Book Notification

Sir John Fielding Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sir John Fielding Books

Blind Justice (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Grub Street (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Watery Grave (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Person or Persons Unknown (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jack, Knave and Fool (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Colonial (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Color of Death (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Smuggler's Moon (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Experiment In Treason (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price of Murder (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rules of Engagement (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Sir John Fielding series is a series of suspense, thriller, and mystery novels written by the world class author from the United States named Bruce Alexander. This series is comprised of a total of 11 books, which were published between the years 1994 and 2005. All the novels of this intriguing series feature the chief character in the role of Sir John Fielding, who is described by author Alexander as a blind magistrate living in London during the 18th century. This character is inspired from a real life person who used to live at that time in London. The real Sir John is said to have founded the first London police force. After that, he went on to do some other progressive work that helped in the upliftment of the London society as a whole. Sir John was a notable magistrate from the United Kingdom, who lived between the years 1721 and 1780. He was particularly famous as a social reformer as he always worked towards the betterment of the society. Sir John was also the smaller half-brother of the well-known playwright, novelist, and chief magistrate named Henry Fielding. He lost his sight due an an accident in the navy when he was nineteen years old. But in spite of that, he did not lose hope and adapted himself with the help of his remaining senses. He went on to successfully set his business. During the spare times, Sir John used to study law with his elder half-brother Henry Fielding. This interest of Sir John helped him in the long run as he brought many social reforms with the help of the law. In the year 1750, Sir John was appointed as the personal assistant of Henry Fielding.

Sir John used to help his brother in rooting out the corruption and improving the competence of the ones who were engaged in helping justice prevail in London. The brother went on to form the first police force on a professional level and named it as the Bow Street Runners. Also, they took the help of a regular police gazette circulation that contained the list of all the known criminals, and thereby established the basis for the very first criminal records department of the police. After the death of Henry Fielding in the year 1754, Sir John was appointed as the new magistrate in his place at the Bow Street. Due to various reform works done by Sir John, he quickly became renowned as the Blind Beak. In order to help eradicate crime from the city fully, Sir John had developed the unique ability of recognizing around three thousand criminals by just hearing their voices. In the later stages of his life, Sir John continued to work on the development of his ideas on youth development and crime prevention in the city. He even helped to lay the foundation of the Orphan Girls Asylum in Lambeth in the year 1758. Sir John was honored as a knight in the year 1761. Author Bruce Alexander undertook the study of Sir John in great detail, which helped him to come up with the excellent stories that he penned down in his books. Many of the stories written by him are set in the Gregorian period in England and depict many of the real life incidents from the life of Sir John. Each and every book of the series was very much liked by the readers as well as the critics, who praised author Alexander with great appreciation for his efforts.

An earlier book written by Bruce Alexander in the series is titled as ‘Smuggler’s Moon’. The Berkley publishers had released this book in the year 2002, but it was initially published in 1998. Author Alexander has depicted the main characters in the plot as Sir John and Jeremy Proctor. At the starting scene, it is shown that an illegal trade of cargo takes place in a small town along the seaside. This seaside town called Deal is situated near the water separating France and England and the ones who carry out this illegal trade have given it the name in local terms as ‘owling’. As the illegal deals continue to take place on Deal’s moonlit beaches, Sir John and his young assistant Jeremy Proctor are sent there to prevent them from happening. After reaching there, they first question the magistrate of the town, who is believed to be involved in the smugglings. As Sir John begins to dig deep into the case with the help of Jeremy Proctor, the smugglers begin to commit murders by dispatching the esteemed members of a local gentry. This makes Sir John realize that he is facing some of the most powerful, who seem to have control of not only the smuggling activities in the town, but also on its law.

Another exhilarating book published in the mystery series is titled as ‘The Price of Murder’. The publishers from Putnam Adult released this book in the year 2003. In the plot of the book, author Alexander has shown that Jeremy Proctor and Sir John get drawn deeper into the notorious world of the Seven Dials region of London. There, they are required to contend with the sordid inclinations of the aristocracy as well as of the working class. Initially, Sir John and Proctor begin the investigation when they come across the dead body of a teenage girl floating in the Thames. But, they could not find the mother of the victim anywhere. Then, Jeremy’s desperate search for the clues takes him to the areas near the racetrack. After reaching there, he realizes that he has landed himself in a high-stakes and dangerous battle. Soon, one of his own acquaintances gets disappeared from his proximity, which makes him wonder how steep and terrible the odds of the case are. But having the support of Sir John keeps him motivated and determined to catch the killer or killers and put them behind the bars. Similar to all the previous books that were published in this mystery series, this book too was very much appreciated by one and all. The readers from all over the world praised the intriguing plot described in this book by author Alexander. He was also praised by numerous critics, who gave very good reviews of the book. Such wide appreciations and recognitions helped Bruce Alexander to focus on writing more interesting books in the series as well as in his writing career.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sir John Fielding

One Response to “Sir John Fielding”

  1. Marie Dougherty: 3 years ago

    Why are only 3 of Sir Fielding books available on Kindle? I Don’t understand why the series is not on Kindle….I have to find a place to buy a big print of the others in this series…this will cost me an arm and a leg///////is this some problem with the publisher or family of the deceased?…get them in this century ….


Leave a Reply