Book Notification

Steven Veerapen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anthony Blanke Tudor Mystery Books

Of Blood Descended (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Judgement Fallen (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Christopher Marlowe Spy Thriller Books

The Queen's Gold (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen's Jewel (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Queen’s Fire (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Elizabethan Spy Thriller Books

Publication Order of Jack and Amy Cole Books

A Dangerous Trade (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Divided Loyalties (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Judgement (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Simon Danforth Books

The Abbey Close (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Royal Burgh (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cradle Queen (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Blood Feud (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Elizabeth and Essex (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slander and Sedition (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anna of Denmark (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wisest Fool (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Queen’s Consort (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Steven Veerapen

Steven Veerapen is an acclaimed Scottish historical mystery author whose stories often take place in Scotland in the 1500s. He has a keen eye for detail and a gift for crafting characters and protagonists that are both memorable and captivating. Readers are enthralled by the way he weaves together tales of glamour and ghastliness in a time when the law was as slippery as those who defied it.

His stories are filled with engaging narratives that keep readers on the edge of their seats. He has a talent for weaving together the threads of a complex plot, and for writing compelling dialogue that draws readers in and creates an atmosphere of suspense and adventure. Themes of morality and justice can be found in his work, making for a powerful read with an underlying message.

Steven’s books have gained a loyal following, and his readers can expect to be thoroughly entertained when they pick up one of his titles. His stories are filled with unpredictable twists and turns, and he has the uncanny ability to create characters and stories that stay with readers long after they have finished the book. His work has become immensely popular, and it’s no wonder why: Steven Veerapen is a master of historical mystery.

In addition, Steven is a gifted storyteller who has the ability to craft a captivating narrative that keeps readers hooked from start to finish. His stories often contain unexpected twists and turns that add to the suspense and excitement, and his skill at building tension and atmosphere makes for a truly immersive experience for his readers. His stories are engaging, unpredictable and fresh, making for a truly unique reading experience.

Early and Personal Life

Steven Veerapen was born in Glasgow and raised in Paisley, Scotland. From an early age, Steven had a keen interest in reading and writing. This interest grew as he pursued an education in English, obtaining a first-class Honours degree in the subject. His dissertation focussed on representations of Henry VIII’s six wives in literature. Furthering his education, Steven received a Masters in Renaissance studies and a Ph.D. researching Elizabethan slander.

His passion for reading and writing followed him into his adult life, as he began writing works of fiction and historical non-fiction. He was inspired by his research into the sixteenth century, which gave him the opportunity to explore his interest in writing. His first novel was published in 2007 to critical acclaim. Since then, his writing career has gone from strength to strength, with his works being translated into several different languages.

He has gone on to become a well-respected author, having published several acclaimed books. His experience in researching the sixteenth century has certainly helped him develop as a writer, while his passion for reading and writing has been a constant source of inspiration. As a result, he has become an authority on the period and his works are highly acclaimed throughout the literary world.

Writing Career

Steven Veerapen has established himself as an accomplished writer, with his work spanning across multiple genres. He began his writing career in 2018 with the Simon Danforth Mystery series, followed by the Jack and Amy Cole series, and then the Spycatcher series.

His more recent series, Christopher Marlowe, was released in 2021. In addition to his series, Veerapen has written three novels, including The Queen’s Consort. He also contributed to the HWA Short Story Collection in 2020 and has written several non-fiction works, such as Blood Feud and Elizabeth and Essex.

Veerapen continues to write and his Anthony Blanke Mystery series is set to be released in 2022, with The Wisest Fool following in 2023. With his versatility, Veerapen has proven his skill in both fiction and non-fiction writing.


On April 30th, 2020, Sharpe Books released Steven Veerapen’s ‘Succession’, the first book in the ‘Ned Savage’ series. The novel was met with much anticipation and excitement, and it did not disappoint.

In 1603, Queen Elizabeth’s reign was coming to a close, and the question of who would succeed her was still up in the air. James of Scotland was in the running, but the odds were not in his favor. This was due to the arrival of Gowrie, a Scottish traitor, who had a document containing a secret that could ruin James’ chance at succession.

Sir Robert Cecil, the principal secretary to the queen, saw the potential danger and decided to take action. He recruited Ned Savage, an artful thief, to locate the document before it could be made public. Savage was not the only one searching for the document, however. A group known as the Knights of the Red Cross was also after it. Their goal was to prevent a foreigner from taking the English crown, and they were willing to do whatever it took to achieve that.

Savage’s mission took him from London to Derbyshire and Scotland, where he was tasked with stopping the Red Cross Plot, safeguarding the secret of King James, and saving himself from execution before Elizabeth’s reign expired.

The Last Judgement

‘The Last Judgement’, the third novel in the Jack and Amy Cole series, was published on January 14, 2020 by Sharpe Books. This Elizabethan spy thriller series has been captivating readers with its fast-paced action and suspenseful plot lines. Readers were definitely enthralled by the latest installment in the series.

In 1572, a weapon of immense power had been smuggled into the Vatican as cardinals gathered to elect a new pope. Jack Cole and his wife, Amy, were among those within the city. Jack had to gain intelligence for Elizabeth I’s spymaster, Francis Walsingham, to earn a return to England. But the couple were not the only ones with a hidden agenda, as a strange prisoner had been brought in and thrown into jail.

The Swiss Guard and its secretive captain enlisted Jack and Amy’s aid to uncover the prisoner’s motives and foil his plot. As servants began to vanish, dark figures lurked in the shadows, and bodies were discovered, the couple soon realized they could trust no one. With only 24 hours to save the Vatican, they needed to find the weapon and stop the mysterious prisoner before it was too late.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Steven Veerapen

Leave a Reply