Book Notification

Story Thieves Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Story Thieves Books

Story Thieves (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stolen Chapters (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret Origins (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pick the Plot (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Worlds Apart (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Story Thieves series by James Riley
Author James Riley writes the “Story Thieves” series of children’s fiction books. The series began publication when “Story Thieves” was released in the year 2015. The books are meant for readers grades four through six.

Owen Connors and Bethany have the ability to jump into their favorite books. Whether the book is fantasy, mystery, or science fiction, it is always an adventure.

“Story Thieves” is the first novel in the “Story Thieves” series and was released in the year 2015. Life is much more boring when you only live in the real world, instead of being the star of your very own series of books. Owen is aware of this more than anybody, what with the real world’s chores and homework. However everything changes the day that Owen sees something impossible happen: Bethany (his classmate) climbing out of some book in the library.

Bethany, it turns out, is partly fictional and has been looking for her dad (a fictional character) and does so by searching through every book that she can find. Bethany is cannot let anybody else in on her secret, so Owen strikes a deal with her. She has to take him into a book in Owen’s beloved Kiel Gnomenfoot series, and he will stay silent about all this. Besides visiting the book may just help Bethany locate her dad.

Or it could just wreck the Kiel Gnomenfoot books, reveal her secret to the whole world, and force Owen to live out Kiel Gnomenfoot’s very last adventure.

Fans of the book is incredibly fun and light-hearted yet there is a lot of suspense and some high stakes that makes it tough to stop reading for very long. There are reveals and twists and a ton of action throughout, and the characters are quite the breath of fresh air and are well written and developed, even the fictional ones. Like Kiel, who is a snarky and fun character.

“The Stolen Chapters” is the second novel in the “Story Thieves” series and was released in the year 2016. Bethany, Owen, and Kiel confront some stolen memories, secrets, and some incredibly familiar faces.

Owen would not ever jump into a mystery story. There’s just some twists that do not make any sense, too many hidden clues, and endings that you never see coming. Mysteries are not his thing. How exactly does he end up into one with his memory getting erased? And that is far from the sole question.

How did Kiel Gnomenfoot, a boy magician, lose his magic? Where is Bethany, their half-fictional buddy? And who is that annoying guy wearing the Sherlock Holmes hat and a question mark mask, taunting Kiel and Owen that Bethany is in some grave danger? Bethany gets trapped in a hidden room that slowly fills up with water, and she is unable to escape until her buddies find her. However is she imprisoned by more than just a locked door and chains? What is she hiding from Kiel and Owen? Maybe some mysteries should not be solved.

Readers found this one had a really good mystery in it, and there is a huge twist at the very end of it. The book has a lot of surprises, laughs, and fun along the way. Fans were hooked into this story and were perched on the edge of their seat all the way through.

“Secret Origins” is the third novel in the “Story Thieves” series and was released in the year 2017. Bethany goes to a new fictional world in order to rescue her dad. Bethany and Owen have sworn off jumping into books for good. However they did not make any promises about not jumping into odd portals that lead to a comic book world.

Jupiter City once was filled with brightly costumed superheroes and villains, however nowadays, there isn’t anything left but the Dark. Even the villains are horrified of the Dark’s shadows. And most of the heroes have been lost due to mind control or they vanished. The one hero that might have stopped all of it. Doc Twilight, has been imprisoned by the Dark.

However who really is Doc Twilight? How can Owen and Bethany defeat the Dark without superpowers of their own? They will certainly need the aid of some new allies and old buddies to bring the light back to Jupiter City, and learn the truth that lies behind the Dark. It all comes back to Bethany’s own personal secret origins. What really happened when her fictional dad vanished years back? Who is Nobody, and why is he writing these “Story Thieves” books? And what sort of super villain name is The Rotten Banana anyway?

Fans found this to be an interesting and funny take on comics, and includes some great comic book references.

“Pick the Plot” is the fourth novel in the “Story Thieves” series and was released in the year 2017. When Owen finds himself trapped in a Pick Your Own Plot tale, things get more complex than ever. Being able to hop into books used to be the best thing in the world to Owen Connors. However now Owen is stuck in a time travel book where readers, which would be you, choose how the tale goes.

As if this were not enough, Owen’s also trapped in a prison for time criminals in this prehistoric era. He is surrounded by odd fellow prisoners, including Kara Dox. How does Kara recognize Owen if they have never met before? She seems to believe that they are old friends, however that cannot be possible. Still, Kara may just be the one chance that Owen has to escape.

And he must find a way out to save his good buddy Bethany, who is still in grave danger. Unless Owen cannot stop him, Nobody is about to split Bethany in two, separating the non-fictional and fictional worlds forever. Is Owen going to be able to convince the reader, you, to help him find his way back to Bethany? Or are you going to feed him to some dinosaurs just to teach him a lesson? It is all up to you when you Pick the Plot.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Story Thieves

Leave a Reply