies of Saxons, Jutes, Brigantes and Angles on an orgy of violence, led by the puppets of a ruthless witch queen, whose minions include dark and bloodthirsty creatures, and a ruthless and savage undead warrior.

Hope now lies with a young man called Thuro, who is a descendant of a long line of kings. In order to save his people, he should defeat the monsters sent by the witch queen, and then go to a land called Mist and look for the ghostly army that is found there. To attain his birthright, Thuro needs to be well prepared, and a mountain warrior called Culain is the only person who can do so. He was also the only person who was aware of the queen’s lethal secret.

The story also revolves around the coming of age of a boy amidst a seemingly impossible mission to become a king. The idea of a weak prince is a novel one, and the plot does not go according to plans. We find fleeing guards, a crippled huntsman and an engrossing storyline that will keep you turning the pages. Stones of Power number one starts off really well but then it descends into the bleak world of murder, war and even adultery. Some readers might find the massive massacres a bit too gory for their liking.

Magic and mysticism are some of the main themes in Sipstrassi. The author could do a better job in making the main characters seem real by giving them some human flaws. War, loss, sacrifice and redemption are themes that make characters interesting, but there doesn’t appear to be such characters in this story. However, the secondary characters are quite interesting. The series starts off quite well as an alternative take on the legend of King Arthur but it soon gets a bit complicated, which can take the sheen off the main story line.

The second book in the Sipstrassi series is called “Last Sword of Power”. In this story, the Goths followed a bloodthirsty new leader, one who sought to open the Gates of Hell. This leader got his immortal powers through dark sorcery and human sacrifice, and there was no sword that could even touch him. A leather-winged steed was his mode of transport through the skies, and his armies plundered and pillaged northern kingdoms, cutting a lethal swath as they marched on. Even the icy hand of death was not enough to stop them.

The only person who can save Britannia is Uther Pendragon. In order to save his people, he must brandish his birthright, which is the blade of Cunobelin and a legendary sword of power. A warrior called Revelation and a blind lass called Anduine, who was possessed by arcane powers are unlikely allies that must unite in order to stop an invincible enemy before the entire world plunges into darkness. The future of King Uthur, also called the blood king is what we learn from the unfolding events. There are memorable characters in this story, including Culain, Victorinus, Prasamacus, Oleg and Cormac.

Other memorable characters in Last Sword of Power include Galead and Severinus, and the author could have done a better job in giving them a more prominent role in the story. The author could also do a better job by not including too many characters and giving the main character more panache. However, this does not take anything away from this story because it is fun and engrossing. This is a fantasy story in which the author takes us straight to hell where we find a parallel universe where demons lord it over the protagonists who have to fight for their very souls. Magic also plays a huge role in the story, and the Sipstrassi is able to use all kinds of witchcraft, even leading someone from a different universe.

Cunobelin’s sword grants the holder great powers, which include clairvoyance. Wotan is Uther’s main protagonist, and this is a malevolent god who has power to travel between the underworld and our real world. One good thing about the author is the way he describes the wars that take place in this series. As a reader, you are sucked into a very real and violent world where you feel like you are in the middle of all the action. The military tactics that are adopted by armies fighting each other are described in great detail.

There are many new characters in Sipstrassi number two, and the old characters also make an appearance. One new character of note is Cormac, who is Uther’s son. Abandoned inside a cave, this child was left to grow in poverty, unaware that his is heir to a throne. Cormac turns out to be a hero by going to rescue his people from the underworld. Lancelot’s role is played by Culain, who becomes very bitter after Uther sleeps with his spouse and these two become sworn enemies. If you enjoy swordsmanship and sorcery, this book series is an excellent read.


Book Series In Order » Characters » Sipstrassi

Leave a Reply

No Responses to “Sipstrassi”