Book Notification

Slater and Norman Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DS Dave Slater Books

Death Of A Temptress (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Just A Coincidence (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Florence (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wrong Man (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Red Telephone Box (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret of Wild Boar Woods (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Skeleton In The Closet (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Kidney Donor (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
What's In A Name? (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Puzzle Of Old Bones (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Deception (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wrongly Convicted (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deceptive Appearances (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Invisible Man (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dave Slater Mystery Novellas

An Innocent Victim (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mysterious Death of Archibald Lewis (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Slater and Norman Mystery series is written by P.F. Ford and it follows the exploits of two English detectives who must come to terms with the differences that separate them even as they cooperate to solve crimes in their community.

+The Story
Death of a Temptress, the first DS Slater and Norman Mystery novel was also P.F. Ford’s first published book. Despite being a debut work, the novel was praised for its passable writing style and Ford’s impressive ability to maneuver and resolve the various plot threads that interweaved through his first published work.

It was in ‘Death of a Temptress’ that readers first met DS Slater. The book centered on the disappearance of a woman whose case had long been closed; though, the author took every opportunity to shine a light upon the interesting nature of DS Slater’s life and personality.

DS Slater makes his debut at the worst possible time in his life. A case went wrong. Slater wasn’t at fault. He wasn’t even the lead investigator. But he was scapegoated none the less and ultimately placed on administrative leave.

When Slater gets a call from his boss, the detective expects the worst. But rather than losing his job, Slater is given an opportunity to redeem himself. His supervisor has a curious interest in the case of a missing girl who was living a double life.

Slater is charged with stealthily resolving the girl’s disappearance, a task he begins to undertake with a lot of fervor only for a series of frightening occurrences to reveal to him that a conspiracy might be afoot, one that could claim his life if he isn’t careful.

Fortunately for DS Slater, he isn’t alone. Along with stranding him with a complicated investigation, Slater’s superiors also see fit to saddle him with DS Norman, his new partner and the man he must learn to work with if he is to survive the challenges waiting ahead.

The Slater and Norman Mystery books are police procedurals. Each new installment in the series pits Slater and Norman against a new mystery. Sometimes, the pair will only face off against a single mystery. Other times, they must juggle multiple cases some of which could be connected.

They are joined in their efforts by their supervisor, who must put up with their shenanigans, and a series of junior officers each of whom brings a special skill or attribute to the table.

A critical aspect of the Slater and Norman mystery series is the relationship between its lead characters. Slater and Norman are very different people.

Slater is a serious operator. He wears suits, shirts, and ties whenever possible, and he has a preference for dry cleaners. Slater is sometimes very shortsighted, throwing so much of his focus onto a particular clue or suspect that he fails to see the bigger picture.

But Slater also has strong instincts that he has learned to trust. Whenever he begins to presume that something might be amiss with a case, he won’t stop scrutinizing it until he finds satisfactory answers to his questions; it doesn’t matter how much evidence mounts against his presumptions.

To Slater, a case only ends when he is satisfied with the answers presented. For this reason, the detective has been known to clash with his colleagues.

DS Norman is Slater’s opposite. He is a slob who always looks like he wore to work the same clothes he slept in, this resulting from the fact that he doesn’t own an iron. The fact that he is overweight doesn’t help matters.

It always falls on Slater to physically tangle with the bad guys. It is also his responsibility to chase down fleeing suspects. Both detectives have a strong sense of justice.

However, Norman sometimes goes too far. He has a tendency to cross the line to solve cases. But it helps Norman’s situation that he so likable; the detective isn’t quite as popular with the ladies as Slater who seems to incite crushes in all the women he meets. But Norman generally gets along with people.

Slater and Norman are initially able to overcome their differences because they suffered the same pitfalls in their careers. Norman was assigned to Slater as a partner because he had also been scapegoated.

The pair found common ground in the grief they felt over their unfair treatment. Over the course of the Slater and Norman Mystery series, the detectives learn to truly appreciate one another.

The Slater and Norman books are dark. They deal with violent crime and feature some coarse language. But they do not go overboard in any of those aspects.

+The Author
P.F. Ford dreamed of writing and publishing from an early age. But he allowed the negative voices in his life to dissuade him from pursuing his dreams. As such, Ford was so much older than he would have liked when he finally published his first novel.

The author credits his wife for pushing him to finally pursue his dream.

+Death of a Temptress
Everyone said Ruth Thornhill ran off with another man. So they closed her Missing Person’s case. But six months later, DS Slater has opened the case and he has found a number of inconsistencies with the initial investigation.

Slater was suspended for a botched investigation that wasn’t his fault. He was preparing for the worst when his boss called him back and charged him with solving Ruth’s case. Slater was asked to work with DS Norman, his new partner and a detective that had also been scapegoated.

Together, they’ve begun to realize that Ruth’s disappearance is only the first piece of a larger conspiracy.

+Just a Coincidence
Nothing ever happens in the sleepy town of Tinton. In fact, all DS Slater and DS Norman have done as of late is to investigate the case of a flasher and an amateur counterfeiter.

Things pick up when a dog discovers a battered body. When Slater and Norman begin poking about, they discover two more bodies. From what the pair can tell, all three victims were murdered but the crimes are separated by more than a decade.

This latest mystery could become Slater and Norman’s toughest.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Slater and Norman Mystery

2 Responses to “Slater and Norman Mystery”

  1. Christine: 6 days ago

    I am loving your books on Norman and Slater. I have read 10 so far but I cannot get book 11 downloaded anywhere.
    I have 12,13,14 downloaded but need 11 to read first.
    Can you suggest how I do this please.
    Kindest regards
    Christine xx

    • Graeme: 5 days ago

      If you mean A Fatal Deception unfortunately I am not seeing it available anywhere


Leave a Reply