Book Notification

Sons Of Encouragement Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sons of Encouragement Books

The Warrior: Caleb (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Priest: Aaron (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prince: Jonathan (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prophet: Amos (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scribe: Silas (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sons of Encouragement is a new series of biblical novellas from beloved author Francine Rivers, combined into one omnibus, and they tell the story of one of five biblical men who stood behind the great heroes of the faith: Aaron the priest, Caleb the warrior, Jonathan the prince, Amos the prophet, and Silas the scribe. “The Priest: Aaron” is book one in this series, and it tells us the story of Aaron, who was brother to Moses and a high priest in Israel. This book deals with his struggles as he comes to terms with God’s plan concerning his life.

This book will definitely not disappoint you because it stays true to what we read in the bible. It captures the emotions that Aaron went through while supporting his brother to fulfill his destiny. The human perspective in this book will certainly warm your heart, and it breathes life into the biblical characters in the most refreshing manner. The author probes into what it would feel like for a man living in this day and age to have people admiring and scorning him in equal measure. The golden calf is one of those mistakes that Moses did but when you read this book, you get some perspective on the whole situation.

How many times have you crumbled under the pressure of expectations and did things that were contrary to your beliefs or principles? After reading The Priest, you will be able to get a better understanding of how biblical heroes struggled under immense pressure to provide solutions for an expectant nation. You might start reading the book with a reserved judgment for Aaron but you might end up with tears as you reflect on your own rebellious attitude.

The journey that the Israelites took from Israel to the Promised Land is brought to life, and the account will touch your heart. This is definitely an enjoyable book that you will find relaxing but at the same time challenging to your faith. The book makes you reflect on your relationship with God, and the author deserves a five-star rating for such an excellent work. The book takes you through Aaron’s journey to humility, contrition, and ultimate dependence upon God. The author makes Aaron human, and it creates dialog that shows that it was not all about glory because sometimes you have to go through suffering in order to reach your destiny.

Readers will not fail to notice the comparison between Aaron and Moses as far as their life experiences are concerned. We have Aaron living in slavery while his brother lived in splendor. While Aaron slaved under hard conditions, his brother was being taught reading, writing and the Egyptian way of life. Aaron used to wear rags while his brother wore the finest linen. Aaron didn’t have much to eat while his brother was being fed like royalty. Aaron was born a slave and he knew that he was destined to die as a slave unless God came to their rescue. The Priest is definitely one of the most inspirational books that you can read.

Book number two of the Sons of Encouragement series is called “The Warrior: Caleb”. This book shares a fictional account of Caleb, a man whose faith and zeal for God and encouragement of Joshua helped lead the people of God into the Promised Land. This is an enjoyable book that provides snippets of wisdom that you might miss when you read the bible due to the different standpoint that the author adopts. The way sin is depicted in the book will make you take stock and think about your relationship with your Creator.

When you read the story of Caleb in the bible, there are some details that you might gloss over, but The Warrior will definitely open your eyes to what you might have overlooked. For instance, you keep hearing that the Israelites spent forty years wandering in the desert but the full implications don’t hit you at first. However, you quickly realize that people who had grown up fearing the Pharaoh eventually died, and they were replaced by people who feared the Lord.

When you finish reading this book, it will make you think hard about your life. The weight of your sin might start to bear down on you, and the book will make you think of the many times that you’ve been unfaithful to God. The burden of your failures in life will become apparent, and you might start contemplating how you will live your life in a much better way in order to please your Lord. The good thing is that the book gives you hope of being able to turn over a new life and living a life that your Lord would be proud of.

Even though this is a fictional account of the story of Caleb, it still has the same impact as the bible story. In fact, the book breaks down the bible story in a way that many people can relate to. The book doesn’t portray a holier than thou attitude, which is quite refreshing because nobody is perfect. After reading the book, you quickly realize that even though they were mighty prophets of old, these heroes were still human and they were prone to making mistakes just like the rest of us. To err is human seems to be the main talking point of the book, and it also give you hope that if these people could change, so can you.

Perhaps the biggest accomplishment of the writer is bringing to life the biblical character of Caleb. The bible account of Joshua mainly focuses on his achievements, but the spies who were sent to scout the enemy territory are sometimes forgotten but they are the unsung heroes of the whole story. Thanks to Francine Rivers, we can celebrate the lives and accomplishments of the people who work behind the scenes to make things happen. If you love the story of the underdog triumphant against the odds, then you will enjoy reading all the books in the Sons of Encouragement series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sons Of Encouragement

Leave a Reply