Book Notification

Steven Womack Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Harry James Denton Books

Dead Folks' Blues (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Torch Town Boogie (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Way Past Dead (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chain of Fools / Nobody's Chain Lays Straight (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Manual (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dirty Money (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fade Up From Black (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jack Lynch Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

By Blood Written (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Why Politics Suck (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Canine Crimes(1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cast of Characters(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Steven Womack is an American author of nonfiction, fiction, mystery and thrillers books famously known for his Harry James Denton and Jack Lynch book series which have been identified as excellent and authentic works by many readers. Born in Nashville, Womack lives in the same place with his daughters and wife. He began writing at a very young age, and this finally paid off ranking him among the best authors and which also came with numerous awards. His work is based on hard work and consistent effort as seen when it comes to the history of his career. Apart from writing, he serves as a tutor at The Film School of Watkins College of Arts where he lectures on screenwriting.

Murphy’s Fault published in 1990 landed Steven Womack a couple of awards among them The Edgar Award for The Dead Folks’ Blues and also the Shamus Award for The Murder Manual. Womack is a person who is diverse, and this has been of great contribution to his writing as seen from his hobbies which include scuba diving and flying. Additionally, he served as a president of the Novelist Inc., an association of professional novelists and also serves in numerous book fairs all over America. Steven Womack became a published author in 1990 when Murphy’s Fault the first book in Jack Lynch series was published. Womack has since published more than ten books, some in series and others as standalone novels.

Dead Folks’ Blues

Dead Folks’ Blues is the first book in Harry James Denton series by Steven Womack. It’s the book that won the author an Edgar Award in 1993 for the best paperback original mystery. It’s an exciting book that has a mystery setting and is more than a regular detective book from the setting, characters, and flow of events in the story.

Dead Folks’ Blues introduces us to the main character, Harry James Denton, a private detective. A client comes in, Rachel Fletcher, who is after establishing the nature of a dangerous business that her husband is involved in. Rachel seeks his help after she receives death threats some unknown persons. Then there’s Conrad Fletcher a surgeon, who is not only rich but has a couple of enemies, and he owes money to a dangerous bookie in town, and this seems to be a big problem for him. However, the funny bit is that Rachael is more than a client because she is also his girlfriend.

James decides to pick up the case, but it takes a twist since before he can uncover what business he is involved with, Conrad Fletcher is murdered. The detective decides to look into the matter closely so that he can uncover what caused Fletcher’s death. However, a bigger problem lies ahead since the list of possible killers is overly huge and almost impossible to sort out and pinpoint the killer from the list. This leads him into dangerous and dreaded parts of Nashville that many do indeed fear for the things associated with it.

His investigative work becomes almost impossible as he goes over the events that seem to have caused the death of his client’s husband. The book exposes a lot on the dark world and also shows the determination in the detective to find the answer to this mystery. Moving along with James in unraveling this murder is something that every reader will term as fantastic.

Steve Womack has connected events and characters to create a chain of mysteries that attracts the reader to discover what happens next in each case. It can only be termed as one of the most exceptional works of authenticity and creativity. His themes are incredibly placed across the book mixing different situations and characters to bring out the best. It is a remarkable mystery book with some heartbreaking also happy scenes which classify the book as a must-read for anyone who is in love with this genre.

Torch Town Boogie

Torch Town Boogie is book two in the Harry James Denton Series featuring private detectives James harry introduced in Dead Folks’ Blues the first book in the series. The author, Steven Womack has incorporated a puzzle, love, money, and crime in this piece for the reader.

Harry takes over a case involving the torching of a house in the other part of town. The case involves his ex-wife, Lane who was about to be married by a psychotherapist was well known in the local town. The psychotherapist was killed in the burning mansion and the police blame this on Lane. The case somehow triggers him to work towards establishing the true culprits behind this evil act because it involves his ex-wife.

Investigating the case and gathering the possible clues, James can see that a sinister person is behind the act and it is up to him to match up the facts and flush out the killer and free Lane. The clues seem to point at a notorious firebug who has a series of arson cases. To make matters more complicated, it appears that he’s involved in a series of other cases that put many lives at stake putting in mind that the latest one involved a murder.

This gives Harry a tough job, and he’ll have to use all that he can to identify the person behind this arson. Steven Womack strategizes the book to follow a well laid out format in taking the reader through the arson mystery alongside his main character James as he investigates to unravel the culprit. It is a breathtaking piece and also humorous as the author peels out the character of the different layers to bring out their true nature.

Steve’s aim in writing this book is to enlighten at the same time entertain her audience. His way of describing the characters in this story creates a virtual picture in the reader’s mind enabling concentration, and this makes it a masterpiece. Simply it is an excellent job by the author with a conclusion that’s chilling at the same time humorous.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Steven Womack

Leave a Reply