Book Notification

Sir Henry Merrivale Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sir Henry Merrivale Books

By: Carter Dickson, John Dickson Carr
The Plague Court Murders (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White Priory Murders (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Red Widow Murders (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unicorn Murders (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Punch and Judy Murders /The Magic Lantern Murders (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Peacock Feather Murders / The Ten Teacups (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Judas Window / The Crossbow Murder (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Five Boxes (1938)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reader Is Warned (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon
And So to Murder (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nine and Death Makes Ten / Murder in the Submarine Zone (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seeing Is Believing / Cross of Murder (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gilded Man / Death and the Gilded Man (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
She Died A Lady (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
He Wouldn't Kill Patience (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Curse of the Bronze Lamp / Lord of the Sorcerers (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Late Wives (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Skeleton in the Clock (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Graveyard to Let (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night at the Mocking Widow (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon
Behind the Crimson Blind (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cavalier's Cup (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon
Merrivale, March and Murder (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sir Henry Merrivale Series are book series from the bestselling author Carter Dickson.These book series are about different murders and how they are solved in the end.

Plague Court Murders.

This is the first book in these book series.The story is about Chief-Inspector Masters who is also the genial ghost-layer of the London police. Masters breaks into the little stone house that is in the rear court, Master is trying to investigate allegations that the medium Darthworth is a fake so he is invited by one of his friends to attend one of the medium’s seances to see what he is doing in the back room only to find the body of Darworth the medium has been stabbed and slashed to death.Before that, there had been whispers.People told of the deserted and old sinister of a mansion in Plague court.There was only one problem, the mediums door was both locked from inside and outside.There were no means of a murderer getting in or going out and yet there lay the evidence of a Medium’s murdered body.Beside the body chief inspectors also found a dagger believed to belong to a evilest and persistent ghost of the Plague Court.

This was a murder left unanswered that night.Nobody could come up with a solution, not even the strangely assorted group of people in the Plague Court or the Chief-inspector could tell how it happened.People started asking themselves and worrying if the ghost of Louis Playge, who was a one-time assistant of the hangman, had not really come back this time to haunt the slimy and decayed people of the court that bore his name or maybe there was a murder on the loose and needed to be caught.A solution has to be found and be found fast before another murder happens. So the police turn to Sir Henry Merrivale to help them solve the murder.

The story is broken down into easy, readable parts that can be quickly understood while reading making the books the best series every paragraph is seamlessly woven into the next without a pause. The stories in these books are intriguing and amazing at the same time not only will the story keep you guessing who the murder is but will surprise you at the end with least suspected culprit the stories are engaging.If you love suspense, intrigue, mysteries and solving murders.Then you don’t have to look far.
The second book is Titled: The White Priory Murders’

This book set in the present London and the famous old house, the White Priory.The book centers around three characters Marcia Tait a glamorous film star that breaks her Hollywood contract that was to be opened in a London play called, “The Private Life of Charles II”; there is also Maurice Bohun who is an eccentric and author of the play, and master of White Priory and John Bohun who is his brother and very in love with Marcia Tait the film star who ends up murdered..In this book, we again come across sir Henry Merrivale who is trying to solve this murder that is committed inside a pavilion.There is also a lot of people around when this murder happens and so finding the suspect is not an easy solution.

The body of the Film star is found in the pure white snow without any footprints apart from those of the person who discovered the body.It is later discovered that there are the footprints of the murder going towards the body in the snow, but no footprints of the murder coming out. Everyone that was around the victim becomes a suspect as they all seem to have a motive to want to kill her, but the problem is everybody has a concrete alibi. So it falls to Sir Henry to root out the murderer before the rest of the people start dying.

This book will also leave you guessing on who the possible murder is until you reach the end of the chapter.The suspense, humor and intrigue plus the mystery of the story will leave you holding your breath till you unravel the mystery of the murder. The book is captivating, the characters are intense and funny at the same time.

Again in this book Carter Dickson down the story into easy, readable parts that can be quickly understood while reading making the books the best series every paragraph is seamlessly woven into the next without a pause every Sir Henry Merrivale series are the best as the story unravels in a seamless manner that is humorous,mysterious, engaging and educating a good read for all ages.If you happen to love mysteries and detective stories, these are the best books for you.

These series are the best read for anyone who loves, mysteries, intrigue and detective stories.with these books the stories are captivating, full of suspense and surprises.As I said when you start reading make sure that everything you need is around you as you won’t want to stop until you unravel the mysterious deaths and surprising culprits.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sir Henry Merrivale

Leave a Reply