Book Notification

Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries Books

Southern Spirits (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ghostly Gift (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Skeleton in the Closet (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost of a Chance (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunted Heist (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deader Homes and Gardens (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dog Gone Ghost (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Tea and Spirits (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Sugarland Express (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pecan Pies and Dead Guys (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mint Julep Murders (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost of Christmas Past (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Southern Bred and Dead (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunted Homecoming (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Give Up The Ghost (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dread and Buried (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Drive-in (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets, Lies and Fireflies (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries Collections

Haunted for Christmas (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery” series written by author Angie Fox is from the cozy mystery and urban fantasy. The series began with the release of “Southern Spirits” in the year 2015.

The series stars a graphic designer (who is between jobs) named Verity Long, and she gains the ability to see spirits. She has a skunk named Lucy, and this skunk of hers acts like a dog. Verity drives a 1978 Cadillac that is the same shade of green as an avocado.

“Southern Spirits” is the first novel in the “Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery” series and was released in the year 2015. Verity traps a ghost on her property by accident, and gets stuck with more than just supernatural sidekick. She gets the ability to see spirits. She gets an offer she cannot refuse because of it, one that happened because of her new gift. It comes from the brother of her ex and the town’s bad boy; the last guy that she should ever partner up with.

Ellis Wydell has a historic and amazing piece of property that is haunted by some of the finest former citizens that Sugarland Tennessee has ever seen. Some of them are getting restless, and starting to destroy things. He hires Verity to end the disturbances that are happening. She soon learns that there is more at play here that just secret passageways, rooms that are hidden, and floating specters.

She finds a modern mystery in the mansion, and it pivots off a murder that happened decades ago. Verity questions both the dead and living, and without batting an eye about it. Is she going to be able to find out the truth before the killer gets to her?

Fans of the novel enjoyed reading about Verity, finding her full of sass, entertaining, a strong female, and she could even pass as a detective. Each and every character in the book is someone that you will love reading about, it does not end with Verity. Angie Fox is able to write hilarious novels, no matter who the main character happens to be. This is quite the thrill ride that you will have to buckle up for safety while reading.

“The Skeleton in the Closet” is the second novel in the “Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery” series and was released in the year 2015. A haunted library is nowhere for someone that can see ghosts to be, but Verity finds a dead body right in the main reading room. She thinks that someone, quite possibly a dead someone may have seen what happened.

Frankie, her ghost sidekick, tells her that she should stay out of it. Warns her, really. Ellis Wydell (handsome, alive, and a deputy sheriff) puts her right in the middle of it, without intending to. Ellis’ brother, Verity’s ex-fiance, returns to the town with an agenda of his own. She is not daunted by things, and finds some scandalous secrets, shocking clues, ghosts that were long forgotten. These things put her right in the way of the killer.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the fast pace, and how easy to follow the story was; it had quite a bit of humor that keeps things light. You will enjoy reading how things are resolved, and see more of Ellis and Verity’s romance developing in the book. Once again, Fox proves that she can write excellent novels that make you laugh and leave you unable to put them down and do anything else that you need to do.

“The Haunted Heist” is the third novel in the “Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery” series and was released in the year 2016. Verity Long does not enjoy hunting ghosts, despite her ability. She wants to get a marketing job at the bank, but then she finds her boss in the vault and he is dead. Frankie is sure that is no way for anyone to start a career.

Verity has no problem letting the police handle things, and just wants to keep the ghosts that she saw to herself. She hears that the main suspect is a crooked and dead mobster; which makes her realize that she will have to solve the case.

Verity, Ellis, and Frankie team up to find answers; they search mob hideouts that are haunted, historic cemeteries, and hidden passageways. The trio looks for anything they can find about the heist of the century, as well as a modern day motive for murder. It is just too bad that finding out the truth could make Verity the next target for murder.

Fans of the novel liked reading about Verity, as she is quite the hero to cheer for. You will have a lot of fun reading the book, and it does not even matter that you already know who the killer is. You will still be glued to the action the entire time you are reading the novel. The books are a joy to read, and you will be hooked, even after three novels of the series.

“Deader Homes and Gardens” is the fourth novel in the “Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery” series and was released in the year 2016. Verity Long is back as a ghost hunter. The next thing for her to do is go to the creepiest mansion that the town has, and exorcise the vengeful family of spirits that are there. Should be quite easy. Because ghosts both love her and need her, well, that is until she meets the ghosts at Rock Fall mansion. They stop at nothing to keep their murderous secrets hidden inside the fortress at cliff-side. Even getting rid of a ghost hunter (one who has decided to meddle) would be nothing to them.

The entire town is skeptical and scrutinizes everything that she does, and she struggles to find out the hundred year old mystery that is at the heart of the house. Verity finds a new and dead body, she finds that there is more here than she could ever have imagined. Ellis and Frankie help her out, as she gets through the family cemetery, the haunted mansion, and the overgrown gardens. All of these things have been locked up for many generations now. Is she going to be able to find out the truth, before she is next to be buried on the grounds?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery

One Response to “Southern Ghost Hunter Mystery”

  1. Tina: 1 year ago

    Finished the last Verity Long book. I’m sad but hoping to read another soon. Great work. Love the characters – and ghosts 🙂


Leave a Reply