Book Notification

Stephen Attebrook Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Stephen Attebrook Mystery Books

The Wayward Apprentice (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baynard's List (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dreadful Penance (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl in the Ice (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saint Milburga's Bones (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Money (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bear Wagon (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Broadstowe Manor (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Corpse at Windsor Bridge (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burned Man (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Missing (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Curious Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bag of Bones (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Richest Man in Town (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
There was a Crooked Man (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Stephen Attebrook book series is an exciting series of historical fiction, mystery, crime fiction, suspense, and thriller novels. It is written by a popular British novelist named Jason Vail. The series is comprised of 6 books in total, published between 2010 and 2016. Each and every novel in this historical fiction series features the lead protagonist in the role of Stephen Attebrook. Jason Vail has described Stephen Attebrook as crippled knight. He lives a quiet life in a small town called Ludlow facing ruin and poverty. When he gets an opportunity to work as a deputy coroner, Stephen Attebrook takes it with both hands in order to have a means to earn livelihood. Throughout the course of the series, Attebrook is seen indulging in a number of cases of intrigue and murder mystery. He is assisted in the investigations by Gilbert Wistwode, his innkeeper and clerk. The stories of each of the books are set in the 13th century, specifically in the year 1262. In addition to Stephen Attebrook and Gilbert Wistwode, Jason Vail has mentioned numerous other important characters in the series such as King Henry, Simon de Montfort, Ademar de Valence, Llywelyn Gruffydd, Harry, Perceival FitzAllan, Prince Edward, Geoffrey Randall, etc. The stories’ plots take place in Ludlow and in places in and around England and Wales.

Jason Vail is a reputed author of historical fiction stories. He is well known for writing the Stephen Attebrook and the Lone Star Rising series, as well as the stand-alone novel called The Outlaws. Jason is also a trained martial artist. He uses his expertise in martial arts to create excellent mystery stories having realistic action scenes of martial arts. Prior to taking up writing as a full time career, Jason Vail was involved in providing martial arts training in jujutsu, wrestling, karate, mixed martial arts, boxing, and judo. Jason has been a student of the historical martial arts of Europe since 2001. He is focused on studying about the combat techniques described in the fighting manuals from the 14th century. Jason Vail believes that these techniques are very useful in the modern self-defense. An outcome of his study is the book called Medieval & Renaissance DAgger Combat. The Paladin Press is its publisher.

A very exciting book of the Stephan Attebrook series written by author Jason Vail is entitled ‘Baynard’s List’. It was released in 2011. This book’s setting is done in 1262 in England and the primary characters are mentioned as Stephen Attebrook, Simon Montfort, King Henry, Ademar Valence, etc. The plot opens by describing the month of October in Ludlow as usually a quiet month. As the end of summer nears, people start preparing for the hard days of winter. But, the October of 1262 turns out to be an unusual one. A game of spying is triggered and a valuable list goes missing. This list is believed to have the names of the secret supporters of the rivals, Simon Montfort and King Henry. With the murder of the master spy of King Henry in England’s west, the news of the disappearance of the highly important list spreads in the public. Now, whoever possesses the list has the advantage of having an upper hand in the upcoming open war. As a result, the situation has turned chaotic. Ademar Valence is an ambitious and grasping crown justice from northern Herfordshire. He is also the former master of part time deputy coroner Stephen Attebrook.

Ademar Valene orders Stephen Attebrook to go on the trail of the list and find it as soon as possible. As the order has come directly from his former master, Stephen Attebrook has no option but to accept it. But, he doesn’t realize that by agreeing to go after the disappeared list he has landed himself in a web of intrigue, betrayal, and murder. Being a secrets’ discoverer, Attebrook faces the greatest challenge of his life. He races against time to obtain the missing list before it gets in the wrong hands. While he is out to find the list, someone very close to him faces the danger of losing his life. Along with describing an intriguing mystery, author Vail has also described the sounds, sensations, and sights of England of the 13th century. The depictions of the different elements in the story by Jason Vail are so unique and interesting that they have not been depicted by anyone else before him. This allowed the book to become a huge success in all the places of its release.

Another mind blowing book of this mystery series is called ‘The Girl in the Ice’ The Hawk Publishing published this book in 2013. It is comprised of the central characters as Llwelyn Gruffydd, Harry, Gilbert Wistwode, and Stephen Attebrook. At the book’s start, December of 1262 is depicted as the harshest in England’s history. Several terrible blizzards take place in England, and the blunt of these strikes is faced by a borderland town located between Wales and England called March. The entire town gets soaked in blood. A major effect of the blizzards ordered by Llwelyn Gruffydd results in the moving back of the Welsh to their fortresses. Other than this little respite, it is still a difficult time for the people of March as they have to deal with misery, suffering, death, etc. The sensible people begin to shiver with the consequences of the huge fires in their homes. There is no official count of the number of deaths because no one knows exactly how many people died that day. Later, a beggar named Harry comes across the frozen dead body of a beautiful girl on Christmas Day. He discovers her covered under the snow on the path leading to Ludlow’s Saint Laurence Church.

An investigation is set up to establish the identity of the dead girl. But, no one in the town seems to have any idea about who the girl is. She was not seen by anyone before. The condition in which her body was found, it looks like she was brutally murdered by someone. As the murder had happened at the time of the blizzards, it becomes clear that the murderer had taken advantage of the chaos and killed an innocent girl. Stephen Attebrook is compelled to get to the bottom of this murder mystery and catch the ones responsible for it. However, he didn’t realize that the path is going to be a very difficult one for him. Especially when the investigation makes him arrive in the territory of his greatest enemy, Perceival FitzAllan. Along with carrying out the investigation, Stephen Attebrook is required to play a side role in the ongoing shadow war between the dedicated supporters of the rebel Simon Montfort and Henry III.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Stephen Attebrook

Leave a Reply