Book Notification

Spooksville Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Spooksville Books

The Secret Path (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Howling Ghost (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Haunted Cave (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aliens in the Sky (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cold People (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch's Revenge (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Corner (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Little People (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wishing Stone (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wicked Cat (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Deadly Past (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hidden Beast (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creature in the Teacher / Alien Invasion (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Evil House (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Invasion of the No-Ones (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time Terror (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thing in the Closet (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Attack of the Killer Crabs (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of the Vampire (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dangerous Quest (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return of the Dead (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Living Dead (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Creepy Creature (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phone Fear (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch's Gift (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Christopher Pike was born in New York in 1955 but grew up in California attending college before dropping out. His debut into writing features books revolving around science fiction and mystery but later got into teen thrillers. He also wrote various children books in which the book series Spooksville features. The book Spooksville was first published in 1985

Spooksville is an American novel series constituting of 24 books that are chronological but differ in relevance. The books center around friends living in a mysterious town known as Spooksville that hosts an array of supernatural and unexplained happenings. The books unveil a push and full for the characters leaving them at a loss to explore the town’s dark side or to escape the impending dangers that come with the exploration. The books also have a science fiction side revolving around the controversial extra-terrestrial life, time travel, interstellar travel, inter-dimensional travel and the stories of lost continents. Though the books vary regarding relevance, various characters, places, and themes recur throughout the series.

The main characters of the series are five foes; Sarah, the realist who views the world as it is without bias making and basing her decisions on the logical terms she is often perceived as a pessimist.She is important as she predicts horrible ends to the group. Watch the brains, is the “genius” of the group putting together the various pieces of the puzzle to make out the mysteries of the supernatural world in which the story is centered and his comprehensive knowledge on fundamental subjects key to his role. Adam Freeman, the leader, is relatively new to Spooksville leads the gang calling the shots in the group making the tough decisions.These characters are consistent throughout the series. Bryce Poole comes in as the series progresses getting more and more involved and eventually fitting into the group. He is the great protector of the earth who deals with major global emergencies. Cindy Makey appears in the second sequel to complete the group. She is new to Spooksville after her family moves in to her father’s home after his death.

Characters frequently reoccurring include; Ann Templeton playing the town witch and gives the gang advice on how to fight evil in their conquest. Bum is the outgoing mayor and he helps the group in their various quests. Mr. Patton is a friend of the gang owning an army surplus store from which he supply’s the group with heavy duty weapons. George Sanders is a cowardly boy who also helps the group in various instances such as when Mr. Sankol is about to take over the earth.Tria Jones is a hundred year old granny in the body of a twelve year old girl made so by possession by a No-One making her immortal.

No show is complete without the villains that make bring the conflict to the story. Some of the villains featuring in the series include; Alternate Ann Templeton, the evil version of Ann Temlpleton, Mrs. Robinson is an elderly ogaraphobe who strikes her victims, the Hyeets, Ekwee12’s teachers, the cold people, Kalandor, the Pterodactyl, the Tyrannosaurus Rex, Mr. Snakrol, Marvin the Magnificent, No-ones, The Shadows, The Killer Crabs, The Queen of the vampires, the XH and Neerit.

In the first book of this series “The Secret Path”; the main character Adam Freeman moves to Spooksville and befriends a neighbor Sarah, who explains the ominous nature of the town and gives Adam a site seeing trip of town. She gives Adam the story of the town explaining the supernatural forces believed to be acting upon the town and local mythologies surrounding the town such as the movie theater owned by an undertaker , the oceans flooding with sharks. Adam is doubtful of the claims until he meets with Ann Templeton, a witch who Adam likes but is warned not trust. As they venture, they meet with Watch, a boy who was promised by Bum that he will help him find a way to the secret path. He unveils the way to the so said ‘secret path’ by using a riddle. They decipher the riddle by discovering that they were visit places that are significant in to the life of Melidine Templeton, the founder of Spookesville.They embark on these areas until they arrive at tomb in which they have to uncover the mystery behind finding the secret path since the tomb is the gateway. Watch gets lost in the fracas the others have to enter the path to find him. Adam and Sally appear in an alternate timeline of Spooksville and journey to their various houses. Sally’s house is destroyed by a big tree whereas Adam’s is infested with giant spiders. Adam is captured by a black knight and found himself chained alongside Watch where they are forced to give up Sally’s position by an alternate Ann, but they refuse. Sally shows up and saves them by knocking over an hour glass thought to be the source of Ann’s power.Immediately she knocks it over a huge earthquake starts, and they are somehow they are able to make an epic escape.

The howling ghost is the second book in the series of Spooksville.Cindy, the main protagonist, is introduced through her brother Neil. Neil is playing with Cindy when the ghost appears and takes Neil away. She is left to explain that a ghost captured him, but everyone turns a blind eye and assumes that the boy drowned. Cindy is left heartbroken and alone until Sally reads of the incident on the paper and being a believer in ghosts convinces the rest of the gang showing them the prospect of an adventure, so they go to Cindy and promise her help. They soon find out that they are not dealing with any ordinary ghost but a big nasty stubborn ghost that has sworn to turn them into ghosts other than give Neil back. After thorough investigation, they find the boy at a lighthouse given to him by his father who had just died. The ghost who was a woman had lost her son at sea but as it turns out her son had washed up at shore and grew up as his father’s son with no memory of her past. His father gave him the pendant. Knowing that her son was alive the ghost ,rests and stops haunting the citizens of Spooksville.

Christopher combines all the aspects of writing to keep the reader wanting more. Indeed, this book series is one of the best writings of Christopher Pike.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Spooksville

Leave a Reply