Book Notification

Spellmonger Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Spellmonger Books

Publication Order of Spellmonger Short Stories/Novellas

Victory Soup (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The River Mists Of Talry (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spellmonger's Wedding (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road To Sevendor (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spellmonger's Honeymoon (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spellmonger's Yule (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road To Vanador (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Spellmonger Cadet Books

Publication Order of Spellmonger: Legacy and Secrets Books

By: Terry Mancour, Emily Burch Harris

Spellmonger by Terry Mancour

Author Terry Mancour writes the “Spellmonger” series of fantasy novels. The series began publication when the novel “Spellmonger” was released in the year 2011.

Minalan stars in the series as a spellmonger who gave up his career as a warmage to live a quiet life in the village.

“Spellmonger” was nominated for an Audie Award in the fantasy category in the year 2018.

“Spellmonger” is the first novel in the “Spellmonger” series, which was released in the year 2011. Minalan is the village spellmonger in the mountain valley of Boval. It used to be a beautiful and peaceful tiny fief, far away from the dangerous petty feudal quarrels of the Five Duchies, on Callidore. There were many cows. And cheese. Six months things were going well: he made friends with the local lord, discovered a nice little shop, the villagers loved him, he found a keen young apprentice to help him out, and he met a beautiful widow with the most gorgeous eyes.

One night Minalan has to pick up his mageblade so that he can defend his adopted home against the army of goblins’ vanguard (they refer to themselves as gurvani). The bunch are bent on a crusade to take out all of mankind. That was just the good news. The bad news was that their shamans had more magical power than has been seen since the ancient Imperial Magocracy’s time. Their leader, who is a vengeful and mysterious force of dark magic and hate, is going right to Boval valley. The spellmonger and the nice people of Boval just have a single choice, to hunker down in the huge Boval Castle and hope they will be able to endure a siege against these hundreds of thousands.

The people look to Minalan for hope, and he does his best, but there are many goblins. They want Boval Vale to use as a staging ground for an invasion of the entire Five Duchies, and Minalan is all that stands in their way. There is also a jealous rival mage, a liege lord with a delusion that victory is in hand despite hordes at the door, a motley group of mercenaries, a pregnant girlfriend and a catty ex-girlfriend whose specialty is sex magic. All of whom are trapped inside a besieged and stinking castle. There is no hope of rescue inside, and it will be soon obvious why Minalan would rather take his chances with the goblins.

The only thing that stands between the people of the Five Duchies and the gurvani horde is just a exhausted and overwhelmed baker’s son that wants nothing more than to just be an average spellmonger.

“Warmage” is the second novel in the “Spellmonger” series, which was released in the year 2012. The Goblin Invasion has begun and a wizard has never completed his work. After facing a siege, an unbeatable foe, and making an impossible getaway, you would think that Minalan would have some time to rest, at some point. The armies of Shereul (the undead goblin shaman, known as the Dead God by his human victims) are destroying the Duchy of Alshar’s western reaches and is moving towards Duchy of Castal’s heart.

Many flee for their lives while hordes of goblins are pouring out of Boval Vale and are laying doom and destruction down on the rugged fiefs of Alshair Wilderlands. The Dead God’s shamans are making defense of the realm near impossible for the outnumbered knights of Alshari country.

While a pair of Dukes play feudal politics so they can further their ends, it appears that only Minalan and his outlaw warmagi friends care about the invasion. They have been busy trying to dodge the sinister agents of the Royal Censorate of Magic. If someone does not set up an army in northern Alshar quickly, there is going to be nothing that stops the Dead God’s divinely powered armies from conquering all five Duchies in his quest for revenge.

Minalan would like nothing more than for the Dukes to care of it, but his conscience will not allow it. Somebody has to stop the Dead God, and it seems it has to be him. Beyond all the goblins and trolls, mercenaries and magic, there is only the thought that his kid is going to be born with all kinds of dangers in the world. That is not something that he can permit.

“Magelord” is the third novel in the “Spellmonger” series, which was released in the year 2013. When you beat the invading goblin army, you get knighted on the battlefield, gifted with gold and lands, and usually the result is a happily ever after. Now that Minalan has been enfiefed and ennobled, he has a task made for him that makes beating the goblins seem easy. Moving many refugees and his pregnant bride from Boval Vale to the sparsely populated and remote Domain of Sevendor.

He gets there the land has withered from neglect, a third of his realm has been conquered, and the place is filled with suspicion and superstition. The caste he owns now has gone decades since its last maintenance. Minalan starts managing the challenge of being a noble, a knight, and the lord of a manor, a landlord. He also has to fend off a well-armed and belligerent neighbor, as well as a father, husband and a leader.

His son is born, and Minalan learns what real fear is as his family, he, and his realm are transformed forever when he casts a spell to protect his realm and it changes the land.

The threat of a renewed war against the goblins hovers on the horizon while the get close to the Riverlands.

How will Sire Minalan be able to battle poverty, plots, politics, goblins, all from this rustic and remote vale while making sure the peasants stay in line and ensure the Warbird of West Fleria is kept at bay? With determination, wit, and courage, as well as healthy doses of magic. The new King gives him the task to figure out how to kill a dragon. An average knight might just shy away from this mission. But for Minalan, it is yet another day working as a Magelord.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Spellmonger

Leave a Reply