Book Notification

Sophie Kimball Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sophie Kimball Mystery Books

Booked 4 Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ditched 4 Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Staged 4 Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Botched 4 Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Molded 4 Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dressed Up 4 Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broadcast 4 Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Railroaded 4 Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saddled Up 4 Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grilled 4 Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strike Out 4 Murder (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revved Up 4 Murder (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sophie Kimball Mystery Series

Working together as a husband and wife team, the American writers Anne I. Goldfarb and her husband James E. Clapp work together under the pen-name J.C. Eaton. Together they create intelligent and fun mystery novels that have found their own enthusiastic following of readers worldwide. Creating cozy mystery novels, they combine their talents to keep their audience constantly guessing every step of the way. This is also true for the long-lasting characters that they create, staying with the reader long after they’ve put the book down. Writing mystery series is their main output, as they ensure that their readers continually come back for more time and time again.

One of the main series that they’re extremely well known for is that of their much loved ‘Sophie Kimball Mystery’ series of novels. Following the eponymous character of Sophie ‘Phee’ Kimball, it sees her as she solves a series of murders, with each book containing a different mystery. These have proven to be hugely popular, as she lives in Arizona whilst helping her mother and solving mysteries.

Booked 4 Murder

First coming out through the ‘Kensington Publishing Corporation’ imprint, this would be the first book in the ‘Sophie Kimball Mystery’ series of novels. Released in 2017 on the 27th of June, this would set the series up, introducing many of the characters and their world for the first time. It also contains a self-contained mystery at the heart of it too, making for an engaging and all-round entertaining story.

There’s a lot of fun to be had here, as the book uses the murder mystery as a stepping stone for numerous engaging ideas. With strong characters at the center of it, it also paves the way for an entertaining collection of books to follow in its footprints. Setting up plenty of intriguing arcs in the process too, Eaton really makes the most of the concept, enjoying themselves every step of the way.

Set in a small city in Minnesota, this sees divorced, middle-aged mother Sophie Phee Kimball working in the police department as an account clerk. Getting a call from her mother, Harriet Plunkett, Sophie has to take a trip to her retirement community in Sun City West, Arizona, after reports of a cursed book is cursing those in her book club. Looking into whether or not the book is actually cursed, Sophie must find out who’s really behind it all, and who’s committing the murders. She soon begins to discover that there’s plenty of secrets lurking just beneath the surface in the otherwise seemingly quiet retirement community. Will she be able to find out what’s really going on and catch the killer? Is there really a curse? Just who is going to be booked 4 murder?

Ditched 4 Murder

Once more released through the ‘Kensington Publishing Corporation’, this would carry on with another ‘Sophie Kimball Mystery,’ this being the second book in the series. Initially published in 2017 on the 28th of November, this would carry on in much the same manner as before, developing both the world and the characters. Jumping straight into the story itself, it wastes no time in getting straight to the mystery, whilst also paving the way for the third.

Set in and around an Arizona retirement community, this really has a lot to offer when it comes to the murder mystery genre. Populated by a colorful cast of quirky characters, there’s careful attention to detail here, as it paints an intricate and vivid portrait. Bringing the story and characters to life, Eaton knows and understands exactly what they’re doing here, making for a confident second story.

Now taking permanent residence in Arizona, Sophie ‘Phee’ Kimball is making a new life for herself there, whilst her mother, Harriet, lives nearby. Helping with her seventy-four year-old Aunt Ina’s wedding, stress is currently high, with Sophie working on the tents there. That’s when a murder victim turns up not far from Harriet’s home, and it’s up to Sophie to find out who did the crime. With a killer on the loose she’s worried for her mother’s safety, so must find the killer in time before it’s too late. Will she be able to find who the killer is and why they did it? Can she organize the wedding as well? What will happen as they’re all ditched 4 murder?

Staged 4 Murder

Marking the third book in the long-running ‘Sophie Kimball Mystery’ series, this would initially come out on the 26th of June 2018. Carrying on with another self-contained mystery, it manages to capture the energy of the previous two novels, whilst also paving the way for the fourth, which was titled ‘Botched 4 Murder’ published that same year. Released through the ‘Kensington Publishing Corporation’ again too, it definitely keeps the reader guessing throughout. It takes inspiration from Agatha Christie too, making numerous references to her and her work, something which works well here.

Running a private investigation company in Arizona, Sophie ‘Phee’ Kimball is looking to get some work done, and that’s when an old crush of hers turns up out the blue. In her mother’s retirement community there’s a performance of Agatha Christie’s ‘The Mousetrap’ taking place, which means plenty of updates for Sophie. That’s when someone starts to play the killer for real, leaving Sophie once again to solve the case and find out who’s behind it all. Drawn in to all the backstage gossip, Sophie untangles all the lies from the truth, but that’s when a threatening note is left for her mother. Who, exactly, left it though? Will she be able to find the real killer before it’s too late? Just who is going to be staged 4 murder?

The Sophie Kimball Mystery Series

This is an extremely fun and engaging mystery series with a lot to offer, as there’s plenty of suspense and intrigue throughout. Drawing up a number of different influences and inspirations, J.C. Eaton are gifted writers with a lot to offer the genre. As more continue to discover their work every day, they’re set to continue writing for quite some time come yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sophie Kimball Mystery

Leave a Reply