Book Notification

Sophie Sayers Village Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sophie Sayers Village Mystery Books

Best Murder in Show (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Vicarage (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Manger (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by the Book (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Springtime for Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Your Darlings (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Lost and Found (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Highlands (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries (Series by Debbie Young)
Author Debbie Young writes the “Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries” series. The series began publication in the year 2017, when “Best Murder in Show” was released.

The books follow the exploits of one young English woman that inherits a country cottage from her Great Auntie May, who was a famous travel writer, and begins a new life for herself in a small village in the Cotswolds. It isn’t very long before she realizes that you do not have to travel outside the village of Wendlebury Barrow to have some adventures.

With an idyllic Cotswold setting and a cast of some loveable English eccentrics, this series runs through the cycle of a country year.

“Best Murder in Show” is the first novel in the “Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. A corpse on a carnival float at the village show. Sophie Sayers, a new arrival, believes it is an obvious case of murder in plain sight, but why don’t any of the villagers agree with this? What dark secrets might they be hiding to keep her from unmasking the killer, and who could possibly hold the key to this mystery?

Joshua: the insightful yet intrusive old guy from next door. Hector: the enigmatic yet gorgeous owner of the village’s bookshop. And Carol, the village shopkeeper, the fount of village gossip, which isn’t all reliable. And what could that mysterious ingredient that almost knocks Sophie out once she takes her tea at the village bookshop? Which ain’t the best way to begin a job interview.

Can she reveal the clues that are tucked away in this outwardly idyllic Cotswold village before anybody comes close to being harmed, not least herself?

“Trick or Murder?” is the second novel in the “Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. While Halloween is approaching in Wendlebury Barrow, Sophie’s suspicious of the fierce new vicar as well as his ban on the villagers’ seasonal celebrations. Particularly when he plans on replacing them with a traditional Guy Fawkes’ Night party, and he invites everybody to bring a guy (scarecrow) to burn on his huge bonfire.

She believes this vicar isn’t the only one that has dark secrets to hide. What about her boss, Hector Munro, that beguiling bookseller? Whose body is going to be found outside of his village bookshop? Not to mention the one that was secretly buried under the vicar’s bonfire.

Right when Sophie had been beginning to feel right at home in Wendlebury, she has to call on all of her inner resources and trust her instincts in order to save the day before somebody else could be harmed. And get Hector back on her side, too.

“Murder in the Manger” is the third novel in the “Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. When some mysterious stranger interrupts Sophie Sayers’ Nativity play in order to accuse the entire village of killing a baby, her imagination runs wild, as per usual. Which isn’t helped by her ex-boyfriend’s surprise arrival when her new romance with the charming Hector Munro was beginning to heat up.

What secrets could this stranger be hiding? And just whose baby is it anyway? Could she possibly hang on to Hector without pushing Damian right into the unsuitable arms of Carol, the aging and eccentric proprietor of the village shop? With help from some of her new found friends in Wendlebury Barrow, she will give it her best shot.

“Murder by the Book” is the fourth novel in the “Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2018. Right as Sophie’s Valentine’s celebrations are soon to kick off, somebody gets pushed to their death down into the well located behind the village pub. However if nobody witnessed the crime, could it stay unresolved in this tight knit English village? Not if young Tommy has anything to do with things, but can Sophie stop him from revealing Hector’s secret identity in the process?

There is a veritable shoal of red herrings that are sure to keep you guessing while tempers flare and some old feuds catch fire in this cozy mystery about loyalty, family ties, and love in this idyllic Cotswold village. Idyllic unless of course you were the one getting pushed down a well, that is.

“Springtime for Murder” is the fifth novel in the “Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2018. When the elderly lady from the Manor House, named Bunny Carter, gets found in an open grave, Sophie’s sure that it is a case of foul play. However she is spoiled for her choice of suspects.

One of Bunny’s quarreling siblings from three different husbands? Petunia Lot from the Cats Prevention charity, who is always angling for a legacy? All of these and more had opportunity and motive. However which is actually to blame here? And can Sophie, along with her bookseller boyfriend Hector stop them before they can strike again?

There is a lively array of eccentrics that joins the regular cast in this compelling tale of friendship, family, loss, and love.

“Murder Your Darlings” is the sixth novel in the “Sophie Sayers Village Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2020. When Sophie joins a writers’ retreat happening on some secluded Greek island, she only hopes to find some inspiration, and perhaps a bit of adventure. Stepping out of her rural English comfort zone, she takes stock of her relationship with Hector.

However the writing course has barely begun when Marina Milanese, bestselling romance author, vanishes on a solo voyage to some old windmill. Sophie, who is first on the scene, becomes prime suspect for her murder.

When a storm prevents Greek police officers from landing on this island in order to investigate further, Sophie’s got to attempt to solve this crime herself. Which isn’t easy, particularly when everybody at this retreat has got a motive. While Sophie strives to reveal the truth about Marina’s true fate, she arrives at a life altering choice about her own future.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sophie Sayers Village Mystery

Leave a Reply