Book Notification

Stephanie Chalice Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Stephanie Chalice Books

Don't Close Your Eyes (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ransom Beach (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Brain Vault (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Honored Dead (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baby Girl Doe (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Compromised (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of the Ashes (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Making Her Bones (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Righteous Collars (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Stephanie Chalice Mysteries is one of the bestselling series of novels by Lawrence Kelter. He has over the years been able to make a unique space for him with some great books which continue to linger in the minds of his readers even though they could have been written long time ago. Lawrence was born and raised in Brooklyn and is now residing in Long Island. He basically is from New York. Hence it is quite understandable when we come across his books featuring Manhattan and Long Island as the backdrops. He has over the years written three novels and each one of the novels features the extremely smart and street savvy detective Stephanie Chalice. The three books which have been written by him include Don’t Close Your Eyes, the latest one The Brain Vault. Prior to this he has written Ransom Beach. Each of these books is unique and has caught the attention and imagination of scores of writers and a few books also have received some critical acclaim. It would be pertinent to mention that when he was in his early days of novel writing, he got lot of help and tips from his friend Nelson DeMile who was a well-known writer having penned some bestselling novels. He also had a role to play in helping Stephanie Chalice Mysteries (Series by Lawrence Kelter) to get off to a good start as a writer.

It would also be pertinent to mention here that Lawrence was also a member of a small but popular private writing workshop where he had the habit of sharing his thoughts and tips to willing listeners. This workshop was led by the famous and legendary Ann Loring who was the AFTRA President. He certainly has a very unique and different style of writing. All his novels are extremely fast paced, exciting and are known for an ending which is least expected. Hence you can certainly expect a lot of surprises as far as the last few pages of his novels are concerned. This is perhaps one of the main reasons why he has become so very popular amongst a group of writers. The fact that he also has received critical acclaim for a few of his works goes to prove that his books were no flash in the pan but were the result of well researched and well presented plots with some unusual ending.

We will now try and have a look at two of his books so that readers can get a fair idea about his style of writing and how wonderfully and effortlessly he is able to weave through the plot and intersperse them with sudden and unexpected events which would take the readers totally by surprise. His first book was written in the year 2005 and the last booked penned by him hit the stands in February 2012.

Kiss Of The Devils

The story revolves around Mango (Frank Mango to be precise) who was once known as Marlow. He is a detective but is known for doing his job the old fashioned and conventional way. In today’s age of gadgets, gizmos and computers it certainly would not impress many and therefore he certainly was never in the race to be a hero. However he has a job to do. He has to find out the mystery behind two dead bodies which have been discarded long time back in the Sunset Strip. Both these persons were aspiring actors and they were women who had ambition fueled by talent. This is certainly a great trait in a town where people have the habit of pulling everybody down, calling them names and when they are down and out, they are dumped along the road side. In such a scenario who would be too bothered about the death of two ordinary women. The Academy Awards were just a few days away and there are powerful interests who would like to push these murders under the carpet, at least till such time the Oscar functions are over. However, since do not work this way, especially after the mysterious disappearance of a third woman. The killer, presumably working with a sniper rifle has to be identified and he might have plans to spill some more blood in the red carpet rolled out for the Oscars. Our detective Stephanie does not have much of time and he has to get going with his back to the wall. Yes, he is a no-nonsense guy though old fashioned. How does it go from here? That is what this book is all about.

The Brain Vault

The characters which make up this book certainly are scary and perhaps even nauseating. You have a forensic expert who is not in the best of his mental faculties. Then you suddenly have a skull which is sterilized and other such frightening things popping out of nowhere. Readers certainly can expect to have a lot of unexpected twists and turns because of the criminal mind who is behind the scene. This certainly is a challenging assignment for Chalice. He has no other option but to become a madman himself to try and identify the killer. His services are sought when an unconscious man is found in Central Park. The man, John Doe by name, is barely alive and he only has a bed sheet on him. He also is suffering from a ghastly wound which is well and truly life threatening. There are scars all around his body. The most shocking thing is that he has a tapestry which talks about his history as a victim who has undergone torture of the worst kind. As though this is not enough there is a human skull which is lying a few inches away. Chalice has to work on just two leads which are available to him. One is skull that has been sterilized and with hardly any evidence. The next is this witness who is almost in a complete comatose stage. This certainly is a tough and dangerous case to crack even for the brightest and best NYPD cps. Will Chalice be able to deliver on this? Read the book and your find the answer.

The above two books will certainly give a small idea about the ferocity with which Chalice handles all the plots and why readers find it difficult to put down the book once they have started reading it.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Stephanie Chalice Mysteries

Leave a Reply