Book Notification

Sleuth Sisters Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Sleuth Sisters Mysteries Books

The Sleuth Sisters (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
3 Sleuths, 2 Dogs, 1 Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Boonies (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleuthing at Sweet Springs (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eat, Drink, and Be Wary (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peril, Plots, and Puppies (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captured, Escape, Repeat (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sleuth Sisters series by Maggie Pill

Author Maggie Pill writes the “Sleuth Sisters” series of novels. The series began publication in the year 2014, when “The Sleuth Sisters” was released.

Barb and Faye, middle-aged sisters, decide to open up a detective agency in their small town of Allport, located in Northern Michigan. They decide to work with Retta, their younger sister.

“The Sleuth Sisters” is the first novel in the “Sleuth Sisters” series, which was released in the year 2014. Faye and Barb’s detective agency does not do well, and they reconsider an earlier decision to not allow Retta, their little sister, join them. Since she is the widow of a slain state trooper, she will have contacts all over the place. They made this choice since she usually takes over any organization that she is a part of. She is sweet yet firm when she tells you what you could do, should do, and will do. Retta is too willing to help them out and quickly starts second-guessing their choices, leading to sparks between her and Barb.

They finally get a promising case: locating a man that seems to have killed his wife many years ago and has spent the time since on the run. While they attempt to investigate, they are opposed in some way at every turn. Local cops are doubting these “lady detectives” and most of the town is certain Neil Brown murdered his wife and brother-in-law during a fit of anger. The victims’ dad has no doubt that Brown is guilty of this crime, and angry at anybody who takes a different view.

Somebody wants to keep these detectives from locating Brown and digging deeper into what actually happened the day he departed Allport. While the sisters start to piece things together, the new chief of police looks to be a potential ally for them. The trouble is both Retta and Barb are attracted to him, and Retta rarely meets a man she is unable to get. Barb, who accepts defeat in this arena, just tries to concentrate on the case and proving that Brown is not guilty of the killing. She is successful, but it means as to face a desperate killer out in a dangerous, isolated spot. Faye and Retta can save her, and they have got no idea where she could be.

Maggie Pill wrote a cute and funny mystery with this one. Each of the characters in this one proved to be believable and not just helpless morons. The sisters each have their own personalities. Readers enjoyed the story and the way things develop.

“3 Sleuths, 2 Dogs, 1 Murder” is the second novel in the “Sleuth Sisters” series, which was released in the year 2014. Retta’s “gentleman friend” is accused of killing somebody and the Sleuth Sisters take the case on. Winston Darrow is some kind of charmer, but his secrets just make trouble that spills onto the Sisters, and even the chief of police Rory Neuencamp. Somebody is out to get Win, and somebody claims that he is the real killer. Retta admits that Win is less trustworthy than her daffy Newfoundland dog, she insists that he is not the killer.

Dogs are an issue after Faye rescues an injured mutt on the road. Though Barb is not a fan of the dog, she is unable to refuse Faye’s request to keep this ill-tempered and homely dog named Buddy. Retta, however doubtful about adopting stray dogs, is determined that her own dog Styx and Faye’s dog be great friends. The adjustment is not an easy one, as Buddy views Faye to be the only worthwhile human in the entire world.

While the sisters investigate, mysterious men meddle, each one more intimidating than the last. What could they want with the Sisters and Winston? The situation gets dangerous, and the sleuths hide Win out at Rory’s cabin, which is reachable in the Michigan winter by snowmobile only.

In the frozen wilderness, Barb and Retta have to ignore each of the differences and work with each other to survive. At home, Faye faces a lethal foe with only some horses and Buddy for help. If the Sleuth Sisters make it through this, it is going to be through family solidarity, loyal friends, and doggie instincts. But who could ask for more than this?

These are fun and likable characters in a nice cozy mystery. Fans find these characters to be like people they have known for a long time, and are characters they enjoy reading about while they are on their adventures. Readers could not wait to see what happened next.

“Murder in the Boonies” is the third novel in the “Sleuth Sisters” series, which was released in the year 2015. The renters who were living on the sisters’ family farm move out all of a sudden, and it appears that at least a few of them didn’t go voluntarily. The sisters are now stuck with all kinds of animals to take care of and there is a mystery to solve. What happened to Ben McAdams, Rose (his girlfriend), and her three daughters? What do reindeer eat exactly? Why are there mysterious people hanging around the farm?

The investigation continues along with the plans that please Faye’s animal-loving heart. While she makes the best of things, she turns their farm into a horse retirement home. There are some threatening figures hanging about, and there are details of a coming disaster that emerge. On Michigan’s gorgeous Mackinac Island, our lady sleuths have to work with each other, face their own fears, and thwart a plot only they are able to stop.

“Sleuthing at Sweet Springs” is the fourth novel in the “Sleuth Sisters” series, which was released in the year 2016. Faye meets a lady at a local nursing home that claims she does not belong there. A little investigating leads to some rather intriguing questions: How did a neighbor die and another lose their home to fire? Why would somebody force Clara out of her own home? Can a dozen chickens and a dog be part of a daring rescue?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sleuth Sisters

Leave a Reply