Book Notification

Songs of the Amaranthine Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Songs of the Amaranthine Books

Marked by Stars (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Followed by Thunder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragged through Hedgerows (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Governed by Whimsy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hemmed in Silver (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captured on Film (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bathed in Moonlight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flattered by Flowers (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scribbled in Margins (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Amaranthine Saga Books

Tsumiko and the Enslaved Fox (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kimiko and the Accidental Proposal (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tamiko and the Two Janitors (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mikoto and the Reaver Village (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fumiko and the Finicky Nestmate (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pimiko and the Uncharted Island (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Songs of the Amaranthine
Songs of the Amaranthine is a book sub-series whose American author uses the pseudonym Forthright. Songs of the Amaranthine is an offshoot of the Amaranthine Saga series. The sub-series’ thematic elements include Japanese mythology and fantasy, especially anime.
Forthright, whose identity is largely unknown, showcased her works on the Fandom website before she started publishing her own books. Her debut, titled Tsumiko and the Enslaved Fox, was originally released in February 2018 and is the first instalment in her Amaranthine Saga series.
Other events that have greatly benefited Forthright include the drawing-oriented Inktober and the novel writing-based NaNoWriMo. Forthright welcomes input from her fans through blog comments, social media participations, polls, and anime submissions.

Books in the Songs of the Amaranthine
The Amaranthine Saga series and the Songs of the Amaranthine series aside, Forthright also writes the comparatively highest-rated Forthright Fiction series. Unlike its archetype Amaranthine Saga series; the Songs of the Amaranthine series is an anthology whose stories are extracted from the former.
First published on December 4, 2018; the novella titled Marked By Stars is the first book in the Songs of the Amaranthine series. It is about a wolf that, after following a guiding star, reaches a destination where it not only becomes one of the founding animals of a dog clan but also conciliates the felines with the people.

Originally released on May 4, 2019; Followed By Thunder is book two in the Songs of the Amaranthine series. It is all about two social outcasts who are running for their lives. The sisterly outcasts are called Fira and Lufu whom certain villagers are pursuing. A storm protects the two sisters who are directed to a treasure-filled hideout and region teeming with mythic animals, including flying horse shifters. It turns out that the artificial storm that rescued the duo was actually an air disturbance caused by their rescuers—a Horse Clan. The sisters learn how to harness their mythic powers, including the art of using crystals and battling dragons. One of the sisters, Fira, falls for a local called Colt Riker; thereby beginning a lineage of magic-wielding people.
Initially released on October 4, 2019; the third book in the Songs of the Amaranthine series is called Dragged Through Hedgerows whose protagonists are called Daroo-fen and Charles Cooper. Daroo-fen is a lonely lawyer whose is doing business as Drew Waters. Charles is a single father of two young children called Coop and Rose; he has since separated from his hostile wife called Ally.

Charles has been willed a woodland that is within where environmental activist Daroo-fen had sworn to defend against destruction. Thus, the needful Charles gets in touch with Daroo-fen wherein they find that both are aliens; Daroo-fen is a wolf shifter (also nicknamed Beast) and he finds a sense of belonging in the family of Charles who is a reaver (from the clan with magical abilities).

First dated April 4, 2020; Governed By Whimsy is the fourth book in the Songs of the Amaranthine series is. Its protagonists are a widely-traveled actor called Ambrose P. Merriman and a reaver called Greta Demerara. Ambrose—who works for a traveling theatre group—has been using the escort services of troublesome reavers whom he has always fallen out with, but he falls for his latest escort Greta, who is advancing the interests of her race.
Originally released on November 4, 2020; the fifth book in the Songs of the Amaranthine series is called Hemmed in Silver. The main character is Wyn Outler: a secretive man whose alien background is unknown. Later on found to be a self-exiled member of the In-between alien race, his secretive background comes to the fore when his nephew and niece track him down to his off-grid homestead, so-called Meritt House. Now uncomfortably housing his young orphaned nephew Alfie and his niece Hazel, the long-lost uncle rears magical creatures from the Cozy Clan. Upon their urban to rural migration—where a creature called Sonnet acts as their foster mother—the live-in young relatives find out that the Cozy Clan creatures include gigantic chicken and intelligent cows, while the pets include a wolf shifter that doubles up as a cook.

Initially published on March 4, 2021; the sixth book in the Songs of the Amaranthine series is called Captured on Film. The protagonists are two brothers called Caleb Dare and Josheb. Incidentally, journalist Josheb wants them to go on a fact-finding mission—after someone tipped them off anonymously—so that he can demystify a legendary mountainous monster. Photographer Caleb agrees half-heartedly. Unlike Caleb, Josheb not only believes in the supernatural but also aliens. Thus, Josheb wants Caleb to accompany him to help create a documentary.

Other Books You May Like
Those that read the Songs of the Amaranthine series liked these books too. Originally released on September 23, 2017; The Human Familiar, by Honor Raconteur, is book one in the Familiar and the Mage series. The featured protagonists are called Brennan, aged nineteen, and Renata Rocci, aged sixteen. Brennan is an adventurous man who becomes a mage after an intercontinental teleportation via a portal. He ends up in a fairyland where he is mentored by—and bonds with— Renata, a deadly and heroic female sorceress.

Initially dated August 17, 2011; Jaunten, by Honor Raconteur, is book one in the Advent Mage Cycle series. The protagonist is a teenage boy called Garth whose unknown magical knowledge is contrary to the rules of his native country, Chahir, where sorcerers are killed. Garth’s uncontrollable magic prompts him to secretly escape to a nearby sorcerer-friendly country, called Hain; where he is fostered, mentored, and becomes one of the brethren of sorcerers collectively called Jaunten.

First dated April 28, 2018; Night Tide, by Grace Draven, is book 1.6 in her Wraith Kings series. The protagonist is Zigana Imre, a coastal resident who—alongside a horse called Gitta—uses her magical knowhow of water behavior not only to caution her fellow villagers against looming supernatural dangers, but to also ward off a man-eating marine monster.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Songs of the Amaranthine

Leave a Reply