Book Notification

Spike Sanguinetti Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Spike Sanguinetti Books

Shadow of the Rock (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sign of the Cross (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hollow Mountain (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sleeping Dogs (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Thousand Cuts (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Spike Sanguinetti Series
Spike Sanguinetti is a mystery series by Thomas Mogford. The series follows Spike Sanguinetti, a debonair yet troubled lawyer. Spike complicates his life when he agrees to help a friend who is accused of murder. While he finally uncovers the truth, the case leaves him a little shaken, and with a few enemies on his trail. Spike later loses his relatives, reconnects with a past flame, and is forced to care more for his ailing father. This series will expose you to Spike’s professional and personal life. While this lawyer tries to keep out of trouble, there is never a dull moment in his life.

Shadow of the Rock
Shadow of the Rock is the first book in the Spike Sanguinetti series. The series stars Spike Sanguinetti, a tax lawyer who gets thrown into a world of murderous lies after offering to help a friend. Spike comes home in Gibraltar one night to find his old school friend, Solomon Hassan, waiting by his doorstep. Solomon is on the run after being accused of murdering his boss’s stepdaughter Esperanza. After swearing by his innocence, Hassan requests Spike to help him avoid extradition. Spike wants to help, but it has been four years since he handled a criminal case, and he is not confident he can handle this complicated situation. However, when Spike offers to help Hassan get another lawyer, he is adamant that he wants his old school friend to help him.
Spike goes to Tangiers, hoping to delay the arrest. When Spike meets Solomon’s boss, Nadeer, he gets an even more attractive offer. Nadeer wants Spike to delay Solomon’s trial until a pending deal is signed. In return, Nadeer promises to persuade the Tangiers Governor to bury the demand for extradition. Things get even more complicated when Spike meets a Bedouin girl named Zahra, investigating her father’s disappearance. According to Zahra, all her research leads her to Dunetech, the company that Solomon works for. Spike also learns that Zahra was seen urging with Esperanza before she was murdered. Could the girl’s claim be true? Does Solomon know anything about the nefarious scheme that his employer is linked to?

This is a gripping story that follows Spike through his investigations. The more the lawyer uncovers the truth, the deeper he gets into a dangerous world characterized by corruption, secrets, and murderous lies. Spike cannot shake the feeling that Solomon is not entirely honest, and it doesn’t take him long to start seeing the inconsistencies in his stories. Could Solomon be guilty of killing his boss’s stepdaughter, or is he simply a victim of circumstances? What does Spike uncover about Dunetech and whatever happened to the girl’s father?

Shadow of the Rock not only comes with an intriguing mystery but also the protagonist is taken out of his comfort zone. Spike starts questioning how much he knows about Solomon immediately; he begins uncovering the lies. Once the truth starts coming out, it is all a rush to the finish line as Spike rushes to bring the killers to book while doing everything possible to safeguard his life. Follow Spike through his adventures, and you can be sure that there will be no dull moments. The story flows well, and the rising tension will keep you glued to the pages to the end.

Signs of the Cross
Signs of the Cross is the second book in the Spike Sanguinetti series. The book opens with the horrific death of Spikes Maltese’s aunt and uncle. Just when life has started getting back to normal after his last case, Spike learns about his uncle and aunt’s murder-suicide. It is said that this started as a domestic dispute, and things quickly got out of hand. Spike and his aging father have to cross the Mediterranean to bury their kin in Malta. Also, the duty of executing the wills fall on Spike, given that he is the family’s lawyer. Everything about this trip makes Spike look deeper into his uncle and aunt’s death.
What prompted his uncle, a gentle art historian, to kill his wife and later turn the same knife to himself? The more Spike thinks about these senseless deaths, the more he cannot stop thinking that there is more to the story. His father’s health is also getting worse, and Spike believes that he could also suffer from the hereditary disease ailing his father. Zahra reapers in Spike’s life, which brings some light into his rather dark life. However, this doesn’t last long as Zahra’s life and other female migrants are in great danger. Spike will also get more heartbroken as he uncovers more details about his relatives’ deaths.

There are two central mysteries in this book, and Spike is going to be involved in solving them both. As the stories roll out, the author will also be depicting the plight of women who seek to migrate to other countries with the hope of bettering their lives. The setting, which includes both the location and atmosphere, is another compelling facet of this story. It is fun following Spike through Malta’s exotic destinations, rich cultures, and varied history. The author will also let us into Spike’s life and allow the reader to see the various things he struggles with. Will Spike be in a position to resolve his relative’s murder, help the immigrants, and keep Zahra out of harm’s way? What about his father and his deteriorating health?
Signs of the Cross builds on the strength of Shadow of the Rock. While this second book is subtly different, it is just as enthralling as the first book in this series. The book is fast-paced from the first page, and the numerous twists along the way will leave you glued on your seat. It is hard to anticipate how the story will end, but you can be sure that it will leave you frantically searching for the next book in the series. If you are a fun of crime-mystery stories, you will love this book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Spike Sanguinetti

Leave a Reply