Book Notification

Sir Charles Sheridan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Victorian Mysteries Books

Death at Bishop's Keep (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Gallows Green (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Daisy's Folly (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Devil's Bridge (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Rottingdean (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Whitechapel (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Epsom Downs (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Dartmoor (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Glamis Castle (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Hyde Park (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Blenheim Palace (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Lizard (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sir Charles Sheridan and Kate Ardleigh are the main characters of this series of mysteries written by a married couple of authors named Bill Albert and Susan Wittig Albert; it is published under the joint pen name of Robin Paige. It is also referred to as the “Robin Paige Victorian-Edwardian Mysteries”. The series is from the genres of historical fiction and mystery.

It began in the year 1994, with the release of “Death at Bishop’s Keep”. After twelve novels the series ended, with the final book, called “Death on the Lizard”, being published in the year 2006.

The series is set between the 1890s and 1903 in East Anglia, England. Sheridan has an interest in forensic techniques (things like ballistic tests, photography, fingerprints, and toxicology), and is an amateur scientist.

He works with an Irish-American female named Kate Ardleigh, and she writes under the pen name of Beryl Bardwell. Kate comes to England and comes into a small fortune as well as Bishops Keep estate which is in East Anglia and close to a village called Dedham, Essex. Later on in the series, the two detectives get married.

Each of the books features different and important figures from history. Some of these include Rolls and Royce and Beatrix Potter, among others.

“Death at Bishop’s Keep” is the first novel in the “Sir Charles Sheridan” series and was released in the year 1994.Kate Ardleigh does not behave anything like a Victorian lady should; she is egalitarian, outspoken, American, and to top it off, she writes penny dreadfuls. Her Aunt Sabrina invites her to come to Essex, England to help her with the Order of the New Dawn.

Aunt Jagger beats their servants to dying, after someone has fed her some Death mushrooms. Right next door, Sir Charles takes pictures of a new body during an archaeological dig, and is on the hunt for the killer.

Some like the amount of research this author does to write these books, and they do not skimp on details at any time in the book. Fans of the novel really enjoy reading about Kate in the early books, as she is an independent woman that was living during a time when women relied a lot more on men. These are two likable characters, while the story was fast paced and well written. Readers were unable to figure out who the killer was before it was revealed, as the book did a stellar job of not making that obvious.

“Death at Gallow’s Green” is the second novel in the “Sir Charles Sheridan” series and was released in the year 1995. When she captured Charles’ interest, it shocked her ancestral home of Bishop’s Keep when they were going on solving their first case with each other.

A local constable has died brutally and a child goes missing under mysterious circumstances creating another chance for these two sleuths to be hot on the trail. Kate intends to find out all of the sinister secrets that are hidden about Gallows Green. She will have the help of Beatrix Potter, who is a shy and young female.

Some feel that the characters truly make these books much better, and it is the reason they read them in the first place. Fans of the novel find these stories to be fun reads for them. They have delightful characters and the stories truly engage the readers the entire way through. Some really enjoy reading these books and feel that they must continue reading them until they get to the very end of the series.

“Death at Daisy’s Folly” is the third novel in the “Sir Charles Sheridan” series and was released in the year 1997. Charles Sheridan does many things: he is a skilled detective, amateur scientist, and a renowned photographer. Because of Victorian customs, he is going to become a baron, which will make him not able to marry Kate Ardleigh. Customs of their time keep them from being together, but a good murder case does the job of bringing the pair right together.

Fans of the novel continue to love Kate’s character in these stories as she is completely the opposite of the typical woman of this time period. Some readers cannot get enough of these books or Kate and Charles, who are incredible together. Since reading the first book in the series, readers are hooked on these two lead characters and find they cannot get enough of them.

“Death at Devil’s Bridge” is the fourth novel in the “Sir Charles Sheridan” series and was released in the year 1998. Kate and Charles (who are now newlyweds) play host to an auto exhibition that is held at Kate’s ancestral home. It is attended by some of the foremost inventors and investors Europe has. Competition, money, and speed (which is a combination more explosive than gas) are lethal for just a single auto maker. Kate and Charles have to solve the case before everything blows up and things spread.

Robin Paige delivers another incredible mystery novel, as this series has not lost a step and gets better with each installment. This pair of writers certainly know how to spin a yarn, one with a great mystery to boot. Fans of the novel enjoy reading the little bits about things like criminology and technology developing, it is something of a nice touch. The books are simply well written and readers cannot get enough after being hooked since the first story they read.

“Death at Rottingdean” is the fifth novel in the “Sir Charles Sheridan” series and was released in the year 1999. Kate and Charles (who is now a Lord), their holiday near the sea in Rottingdean is much needed. The cozy little place is built on top of a labyrinth of old tunnels that used to be used by smugglers.

Someone finds a member of the coast guard’s body, and the town is under suspicion for being up to some of the smuggling the town was known for. A young writer, by the name of Rudyard Kipling, is about to help them find out that there is something rotten here in the town.

Some really enjoy the painless use of history, and some love the way these books make history interesting. The authors do a great job with the characterization aspect in the book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sir Charles Sheridan

Leave a Reply