Book Notification

Sofie Kelly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Magical Cats Mystery Books

Curiosity Thrilled the Cat (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleight of Paw (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Copycat Killing (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat Trick (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Final Catcall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Midwinter's Tail (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faux Paw (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cat Burglar (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paws and Effect (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tale of Two Kitties (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cats Came Back (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Night's Tail (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Case of Cat and Mouse (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hooked on a Feline (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whiskers and Lies (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paws to Remember (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sofie Kelly is quite a common name for all young readers out there. The young adult writer, chose this pseudonym which has gained a lot of fame. The real name behind all this art and work being Darlene Ryan, she Is also a mixed media artist. She lives withheld husband and daughter and enjoys the Wu style Tai Chi when free. You may know her for her books such as Magical cats and curiosity thrilled the cat. If you have read the magical cat series, you surely have fallen in love with her writing style and her amazing artistic skills that leave you wanting to read more and more.

1. Curiosity thrilled the catThis is the first book that was authored under the name Sofie Kelly. The book is also the first in the cat mystery series. This is where we get to meet the character Kathleen Paulson. She meets two strays who change her life after moving to Mayville Heights, Minnesota where she works as a librarian. She meets Owen who has a catnip addiction and Hercules who has fondness for Barry Mannilow. Kathleen as well shares the fondness for Barry Mannilow. Murder interrupts the music festival which leaves her as the prime suspect.This is where she relies on her new friends to solve the perfect murder with their magical skills.

2. Sleight of paw

This was the second book in the series.

Released September 2011, the book was long awaited for. Not wanting to be hailed as the crazy catlady, Kathleen, the librarian, did not want to be seen everywhere with cats. Knowing that the cats had magical powers, they followed her home and she had to bow down to it. She comes to enjoy having the two cats around after a body of an elderly woman is found near her favorite cafe. The lady, Agatha Sheperd, was a do- gooder which made Kathleen want to look for important clues to help her solve this murder mystery. Owen’s invisibility and Hercules’ ability to walk through walls was a great benefit as she would get all the information she needed. Here is a review of the characters in the book series.

Kathleen Paulson

This is the main character in the book. The whole book is centered around her as she tries to change her life. When her boyfriend leaves and comes back married after two weeks, Kathleen views this as an opportunity to turn her life around. Quite an interesting character she is, her experiences make the storyline and the whole book series. she is determined to clear her name and let everyone learn the truth in her new neighborhood. This is very admirable as she takes on the role of solving mysteries with the help of her friends.

The book portrays her as a strong willed person as she is ready to stand up to the challenges. She is happy to make new friends in a town where she has no one and she appreciates being in company of two cats. With a new place and a new environment, she is ready to make a difference in the society and rid it off bad characters. This is quite admirable of her. Her determination to find answers is more fascinating and it draws you more to her personality. As a woman who has no experience in the area of investigation, Kathleen, does not shy away to ask for help from her friends who work hand in hand with her to achieve her mission.

She is a grateful character who is readily seen carrying her cat in a gym bag. This is a rare character as many people shy away from being who they are. A fixer her own way, Kathleen Paulson looks for solutions bothering people in the new town especially the cold blooded killer who has been terrorizing them. This is a great way to portray the strength of a woman. It is an inspiration for people out there to come out of their shells and do what is required of them. The character is entertaining as you always wonder what she is up to and if she will get to the truth.

2. Owen

He is a friend of Kethleens who helps her solve her murder mysteries. He is of great help and helps Kathleen with his magical powers. He is invisible which makes him a great spy. In a town where there are no trustworthy people around you, he makes a great friend in Kathleen and even helps her out with her problem. This is a great show of loyalty where Owen, unlike human beings, he values friendship and makes sure that he is the for his newly found friend Kathleen. Sofie Kelly shows how a cat is really a woman’s bestfriend -aside diamonds. The best thing is that through out the series, Owen is loyal to Kathleen and he is not easily fooled when her ex- boyfriend comes back for her. This shows how much Owen respects their friendship and keeps her before everything.

3. Hercules

He is the other friend of Kathleen. They have something in common with Kathleen, they are determined to unmask all murderer who have been taking lives of innocent citizens of Mayville. This creates a bond between the three characters as they take on the detective task to save the town. Through the series, Hercules has assisted in investigating through his powers to walk through walls. He is just an adorable cat just like Owen. Sofie Kelly is a great author, who has managed to keep us entertained since her debut in february 2011. She has great masterly and artistic skills that spark imagination to whole new greater depths. She is exceptional as she has produced a great series without a great gap between the books. This is exceptionally good as most authors take lots of time to develop on their work. Shei is inspired by everything around her. Her works have proven great with a great deal of fans reading her books over and over again. She knows how to please her audience as she has maintained a great thrill in the storyline and also created a fantastic series that we have grown to love.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sofie Kelly

2 Responses to “Sofie Kelly”

  1. Helen Gosciminski: 2 years ago

    I am hooked on these books! I have two cats, sisters, but they are nothing like Owen and Hercules. Cali and Chloe keep me company when they are not snoozing. Cali is of course a calico, and Chloe is gray with white paws and a white stripe down her nose. Please keep the books comibg!

  2. Judy Geres: 6 years ago

    I love both of Sofie’s Cat Series. They flow nicely, are funny and interesting. I wait with bated breath for the nest book release in both series.


Leave a Reply