Book Notification

Steve Goble Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ed Runyon Books

Publication Order of Spider John Mysteries Books

The Bloody Black Flag (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil's Wind (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bottle of Rum (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pieces of Eight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Return of the Sword(2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demons: A Clash of Steel Anthology(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
While the Morning Stars Sing(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Steve Goble

Steve Goble is a mystery writer best known for his debut novel The Bloody Black Flag. The book has thrown Goble to the limelight, making him one of the best fiction writers who have delved into the pirates’ world. The fact that he also incorporates historical events makes his work sound more real than your average fiction story. Goble reads widely, and he accredits his writing to his love for reading. Before he started writing, Goble had read numerous works of fiction from a young age.

The Bloody Black Flag

The Bloody Black Flag is the first book in the Spider John Mystery. The story features Spider John Rush, a reluctant pirate who is forced into the pirate world by circumstances. Rush boards a pirate ship in 1722, albeit reluctantly, and joins others on a voyage to the American Colonial Coast. Rush is quick to learn to survive in a world where you either fight or die. The pirate and his friend Ezra know that death can come at any time either through a storm or grapeshot.

A shipmate murders Ezra and Rush is determined to find the killer and make him pay. Despite his determination, finding the cold-blooded killer in a ship filled with seasoned murderers is not going to be easy. Since any laws do not govern the pirate world, Rush will leave no stone unturned when it comes to finding the person who killed his friend. That said, Rush is not going to have much support in his quest for the truth. The pirates are a superstitious lot, and some crew members are convinced that Ezra has witch’s blood. His death comes as a relief to those who think that Ezra will bring nothing but bad luck to the rest of the group.

This is not your average run of the mill story. The book is far from cozy, and it comes with accurate historical details that paint the perfect picture of life aboard a pirate ship. There are some instances of brutality, but it is refreshing to learn that amid all the darkness, there are people like Rush whose personal code of honor sets them apart. This is a boisterous tale of mayhem and murder. The story is unique and perfect if you are looking for a pirate story that is everything but ordinary. Join the author in an adventure filled with unexpected turns and details that will capture your attention right from the first page.

If historical fiction books featuring ruthless pirates are your kind of thing, you are surely going to fall in love with The Bloody Black Flag. Steve Goble has done a great job of painting the scenes and the paintings to the readers. The book comes with enough action without getting chaotic, and it helps that the book does not leave any cliffhangers. At about two hundred and fifty pages, this novel is short enough, meaning that you can enjoy it in a single sitting. The pace is fast from start to finish, and you will have a hard putting this book down until you get to the last page.

The Devil’s Wind
The Devils Wind is a mystery novel that blends a locked-room murder with a nautical adventure. The story features Spider John, a man who wants nothing but to escape the pirate world. John never wanted to be a pirate in the first place, and he is waiting for the perfect time to throw in the towel. John looks forward to a life in Massachusetts with his wife and two children with no link to the pirate world whatsoever. His plans are tossed overboard when Captain Brentwood is brutally murdered inside his cabin.

So who is responsible for killing the captain, and what is their motivation? Could it be the mysterious pirate who comes with a dark past or the beautiful redhead who always keeps a gun beneath her skirts? Could one of the men fascinated by the captain’s daughter want to get Brentwood out of the way? While the murderer remains a mystery, there is also the circumstance in which the captain dies. The captain is killed in his locked quarters. At the time of his death, all other crew members are gathered on the deck.

John is determined to get to the bottom of the mysterious death. His sleuth nature and wits as sharp as a blade will help him uncover details that would escape the normal eye. John is aware that this is no easy case, and he enlists the help of his friends Odin and Hob. The trio will encounter violence and deadly traps set by those who act as foes and friends. In the end, the murderer is discovered, and he sentenced to the same brutal killing he meted on the captain. John stays to witness the hanging, but when he is sighted by those he would rather stay away from, John is left with no choice but to flee. That is the only way he can stay alive as many enemies are masquerading as friends who want to see him dead.

Away from the gruesome murder, this book captures the feel of the ocean and ships during that time. There are also the exciting characters made of sadistic sailors and pirates who are nothing like they look to the outside world. There is no romance aboard the ship even though the crew comprises of two women. The dangerous pirates and traps set to kill whoever is regarded as an enemy mean that the story is filled with danger and bloodshed.

If you are looking to enjoy a gritty tales that comes with loads of surprises, The Devil’s Wind is perfect. The book also comes with a historical background that makes this work of fiction read like something that happened. Just like any excellent pirate story, this novel starts with a fearsome scene involving an arrested pirate just about to be hanged and town residents who are gathered to enjoy the show.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Steve Goble

Leave a Reply