Book Notification

Smoky Mountain Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Smoky Mountain Books

The Foster Girls (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tell Me about Orchard Hollow (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Six Good Reasons (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Delia's Place (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Hand Rose (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Down by the River (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Makin' Miracles (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saving Laurel Springs (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Welcome Back (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daddy's Girl (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost Inheritance (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Interlude (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

‘Smoky Mountain’ is a series of contemporary romance novels written by Lin Stepp. Lin writes stories set in and around the Great Smoky Mountains

+The Story

The Smoky Mountains are one of the most popular tourist sites in the United States. The National Park hosts people from all corners of the country on a regular basis. As such, Lin Stepp was surprised when she tried and failed to find fiction centered on the Smokies.

The author was already a little jaded about the way mainstream authors described people from the south, especially those communities that lived in the mountains. She wasn’t amused by the images of the ignorant, incestuous societies that thrived in that part of the country.

And she thought it was high time that someone showed the rest of the country and possibly even the world just how warm and kind and inviting and absolutely normal the people of the Smokies were.

But Lin Stepp did not realize just how essential her services were until she went hiking in the Smokies. The author and her husband were doing research for ‘The Afternoon Hiker’ a hiking guide.

Whenever they stopped at a store or a bookshop, Lin would take that opportunity to ask for books with stories set in the mountains. However, there were never any contemporary options for her consideration.

One bookseller actually told her that there was a market for the sub-genre, but no one had ever bothered to explore the concept in fiction. Lin Stepp took that as a challenge. She made it her goal to write stories set in the mountains.

Not only did she intend to fill that particular gap in the literary market but she also saw an opportunity to rebrand the people of the mountains.

And so the Smoky Mountain series was born. The author would describe the books as cheerful, contemporary stories with elements of sentimentality and romance. Even though the books are categorized under the ‘Smoky Mountain’ name, they are all standalones.

Each new book takes readers to a whole new section of the Smoky Mountains. There, Lin introduces a new cast of characters who must overcome their own unique set of challenges.

Lin’s goal is to educate people about the National park as a whole. As such, she enjoys using each new novel to help her readers experience a new facet of the mountains. Though, there are familiar elements such as characters and places that create a loose connection between all the books.

Even with the varying casts of characters, there is never a doubt that each book is situated within the Smoky Mountain series. Lin Stepp creates a familiarity that carries throughout the series.

After a few books, one cannot help but gain an understanding and appreciation of the southern culture that permeates the mountain communities.

Even though the Smoky Mountain series is marketed as romance, Lin Stepp believes it is more than that. The goal is to take people’s breathes away by immersing them in a wondrous corner of the world, this as opposed to making them swoon with all the romance.

The primary draw of the series is its wide appeal. The books have no sex or bad language. This means that they are suitable reading material for children of all ages. Lin has been heard speaking fondly of the story she heard about an assisted living center whose staff had taken to reading the Smoky Mountain books to their residents.

If she wasn’t sure just how wide the appeal of her books was, that story revealed the truth to her. The author doesn’t need to fall back on old clichés to keep readers interested.

There is no marrying off of cousins or drinking of moonshine. Lin Stepp is not interested in walking the same old tired road. Her books emphasize the importance of faith, family, and home, and her fans can’t seem to get enough of her stories.

According to Lin, most of her ideas for the Smoky Mountain books come to her as she traverses the Smokies. Lin is fortunate to have a husband who loves to hike as much as she does.

The couple constantly treks across the mountain ranges in North Caroline and Tennessee. There’s always something of note for Lin to see; a shop, a historical site or even a home that will pique her interest.

The author cannot explain how the stories come to her. The right experience will get creative juices flowing. Lin has plenty of imagination to make up for any gaps in her experiences that might arise.

+The Foster Girls

The times haven’t been kind to Vivian Delaney. And when she comes to the Great Smoky Mountains, it is with the intention of unburdening herself somewhat, if only for a little while.

Fortunately for Vivian, she has Scott. Initially just her landlord, Scott becomes the love interest Vivian has been looking for, the one person with whom she can share all her secrets.

When the couple’s relationship is finally tested, their challenges take the shape of Sarah Taylor, a little foster girl.

This is the first book in the Smoky Mountain series. Lin Stepp tells the story of Vivian, a woman who rents a house near the Smokies. She tells everyone she’s on sabbatical, but Scott doesn’t know if he believes her.

Scott Jamison’s family owns the house Vivian is renting, and he cannot help but think there’s more to her than meets the eye. When they finally meet, Vivian works hard to stick to her story, and even as they fall for one another, Scott is reluctant to let his feelings lead him because he cannot be involved with someone he cannot trust. Vivian must earn Scott’s confidence.

+Tell Me about Orchard Hollow

Jenna Howell runs to the Tennessee Mountains to escape the anguish of her failed marriage. The New Yorker flees to a friend’s cabin in the hopes that she will find the peace and quiet she needs to figure her future out.

However, Jenna finds her thinking time disrupted by new friends and neighbors.

The second book in the Smoky Mountain series explores the story of Jenna, a young artist who flees from her adulterous marriage. She finds solace in the Smokies, makes new friends and meets a handsome local artist who captures her heart.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Smoky Mountain

Leave a Reply