Book Notification

Skylar Dorset Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Otherworld Books

The Girl Who Never Was (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Kissed a Lie (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Who Read the Stars (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy with the Hidden Name (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Skylar Dorset
Skylar Dorset is a young adult fantasy writer born and bred in Providence. The talented author wrote her first story featuring two feuding squirrels’ factions at seven years, and her love for the fantasy world continued to grow the more she got older. Dorset is glad that she can now share the characters she has been creating in her mind for ages, and if the Otherworld series is anything to go by, she is doing a pretty good job at it. She also hopes to get a dog someday.

The Girl Who Never Was
The Girl Who Never Was is the first book in the Otherworld series. The book stars Selkie Stewart, a girl who thinks she is a normal teenager until a deep secret is revealed. Selkie lives in Boston under the care of her two great aunts. She has a best friend named Kelsie and a huge crush on Ben. While her life is pretty awesome, Selkie has a few questions about her past. For example, she wonders who her mother is, given that she has never met her. Selkie’s mom left her on her father’s doorstep when she was a little girl, and she never came back for her. This was before Selkie’s father was taken into an insane asylum and her aunts started taking care of her.

Selkie decides to search for her mother, but whatever she discovers is far more than she bargained for. It turns out that Selkie’s mom is a faerie royalty. This would only mean that Selkie was a faerie princess. However, her father is an ogre, which means that she is not a pure line. Also, Selkie learns that there was a prophecy that she would destroy the Seelie Court, which is why her mother wants her dead. The only reason why Selkie was still alive is that her aunties relied on the help of Ben and a wizard named Will to keep her safe.

The surprising thing is that Selkie’s mother doesn’t kill her when they meet, so there is no telling whether what she has been told is true. However, it is clear that Selkie has to protect the people she has come to love and safeguard her idyllic life. There is a lot of confusion that Selkie has to endure, and it is easy to understand her frustrations. The supernatural world turns out to be more complex than she thought, and the complicated deceptions do not make things any easier. Is there anyone that Selkie can trust with her life? Does Ben truly love her, or is he simply doing his job of keeping Selkie Safe?
The Girl Who Never Was is an intriguing read that will hold your attention from the start. Selkie, the faerie princess, is an easy character to love, and it is admirable how she quickly learns to accept who she is. Ben is another lovable character, and the fights between Selkie’s aunts will leave you in stitches. Selkie’s mum sure is the best evil mother figure, and Benedict is a likable love interest. The theme of family is at the center of this book, and it is admirable how different people show up for Selkie when she needs them. Are you a fan of faerie stories? There is no doubt that you will love this one. The ending will leave you with a hangover, but fortunately, the next book in the series is readily available.

The Boy with the Hidden Name
The Boy with the Hidden Name is the second of the Otherworld series. Selkie Stewart has been through quite an adventure, and she wants nothing else but to lead a normal life. However, with the world’s weight squarely on her shoulders, Selkie realizes a normal life is a luxury. After saving Ben from fairy prison, Selkie becomes the most wanted individual in the Otherworld. She is determined to fulfill her destiny, so ruffling a few feathers in the Seelie Court is nothing she is concerned about. However, when another part of her prophecy is revealed, Selkie is no longer sure that she wants to fulfill her destiny.
It is revealed that Benedict would betray Selkie, and he would die soon after. No teenage girl wants to hear that the man they love is a traitor and that death for him is inevitable. After giving this new revelation some thought, Selkie decides to proceed with her plans. There is no way she is going to stand back and wait for the Seelies to take over her world. With the hour the takeover is supposed to happen drawing near, Selkie has to rush against time and find the key to save the world. Will the determined girl make it considering all that is working against her?

Join Selkie on yet another adventure where painful predicaments await. This book comes loaded with mystery and action, and the magic is simply out of this world. There is also a good dose of humor, political intrigue, and romance. Selkie is surprised about the book everyone thinks she is holding, and it is fun watching her dodge all the people who want to harm her. She is going to be under a lot of pressure, but Selkie handles it all very well. Her love for her acquired family and her commitment to the cause see her through the toughest challenges, plus she also has a good number of people who are willing to sacrifice their lives for her.

The Boy with the Hidden Name is another exciting read by Skylar Dorset. Selkie gets fascinating, and the beautiful world created by the author remains exciting. All characters play their roles well, and the action never stops. There are numerous twists and turns in this story, and just when you think you know what will happen next, the author throws yet another surprise. This magical journey is quite intriguing, and it is going to be hard to put the book down once you start reading. How much does Selkie accomplish on this adventure? Can the world be saved? You will have to read this book to the end to find out.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Skylar Dorset

Leave a Reply