Book Notification

Stephanie Morrill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Reinvention Of Skylar Hoyt Books

Me, Just Different (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out with the In Crowd (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
So Over It (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ellie Sweet Books

The Revised Life of Ellie Sweet (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unlikely Debut of Ellie Sweet (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Lost Girl of Astor Street (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Within These Lines (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Go Teen Writers (With: Jill Williamson) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Within These Lines Educator's Guide (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Stephanie Morrill is a young adult and inspirational fiction author from Overland Park, Kansas. She writes coming to age novels about girls on a journey to find their special place in the world. In addition to her flagship “Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt” series, she has also written contemporary young adult series such as the “Ellie Sweet” series. She is also the author of the single standing novels “The Lost Girl of Astor Street” and “Within These Lines.” Since 2010, Stephanie has been involved in mentoring aspiring authors and provides material resources for writing at her website. She lives in Kansas City with her husband and three children and when she is not writing she loves to cook, read, and take trips to the southwest or Lake Tahoe.

Stephanie has always wanted to become an author ever since she was a first-grader. She got a lot of encouragement from her elementary school that provided writing time. The teachers also offered the freedom for learners to write on whatever took their fancy. Once they had written their stories, a parent would volunteer to type and then print the stories for them. However, they were free to pick their own binding and covers. They were also free to illustrate their stories and then read it to the class. Morrill was not so good with the drawings but she loved writing and knew that she wanted to become an author from that time. When she was in high school, she got serious about becoming a professional author and started sending her manuscripts to publishers. She never expected to get published soon but kept on sending her manuscripts in envelopes to publishers and hoped for the best. She clearly had a lot to learn but she did not have any contacts in the publishing world. While she wrote a lot, she never even knew that her manuscripts were young adult fiction since this was the time before online writing communities and writing blogs. She was thus doing everything wrong right from the start.

In her early twenties, she started attending conferences and this marked a huge departure from how she was doing things. It was from these conferences that she made a lot of writer friends and met her first agent. The idea for the “Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt” series started with the lead of the series Skylar. She needed to make an exploration of a life of what many teenagers would deem perfect. She thus made the character an exotically beautiful, confident and wealthy girl who still wants something more from life. She thought a lot about what it would take to make a teenager turn away from all that perfection to pursue God and in the process was born a reinvented Skylar Hoyt. In 2008 she sold “The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt” series to the Revell Publishing House with the first novel of the series “Me Just Different” published in 2009. In 2013 she released “The Revised Life of Ellie Sweet” the first novel of the “Ellie Sweet” series before she published “Go Teen Writers” her first non-fiction work that was a guide on the publishing process in 2013. Soon after, her son was diagnosed with epilepsy and she decided not to take a break from writing as she was not in the right frame of mind to write. Since she was just spinning her wheels, a friend advised her to take time off while she planned her next move. She landed upon the idea for “The Lost Girl of Astor Street” several months later. It was her first historical mystery and it took quite a while but she finally got it published in 2017.

“Me, Just Different” the first novel of “The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt” series by Stephanie Morrill introduces Skylar Hoyt the lead. Skylar has everything she ever wanted and seems to have a perfect life but she is not so sure she wants it anymore. She leads a popular troupe of girls, has the cutest boyfriend in school, and with her exotic Hawaiian looks, it could not have been better. She is wondering if any of it matters anymore until she has too much to drink at a party and escapes disaster by a whisker. She decides that it is time to go back to the straight and narrow but then her family is engulfed in crisis and she thinks that she may have left it too late. Her parents’ marriage is under serious strain and her little sister has a terrible secret that could be the end of their life as they know it. Further complicating matters is the fact that the only person that could help and understand her is the man she does not want to like or talk to. He is the boyfriend to her best friend who may very well not be when all is said and done. She is finding it so hard to change and wonders why life has to be so hard.

Stephanie Morrill’s “Out with the In Crowd” opens to Skylar now back in school for the final term and things just got a little awkward. She had believed that once she committed her life to God, she would have an easier time but everything seems to have become harder. For one, she is now expected to be friends with some people she had long since ceased to be friends with and even hated. One that she especially disliked was the one that had been trying to steal her boyfriend and had once been her best friend. She is also taking care of her pregnant little sister and she does not seem to have any time for the said boyfriend. Meanwhile, her parents’ marriage just got worse and they are now in a continuing meltdown and a major separation is looming and she does not know how to cope. The novel drags one deep into the life and heart of the lead as the author writes with an emotional depth that makes one want to sit down and examine their life.

“So Over It” by Stephanie Morrill is the last of “The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt” trilogy. Skylar has had one of her roughest years and there is nothing she wants more that get away from it all. She wants to do nothing with Jodi her best friend that had pretended to change only to get closer to her boyfriend. She also wanted to be away from her boyfriend Connor that had decided to go with Jodi over her. Meanwhile, Eli was trying to get her back into a life of partying and that is not what she wanted to do. Skylar had accepted the invitation once upon a time but now she has a chance of making a new life in Kansas where she can refocus. Once she is back, she believes that she would have gotten over all of them and would be an independent girl. But nothing is as easy as it seems and maybe what she needs to do is to learn to not forget but forgive and forget. It is a great story that teaches that sometimes opening up can be the answer rather than leaving. Skylar needs to face up to what she is avoiding if she is to heal.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Stephanie Morrill

Leave a Reply