Book Notification

Sisters Grimm Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sisters Grimm Books

The Fairy Tale Detectives (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unusual Suspects (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Problem Child (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon a Crime (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Magic and Other Misdemeanors (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales From the Hood (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Everafter War (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Inside Story (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Council of Mirrors (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sisters Grimm Non-Fiction Books

The Sisters Grimm Ultimate Guide (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Sisters Grimm is a series that tells us the story of Sabrina and Daphne Grimm, who are sent to live with their grandmother after their parents mysteriously disappeared. Their grandmother reveals to the girls that they have two famous ancestors, the Brothers Grimm, whose classic book of fairy tales is actually a collection of case files of magical mischief. Fairy tale creatures are real and they have relocated to America and reside in the same town as the two sisters. It’s now up to the two girls to assume the responsibility of becoming fairy tale sleuths. The first book in the Sisters Grimm series is called The Fairy-Tale Detectives, and the author tells the story through Sabrina’s point of view. When the story starts, we find Sabrina being a spoilt brat and doubting everything. As for Daphne, she’s a sweet gal and maybe the book would have become more enjoyable had it been written from Daphne’s point of view. However, that does not diminish the quality of the writing, and the story is a fun and original take on mythical creatures. The author has also done a good job of incorporating some humor in the story. In the past generations, the Grimm family cast a spell on the fairy-tale creatures, bonding them to remain in one town. However, there’s a catch because by doing so, the family also bonded themselves to the same town. The story has a very good plot and there’s a twist towards the end that the reader won’t see coming. The premise of the story is that the stories that we were told of the Brothers Grimm are indeed true, and that fairy-tale creatures used to live side by side with humans. Since then, they were exiled to live in a little town near New York City’s suburbs. The tale pick up after Sabrina stops being a killjoy and she and her sister can now concentrate on continuing with their family’s legacy of investigating fairy-tale creatures. Sabrina was merely acting out due to the circumstances surrounding the disappearance of her parents. She is also being burdened with the responsibility of protecting her younger sibling, and going through several foster homes didn’t help matters. As for Daphne, she is more likeable and she also has resilience against a cold and cruel world. Granny Relda is also a likeable character, and we also have Mr. Canis, who’s a good man. There are inside jokes about the fairy-tale characters that you will enjoy if you’re familiar with the subject. We have the three pigs that are providing law enforcement. Puck is another fairy-tale character full of fun. The book is light-hearted and it moves at a fast pace. When the two sisters are told that fairy-tale creatures are living in their town, Sabrina doesn’t believe her but Daphne does. When a giant kidnaps their grandmother, Sabrina is forced to confront the reality of living with these mythical creatures. The second novel in the Sisters Grimm series is called The Unusual Suspects. After Sabrina and Daphne are sent to live with their mysterious grandma, they now start school. Daphne is very lucky because she gets a cool teacher called Snow White while Sabrina has to settle for mean Mr. Grumpner as well as a class full of slightly psychotic 6th graders. Apart from that, Sabrina is constantly being teased and beaten up, and things can only get worse when Puck is drafted into her class. Things take a nasty turn when Mr. Grumpner is killed and so the sisters start to investigate which fairy-tale creature is responsible. The Scarlet Hand is a fairy-tale creature that keeps leaving red fingerprints everywhere.

Children start disappearing from school and the two sisters must find out who’s responsible. The story is interesting because the children are being taught by fairy-tale creatures, which are known as Everafters. Sabrina doesn’t trust the school and her suspicions are confirmed when one teacher and a janitor are murdered under strange circumstances. Sabrina doesn’t want to continue going to school but she is forced to remain there in order to help with the investigations. Daphne and their grandma lend a helping hand, and so the family’s legacy continues. Things are thick because there’s an Everafter who’s targeting the Grimm family. This fairy-tale creature comes searching for the two sisters, their grandma and Mr. Canis. Apart from being afraid for their lives, the two girls are also worried that the killing of the caretaker and the teacher is just the beginning, and that the killer will now start targeting the children in the school. At one point, the Sisters Grimm begin suspecting that the killer could also be behind the mysterious disappearance of their parents. They therefore have to find the killer before there’s another attack. It will be interesting to note how the murderer will be handled once they discover whodunit.

The author has done a good job of incorporating suspense in the book. As a reader, you don’t know what will happen next, and the storyteller will leave you hanging. This keeps you turning the pages and you can find yourself reading late into the night. The end of the book will make you want to pick up the third novel in order to find out what happens next. The second installment also has a very interesting plot, and the author also introduces us to other fairy-tale characters that we are all familiar with. Sabrina is one angry girl and it is understandable since she’s just lost her parents. So when it’s discovered that the killings were done by an Everafter, she’s determined to blame all Everafters because of the criminal actions of just one of them. However, some of the Everafters are actually nice and they shower her with kindness. The moral of the story is that one person’s actions should not define others in the group. It is also important to tolerate one another and try to live in love and harmony with everyone around us. If these first two books are anything to go by, readers can expect to be thoroughly entertained as they continue reading the Sisters Grimm series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sisters Grimm

Leave a Reply