Book Notification

Soul Eater Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Soul Eater Books

Hidden Blade (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Witches' Bane (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
See No Evil (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chase The Dark (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scorpion Trap (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serpent's Game (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Forever (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chase The Dark is a Soul Eater Series side story. It can be read as a stand-alone at any time during the series.

The Soul Eater series is a popular book series of paranormal, fantasy, and urban fantasy novels. It was written by the well known hybrid British author named Pippa DaCosta under the pen name of P DaCosta. The series is comprised of a total of 6 novels and 2 novellas, which were released between the years 2016 and 2017. Each and every novel of this series features the chief character in the role of Ace Dante, who is labelled as the Soul Eater by others. Ace is called a liar, a thief, and a devil. However, people don’t call him all those in front of his face. But, Ace Dante knows what people think about him, but doesn’t mind because he knows he is all that and much more. Ace Dante gets pushed out of the world and is made to walk the earth with a curse for all the eternity. He always tries to help the other people from facing the god’s wrath and in doing so, he finds solace. Another important character depicted in the series by author DaCosta is known as Bastet. She is the Cats’ Queen, the warrior bitch, and the former wife of Ace Dante. She hires Ace to prevent all those who are trying to slaughter a blessed woman of hers. After being asked to work out this thing, Ace Dante gets caught between a couple of the most powerful deities that have ever been existed. They are known as Osiris and Isis. Subsequently, the gods that once revered appear to have not died. They have now returned with a new mission, but Ace Dante stands in their path and it won’t be easy for them to do what they want to.

An initial book published in the Soul Eater series is entitled ‘Witches’ Bane’. This book was released by the Crazy Ace publication in the year 2016. The important characters mentioned in the book include Ace Dante, Isis, Osiris, Bastet, Thoth, etc. Author DaCosta had set the story in New York, the United States. At the start of the story of the book, it is shown that Ace Dante did not earn his name of Godkiller, but it was given to him by others. However, he says that he will own it in 3 days. It is learned that witches have started to disappear from a number of places in New York, but Ace Dante doesn’t seem to care about it at all. Later, when one of his own friends gets held at gunpoint, he is left with no other option, but to agree to do whatever job he is asked to do. The witch who holds his friend produces the severed arm of Ace Dante in front of him. The arm bears a hieroglyph that seems quite unusual. Just taking one look at the hieroglyph, Ace Dante realizes that it is the time for him to take things seriously. He seems to recognize the mark quite well. The mark looks like connected to Ace in several ways that he does not understand yet. But, he wonders why the hieroglyph is on the arm of a dead witch. After a short while, Ace realizes that the severed arms and missing witches are not the only problems faced by him. He has to keep a promise with his new name of Godkiller. Ace is left with just 3 days to kill the Thoth, which is also a god. If he fails to do so, he will have to face the wrath of Osiris. Ace had defied Osiris once in the past and had acquired a curse because of which he became crippled for his entire life and turned into the puppet of Osiris for the entire eternity. Now, Ace knows that Osiris is not going to be lenient this time. Therefore, he must finish Thoth at any cost. The task seems highly impossible for Ace, because only a god can kill Thoth and Ace Dante is just a mercenary and not a god. Later, when the truth gets revealed with the casting of spells, Ace Dante feels that there is only one he can move out of all this. For this, he will have to turn himself into a monster that all the gods fear.

Another successful book of this series written by P DaCosta is called ‘Serpent’s Game’. This book was also released by Crazy Ace publishers in 2017. The central characters of the book are shown as Nick Jones and Ace Dante. Author Pippa DaCosta has set the novel’s story in Egypt. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is depicted that Ace Dante finds himself on a knife edge after coming across several revelations in Egypt. The gods don’t look like they will wait for even the shortest possible time for him to accept the truth. Several deadly and ancient beasts come out of the underworld and started targeting Nick Jones and his young daughter. Nick Jones, who is referred to as Cujo and doesn’t seem to have any connection with Ace Dante. But, things begin to get related after a familiar and mysterious box is found. This box has the mark of a Jackel with the head of a snake. The situation seems much more dangerous because the box is discovered in the open state. It appears that the gods have crossed their line too much. Ace Dante decides that he is done with being their puppet. Now, he has chosen to fight back and face whatever consequences come out of it. Shortly after, numerous hidden secrets begin to get unraveled and the friendships of Ace Dante begin to crumble in front him.

It seems that the situation will not allow him to gather the strength required by him to put up the fight against what is wrong and support what is right. There is also the fear of the inner darkness of Ace Dante consuming him fully. If this happens, Ace will lose all his hopes of fighting against the evil incarnate’s will. However, he is not someone who will lose easily. Ace is driven by his dedication and determination to bring down the evil and let the good triumph. In this novel, a lot more things are revealed about Ace Dante. Also, he keeps remembering a lot of details about his past life. The darkest side that he has inside him seems very close. He has always tried to keep Cujo out of trouble, especially from the evil gods’ sight, as they enjoy to toy with the life of Cujo. Being his best friend, Ace is desperate to save him and his little daughter at all costs. When nothing goes as planned by the gods, they send an ancient beast to target Cujo and his family. It becomes quite clear that Cujo is being used to get to Dante by someone who wants him dead very soon. The book was highly appreciated by one and all. Author DaCosta was also praised by the critics for her unique writing skills and describing an original story of the fantasy and paranormal type.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Soul Eater

Leave a Reply