Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Stephanie Plum Books In Order

Publication Order of Stephanie Plum Books

One for the Money (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Two for the Dough (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Three to Get Deadly (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Four to Score (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
High Five (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hot Six (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Seven Up (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hard Eight (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Visions of Sugar Plums (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
To the Nines (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ten Big Ones (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Eleven on Top (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Twelve Sharp (2006) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plum Lovin' (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lean Mean Thirteen (2007) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plum Lucky (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fearless Fourteen (2008) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Plum Spooky (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Finger Lickin' Fifteen (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sizzling Sixteen (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Smokin' Seventeen (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Explosive Eighteen (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Notorious Nineteen (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Takedown Twenty (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Top Secret Twenty-One (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tricky Twenty-Two (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Turbo Twenty-Three (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hardcore Twenty-Four (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Look Alive Twenty-Five (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

About Stephanie Plum:

Stephanie Taylor Plum, most professionally known as Stephanie Plum, is an American novelist who writes contemporary detective fiction. She has actually had quite a struggle as a writer over the years, a fact that she is very open about but is not always well known. She is a great example of a hard working writer who struggled for years to succeed before finally honing her skills enough that publisher’s could not say no to the books that she was churning out.

Stephanie Plum was born in Louisville, Kentucky. She is the daughter of another novelist, C. W. Grafton. At first she went to college at University of Louisville, but she only stayed there for one year before moving to Western Kentucky University (which was Western Kentucky State Teachers College at the time that she was there). She finally graduated from a third university, University of Louisville in 1961 with a Bachelor’s Degree. For a number of years after graduating college she worked menial jobs while she worked on novels.

She first started writing when she was 18 years old, and by the time she was 22 she had a completed novel to work with. She didn’t stop with that one novel and instead wrote a total of seven manuscripts during this period of her life; unfortunately, only two of these were ever picked up by a publisher. Her trouble with finding publisher’s that liked her manuscripts eventually caused her to turn to screenwriting instead. Here she could write for TV and focus on adapting other stories, a career that turned out to be quite successful for her.

Stephanie Plum spent fifteen years in this industry, most notably adapting stories like the Agatha Christie novels A Caribbean Mystery and Sparkling Cyanide to television. This was a very lucrative path for Stephanie Plum and helped her to continue to refine her writing style while making a regular income. It was partly because of her extensive work as a screenwriter that helped her develop as a writer to the point that she could write the books that she wanted to write and have genuine success with them.

As she continued to write for the screen she realized that she had a fascination with the type of novel series that uses a play on words for a recurring theme. She thought that it would be exciting to write a series of books that were focused on each letter of the alphabet. She actually sat down and brainstormed all of the crime, mystery, thriller, and detective themed words that she could think of that started with each letter of the alphabet. This way she would have plenty of themes and subjects to work with as she began to flesh out her series.

This series became extremely successful, and as she continued to write them she was able to resign from her position as a screenwriter and focus full time on her work as a mystery thriller writer with a series of books that themed around the alphabet.

The Alphabet Series

Stephanie Plum’s Alphabet Series centers around the work of detective Kinsey Millhone, who works in the fictional town based on Santa Barbara, California. The novels that she writes in this series all take place in the 1980s, because this was the time period when Grafton first started crafting them. As she obviously couldn’t write novels as quickly as real life passes by, she has continued to produce stories that fall within this time period even into present day.

Kinsey Millhone’s strange first name is actually her mother’s maiden name, which she decides to take on as her own first name. As a part of Kinsey’s rough past, her parents were killed right before her eyes when they died in a car crash. Kinsey Millhone was stuck in the car for hours afterward until she was finally rescued. Even in her youth, she was a bit of a rebel and was known for smoking pot and defying authority. After later on becoming a cop, she quits to work in insurance investigation, and then eventually become a private investor; private investigating clearly proves to be the best path for a loose canon detective with Kinsey Millhone’s unique style.

1. A is for Alibi – this is the first book in the Alphabet Series starring Kinsey Millhone. The story begins with the death of a prominent divorce lawyer, Lawrence Fife. Because of his extreme ruthlessness that he unleashes on behalf of his clients, he is hardly missed by most – in fact, he is known as a serious hard case. His young, beautiful wife is accused of the murder and serves hard time for her conviction. Eight years later she is released from prison and immediately contacts Kinsey Millhone, because she wants to find out who the real killer is.

2. B is for Burglar – the second book in the Alphabet Series, follows Beverly Danziger, who hires Kinsey Millhone because of her sister Elaine who has gone missing. Both Beverly and Elaine seemed wealthy enough that this couldn’t just be a matter of settling a will of a few paltry grand in money. Millhone takes the case, investigating what has happened to Elaine, who owns a condo in Boca Raton and is known for waltzing around in an expensive fur coat worth thousands of dollars. Something isn’t right about all of this, and Millhone plans on getting to the bottom of it – hopefully with the help of her newest client, Beverly Danziger. The story involves a house burned down, a woman who is murdered, and a missing lynx coat.

3. C is for Corpse – the third book in this serial thriller about Kinsey Millhone. This time its a young kid, maybe as young as twenty years old and dead – covered in scars. Kinsey Millhone found herself approached by Bobby Callahan, who simply needed someone to find out what had happened to his best friend. Kinsey takes on the case, determined to figure out what happened to the poor kid. However, as the plot twists, three days after hiring her, Bobby Callahan winds up dead. Kinsey Millhone isn’t the type to back down on a deal, she was hired to find a killer, and decides to continue anyway.

Stephanie Plum is still writing stories in the Alphabet Series. The most recent published story is W is for Wasted.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Stephanie Plum