Book Notification

Sophie Katz Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sophie Katz Murder Mystery Books

Sex, Murder And A Double Latte (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Passion, Betrayal And Killer Highlights (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Obsession, Deceit, and Really Dark Chocolate (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lust, Loathing and a Little Lip Gloss (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vows, Vendettas and a Little Black Dress (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vanity, Vengeance And A Weekend In Vegas (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chaos, Desire & A Kick-Ass Cupcake (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Sophie Katz” series by bestselling (New York Times and USA Today) author Kyra Davis is from the genres of mystery and romance (it has also been called chick lit and women’s fiction). Sophie stars in the series as a mystery author that starts solving murders as an amateur sleuth, in he city of San Francisco. She is half Jewish and half black. She is hard boiled, well, at least as hard boiled as someone who drinks Grande Caramel Brownie Frappuccinos.

The series began in the year 2005, with the release of “Sex, Murder and a Double Latte”. It was also her debut novel. Before getting published, she was able to work as a marketing manager at a sports club and a department manager at Nordstrom’s Savvy department; both jobs helped support her and her son.

“Sex, Murder and a Double Latte” is the first novel in the “Sophie Katz” series and was released in the year 2005. Sophie knows that it is paranoia when she gets convinced of the fact that one of her readers is crazed and sneaking into her apartment. This is so that they can recreate scenes from her novels. The police are unable to tell the plot of a good story from a hole in the ground.

She has a friend that makes films, and he is killed the same way that someone in one of his films was. She is certain of the fact that there is a copycat and that she will be the next target. If Sophie is unable to solve the case, her own bestseller will be how she dies.

She curses herself for choosing an ax for a murder weapon; at the same time, she puts her brain to good use and does some gumshoe tactics in real life. She has a man save her life in dark alleys, his named is Anatoly Darinsky. In fiction, he would be the prime suspect.

Fans of the novel found that Sophie makes for a great narrator, who is funny and has some great observations about San Francisco. It has a mystery that is quite interesting, but the best part is seeing just what Sophie is going to do next. Once some finished the book, they wanted to read more about this great character. Some have found, no matter how many times they have read it, that they cannot put the book down, despite knowing what is coming up next. This is quite the character and series to follow.

“Passion, Betrayal, and Killer Highlights” is the second novel in the “Sophie Katz” series and was released in the year 2006. Sophie has just offered a man twelve thousand dollars to do a job. Now is she mad or desperate? Taking into account the kind of awful and horrible things that usually befall this mystery writer, both is probably the best answer.

Last time she saw private investigator Anatoly Darinsky he seemed to be glad when she waved goodbye to him. Which seems like the normal reaction a man would have after he almost died tried to protect her from her very own foolishness. Does it seem likely that he would take pictures of her sister’s cheating husband? Or that he would allow her to tag along, for research type purposes?

Sophie’s brother in law gets killed, with her sister being the prime suspect, her priority becomes finding out who the real killer is. She will have to do it, with or without Anatoly’s assistance. Due to his secret life, there are plenty of people who may have killed him, but the San Francisco police do not really take them seriously.

Sophie stirs up trouble (something that she is good at) to try to draw the killer out. Should this plan work, however, will Anatoly be there to help her?

Fans of the novel found that this was another enjoyable novel; it had the same amount of humor of the first, and another interesting mystery. The two characters, Leah and Sophie, were great to read about, as they seemed to be quite different. Readers have a hard time putting the book down, it is fast paced and entertaining. Some hope that the next books in the series are just as good as these first two.

“Obsession, Deceit, and Really Dark Chocolate” is the third novel in the “Sophie Katz” series and was released in the year 2007. Sophie’s relationship seems to be hitting the toilet with Anatoly, when a friend gets Sophie to try to figure out what her husband’s behavior really means. He might be a two timing sleazeball, maybe not though; the behavior is strange though.

Sophie turns up in a short and red cocktail dress, the friend’s husband ends up dead. This leaves Sophie without much choice in the matter, she has to take the case on. She is flung head first into the world of a campaign where there is: mudslinging, cover ups, and dirt digging; it is a crazy world, no doubt.

In her digging, she finds some dirty secrets, one that involves the conservative trying to make congress being involved in the Furry community. This is where people get all dressed up in stuffed animal costumes that are mascot sized. Politics and sex, a combination that seems to be getting the way of the land.

Sophie is, once again, in over her head, and gets the help of Anatoly (partner and currently ex). They try and figure out who killed Eugene and what the motive was; all the while, they cannot help but fall for one another, yet again.

Fans of the novel enjoy reading Davis’ funny dialogue (like Sophie’s one liners), and find that they get the next one started, right after they have finished the previous one. The more novels that come out about these characters, the more readers get to know them better. It was interesting the way that Sophie and Anatoly’s issues are worked with in this one, as they do not act like teenagers and get all emotional. Even some of the secondary characters are well written, as they too feel like real people that you are getting to know.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sophie Katz

Leave a Reply