Book Notification

Spires Universe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Spires Universe Books

“Spires” series by Alexis Hall
Author Alexis Hall pens the “Spires” series of erotica romance novels. The series began publication in the year 2013, when “Glitterland” was released.

Alexis feels that even contemporary set romance tales, at least to some extent, each take place in imagined worlds. Even though they might not be direct sequels to one another, his contemporary romances often have overlapping settings, characters, and ideas. “Spires” is how he refers to this collection of thematically connected but otherwise stand alone stories.

“Glitterland” is the first novel from the “Spires” series and was released in the year 2013. This novel stars Ash Winters and Darian Taylor. The universe is only a glitterball that is held in the palm of Ash’s hand.

Ash Winters, once the golden boy of the English literary scene, and now a clinically depressed writer of pulp crime fiction, has given up on hope, love, happiness, and (most of all) himself. He lives his life between the cycles of his illness, and is haunted by the ghosts of other people’s expectations.

Then, one chance encounter at a stag party tosses him into the arms of Darian Taylor, an Essex boy and an aspiring model that lives in a world made up of fashion shows, hair gel, and fake tans. Darian, by his own admission, is not the crispest bit of lettuce in the fridge, however he cooks a mean cottage pie and makes Ash laugh, which reminds him of what it is like to step beyond the boundaries of anxiety.

However, Ash has been living in his shadow for so very long that he cannot see past the glitter and into the light. Could a man that does not trust himself ever trust in happiness? And how could a man that does not believe in happiness ever battle for his own?

Darian is a very lovable character, as he is endearing, charmingly goofy, and is filled with a zest for life, heart, and compassion.

“Aftermath” is the first novella from the “Spires” series and was released in the year 2013. One moment of homecoming for Darian and Ash.

Just after the events of Glitterland, Darian ad Ash go back to Ash’s flat and explore all of the things that have changed and the things that have stayed the same.

“Waiting for the Flood” is the second novel in the “Spires” series and was released in the year 2015. This novel stars Edwin Tully and Adam Dacre. People come and they go. Twelve years prior, Edwin Tully arrived at Oxford and he fell in love with this boy named Marius. He was an artist and brilliant. It was going to last forever. Two years back, it ended.

Now Edwin is living alone in the house that they used to share. He works on damaged books and some faded memories, attempting to build a future from the fragments from the past. The weather turns, and the river starts to spill into Edwin’s peaceful world, bringing with it Adam Dacre from the Environment Agency. This stranger, who is an unlikely knight with his roughened hands and worn wellingtons, however he offers Edwin the chance of something he believed that he would never get again.

While the two men start to grow closer in their struggle against these rising waters, Edwin discovers that he cannot keep himself safe from everything. And sometimes he does not need to try.

Fans of the novel enjoyed the real life characters and the vivid and dense atmosphere, which has been crafted so subtly and wrapping all around you. Alexis’ choice of words is tremendous, style of writing is magnificent.

“For Real” is the third novel in the “Spires” series and was released in the year 2015. This novel stars Laurence Dalziel and Toby Finch. Laurence Dalziel has become washed up and worn down, the BDSM scene is all but played out now. Six years after his prior relationship, he is pushing forty now and tired of going through the motions of submission.

Then he meets a nineteen year old who is vulnerable, fierce, and fearless. His name is Toby Finch. He is everything that Laurie cannot remember being. Toby doesn’t know quite who he wants to be or that he wants Laurie. What he wants is him down on his knees. Toby wants to make him hurt, and wants to make him beg. He wants to make him fall in love.

Trouble is, while Laurie is willing to surrender his body, he is unwilling to surrender his heart. Because Toby is too intense, much too easy to hurt, and too young. And what they have, no matter just how right it feels, cannot last. It cannot mean anything, nor can it be real.

“Pansies” is the fourth novel in the “Spires” series and was released in the year 2016. This novel stars Alfie Bell and Fen. Alfie Bell is just fine. He has a penthouse in Canary Wharf, a six-figure salary, the car that he swore he would buy by age of eighteen, and a ton of fancy London friends.

It is rough, however, going back to South Shields now that they know he is a fully paid-up pansy. It is the last place he is expecting to pull. However Fen is beautiful, with his hipster glasses, full of the kind of courage that Alfie has never had before, and pink-tipped hair. It should just be a one-night thing, however Alfie has not met anybody like Fen before now.

But he has, actually. At school, when Alfie was everything that he was supposed to be, and Fen was the stubborn young gay boy that would not keep his down. Now it is a proper mess: Fen may have slept with Alfie, however he probably won’t ever forgive him, and Fen has all this other stuff happening in his life anyway, what with his mam and her flower shop and the life that he left behind down south.

Alfie only wants to make it right. However, how can he, when the only things they have in common is that nowhere town that they both ran away from?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Spires Universe

Leave a Reply