Book Notification

Steven Suttie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Miller Books

One Man Crusade (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Neighbours From Hell (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Road to Nowhere (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone Too Far (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Cut (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Proof Of Life (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miracle on Corporation Street (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing To Lose (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twisting the Truth (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Clitheroe Prime Minister (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Steven Suttie
Steven Suttie is a mystery author best known for his DCI Miller series. These down-to-earth page-turners cover real issues affecting society today. The Scotland-born writer spent his early years in Manchester and now lives in Lancashire. By day, Suttie works for RSPCA and mostly writes in his free time. He enjoys spending quality time with his family when not writing.

One Man Crusade
One Man Crusade comes first in the DCI Miller series. The book introduces DCI Andy Miller, a man with a tough case in his hands. When a man is shot dead while sharing a cigarette with a colleague at work, the police are called to investigate. However, by the time DCI Miller gets to the crime scene, the press is already there. The dead man was a convicted pedophile. His killer states that he is on a mission to rid the streets of sex offenders who had somehow slipped through the system. This earns the killer a lot of public support, and many people are unwilling to help the police to catch him. It seems like Miller is on his own with this one, and he has to handle the case-sensitively if he doesn’t want the public and press on his neck.

Miller and his team get busy with the case, but they start to get frustrated when they don’t make any headway while the killer continues with his rampage. Since the case is already a media sensation, Miller encounters resistance everywhere he goes. Thankfully, the killer doesn’t seem to have a lot of resources at his disposal, so Miller knows it is just a matter of time before he catches up with him. You can almost feel Miller’s frustration from the first page, and the story will make you wonder what you would do in his shoes. Would you support the vigilante hero taking matters into his hand or agree with Miller that the law should be followed?

This a thrilling police procedural with great characters, an intriguing storyline, and numerous turns and surprises. The story is thought-provoking as it rings too close to home. While this is all fiction, there are enough people who would be willing to take sexual offenders out, and some have even attempted to do it. The writing towards the end will make you emotional and leave you searching for the next installment in the series. Set in Manchester, England, this story takes you on a journey to the English territory and gives an account of a story that doesn’t seem too far from reality. Like the England public, would you support the man who had chosen to take justice into his own hands?

One Man Crusade is an intriguing read, and Miller is just the right protagonist. The author allows the reader into the killer’s life, making it easier to understand where he is coming from. While the story touches on pedophiles, the topic is expertly handled. It is amazing how the author weaves this to read like a true story. The action in the first few pages will have you hooked, and you will enjoy the adventure as you accompany Miller throughout the investigation. Does Miller manage to catch the vigilante killer?

Neighbours from Hell
Neighbours from Hell comes second in the DCI Miller series. The Haughton Park development is a new suburb made of expensive homes designed with professional families in mind. When only half of the properties get sold, the project sinks into a financial crisis. The local council comes up with what seems like a workable solution. Those unsold homes would be turned into social housing where homeless families can be housed. In return, the council would inject the cash the developers needed to pay the bills. While this sounded like a win-win situation for the developers, the homeowners were not happy about the proposal. The last thing they want is for their neighborhood to be overrun by what they consider the scum of society.

The homeowners get together and start a media campaign against these plans. However, the council wins in the end, and homeless families start to occupy the swish development. Rachel Birdsworth, a mom of four, is among the people lucky enough to get a house in this establishment. She is determined to get along with everyone and get past the class differences for her family’s sake. However, when she realizes that one of the homeowners is an abuser, she is moved into action. There is no way she is going to keep quiet with a wife batterer who keeps his wife a prisoner in their home on the loose. However, whatever help Rachel can offer will come with devastating consequences.

Yet again, we see DCI Miller at work as he tries to uncover the truth about Haughton Park’s happenings. The storyline is unique and brilliant, and the idea of mixing the homeless and the wealthy in a posh estate brings some humor into the story. You will love Racheal and her family and hope more of the world was like them. After being forced to stay in a cramped caravan, Racheal and her husband are so grateful for the new home. T hey are determined to do everything possible to remain the peacemakers in their new community. It is also great seeing Miller in action as he tries to ensure the law is followed while being as human as possible to those concerned.

Neighbours from Hell takes you on yet another exhilarating ride in the world of crime and justice. The residents of Haughton Park will have you so wrapped up in their lives that you will not want to put this book down once you start reading. You will celebrate when Susan finds a true friend in Racheal and keep hoping that people like Graham, with their arrogance, can be eliminated from society. Most of the story revolves around them and their lives, and the police only come in towards the end. While this is part of a series, you will easily enjoy this book as a standalone.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Steven Suttie

Leave a Reply