Book Notification

Sister Frevisse Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sister Frevisse Books

By: Margaret Frazer, Mary Monica Pulver
The Novice's Tale (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Servant's Tale (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Outlaw's Tale (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bishop's Tale (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy's Tale (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Murderer's Tale (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prioress' Tale (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Maiden's Tale (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Reeve's Tale (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Squire's Tale (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clerk's Tale (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bastard's Tale (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunter's Tale (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Widow's Tale (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sempster's Tale (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Traitor's Tale (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Apostate's Tale (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Note: The first six Sister Frevisse books were written with Mary Monica Pulver together under the "Margaret Frazer" pen name.

Publication Order of Sister Frevisse Short Stories/Novellas

The Witch's Tale (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwife's Tale (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shakespeare's Mousetrap / That Same Pit (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stone-Worker's Tale (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter Heart (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Margaret Frazer’s first name was Gail Lynn Brown. She was born on 26th November 1946. She was a great historical novelist from America. She is popularly known all over the world for a variety of short stories as well as more than twenty historical mystery stories. Originally, she shared her pen name with Mary Monica Pulver Kuhfel. They collaborated writing the pioneer book in Sister Frevisse series, ‘The Novice’s Tale’. This is the book that features Dame Frevisse, the Benedictine nun. They continued working together until when they completed the 6th book in the series, ‘The Murderer’s Tale’. After this book, they ended their collaboration. When ‘The Prioress’ Tale’ was nominated by Edgar Award, the pen name Margaret Frazer was exclusively used by Gail Frazer. Another great book that Margaret Frazer wrote, is the Player Joliffe mysteries. Medieval actor Joliffe starred in the book. Margaret Frazer was born in Kewanee, Illinois and it is the same place where she grew up. While growing up, she was a member of the society for creative anachronism as well as an actress. Margaret also worked and lived in Elk River Minnesota. Unfortunately, for Margaret, during her late years, she suffered from breast cancer and later succumbed to it at the age of 66 years old. 4th February 2013 was the dreadful day when Margaret Frazer passed away.

However, despite the Americans and the world suffering from the loss of a great, talented writer, they have continued to celebrate her life by purchasing more and more of her books. This can be the only way that the world can acknowledge the wisdom and creativity of Margaret Frazer.

In 1994, Edgar Awards nominated ‘The Servant’s Tale’ the second book in the Dame Frevisse series in the Best Paperback Original category. One year after this, the 1995 Minnesota Book Awards convention nominated her book, The Bishop’s Tale in the Best Novel category. The other nomination on her books was in 1998 when her novel, ‘The Prioress’ was nominated by Edgar Awards in the Paperback Original category. ‘The Reeve’s Tale’ was her last book to get a nomination in 2000 at the Minnesota Book Awards in the Best Novel category. In 2000, Margaret Frazer received the Herodotus Award for ‘Neither Pity, Love, Nor Fear’ her short story in the Best Short Story Historical Mystery category. All these awards and nominations shows that Margaret Frazer was indeed a talented, creative and a great writer that the world lost after her illness. You can honor her efforts by buying her great books which are available in the local libraries and online stores. They are affordable at a pocket friendly price in order to ensure that any interested reader can access any of her books. The last book that she worked on before her demise is the ‘Circle of Witches’ novel that she did in 2012 before she rested in the year 2013. It is a great book too, as it has been greatly reviewed and rated online by her audience. One of the great series that Margaret Frazer wrote is known as Sister Frevisse. This interesting series has 16 books, all published and edited. The first book in the series is known as The Novice’s Tale while the second one is called The Servant’s Tale. The last book in the series is known as The Traitor’s Tale and was published in 2007 with 12 editions. It has been highly rated by online readers. The series is also known as the Dame Frevisse Series and is set in the 15th century.

The Novice’s Tale

This is the first book in the Sister Frevisse series by Margaret Frazer. It has got numerous reviews and 2,642 ratings online. The book has 229 pages and was published by Berkley on 1st November 1993. The book has 9 editions and has been published in English. The book features Thomasine who in a few short weeks is appointed to be a nun. Thomasine has an aunt by the name Lady Ermentrude, who everyone dreads when she arrives at St. Frideswides. Her niece has a disposition of a saint and she fears men. However, her hopes might be threatened by the arrival of her aunt. After her aunt’s appearance and disappearance, she later shows up to get her niece from the Abbey. As much determined as she is to complete this mission, she is dead. Did Thomasine kill her aunt or what could have caused her death? In order to ensure that Thomasine is not accused falsely, Sister Frevisse is careful to find out the cause of the death. Find out what happened to Lady Ermentrude. This is a book that will excite medieval and mystery addicts.

The Servant’s Tale

This is the second book in the Sister Frevisse Series. It has 240 pages was published by Berkley on 1st November 1993. It has 8 editions and has been edited in English. This is a book with a charming medieval ambiance, wonderful plot as well as great characters. It features mysterious murder cases during a Christmas and New Year season. This time, Christmas wasn’t very merry after a young man is found injured shortly after his father is found under his cart injured too. Consequently, a nun (Meg’s friend) is found in the chapel with her head bashed. Meg is the wife of the local villein who was found injured. What could be happening? Later the two men succumbed to their wounds. When their bodies were being prepared for burial, Dame Frevisse discovers something. Even if Meg blamed the players this does not seem to be the case. Dame Frevisse is determined to clear the players of the charges, especially after finding evidence that the son had been murdered using a thin, but long knife that pierced through his heart. The evidence will not only clear the players, but also convict the true killer of the season’s final murder. Find out who this killer was and why he targeted Meg’s family. What was the beef?

You can only find this out by buying this book by Margaret Frazer. The content will keep you turning pages and prepare you for more great works by her. You might not even notice how fast by the time you go from cover to cover, due to the mystery in the content. Visit the local libraries for the book, or read it online in the online stores like amazon. Suspense and mystery to discover is a guarantee.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sister Frevisse

Leave a Reply