Book Notification

Stringer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Stringer Books

Stringer (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer on Dead Man's Range (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer on the Assassin's Trail (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer & the Hangman's Rodeo (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Tombstone (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer and the Hanging Judge (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer and the Wild Bunch (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer and the Lost Tribe (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer and the Deadly Flood (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer and the Border War (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer In a Texas Shoot-Out (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer on Pike's Peak (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer and the Oil Well Indians (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer on the Mojave (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stringer and the Hell-Bound Herd (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon

Stringer series by Lou Cameron
Author Lou Cameron wrote the “Stringer” series of western novels. The series began publication in the year 1987, when “Stringer” was released. It ended its original publication in the year 1989, when “Stringer in a Texas Shoot-Out” (the fifteenth book) was released.

Stuart MacKail, or “Stringer”, works as a freelance field stringer for the San Francisco Sun. He always seems to be dispatched where the lusty ladies are as well as where the bullets are soon to start flying.

“Stringer” is the first novel in the “Stringer” series and was released in the year 1987. He is making news with his gun, and his fists, as well as with the ladies.

Stuart “Stringer” MacKail, the San Francisco Sun’s freelance field stringer, needs one new story to sell in order to pay his bills. His editor sends him on back to MacKail’s home town of Calavaras County to get an update on the old legend about the stagecoach robbery by “Sulky Jack” and its treasure.

Stringer has barely arrived when the bullets start flying and it soon is clear that folks are still attempting to locate the treasure and are going to stop anybody that gets in their way. Hard drinking, corpses, and friendly women are all over, and it is up to Stringer to learn whatever truth might exist in order to get this story written and get himself on back to Frisco intact.

“On Dead Man’s Range” is the second novel in the “Stringer” series and was released in the year 1987. Sheriff Commodore Perry Owenslost his very first election in seventeen years. Possibly folks in the Arizona Territory were ready for change. Then again, possibly Stringer should have a look-see.

Trouble is, Perry’s disappeared and everybody that knew him is either dead or disappeared too. Hot lead and hard knuckles begin flying, Stringer is belt buckle deep in some ghostly mystery and willing ladies. Even if the ghosts might be hokum, the ladies are flesh, and blood beauties.

“Stringer on the Assassin’s Trail” is the third novel in the “Stringer” series and was released in the year 1987. Stringer was only doing his job when he went to listen Teddy Rooseelt speak at the railway stop in Granger, Wyoming. However, Stringer’s job is to write about his speech, but not get shot at. All of a sudden a certain reporter has a powerful curiosity about who could want him six feet under.

There is just a single hitch. Stringer can’t be certain if the bullet was actually meant for him or if it was really meant for Teddy. Now all MacKail must do is dodge the pack of assassins, swap lead with some train robbers, and match wits with a renegade Shoshoni, as well as bed a few lusty ladies. All on a trail that can either end in on the front page, or in the obituaries.

“Stringer and the Hangman’s Rodeo” is the fourth novel in the “Stringer” series and was released in the year 1988. Cheyenne, Wyoming. A town that is jumping into the twentieth century spurs first. It won’t be long before Cheyenne’s just as newfangled fancy just like any other Eastern city, however, the folks there still know how you have fun. First the rodeo, then comes the hanging.

It is the rodeo that Stringer’s been sent out to write on. But, before he knows it, he is up to his neck in the most notorious murder case in all the West. They are fixing to hang Tom Horn, however, something in the town smells even worse than a stable boy’s boots, and Stringer looks to figure out what it could be.

“Stringer and the Wild Bunch” is the fifth novel in the “Stringer” series and was released in the year 1988. That train robbery was awful. It cost Stringer thirty bucks. When the Wild Bunch gives MacKail one .45 caliber invite to hear their side of what a nice bunch of guys they truly are, it is one offer that he cannot refuse. After all, they are mothers’ sons, despite the fact that they would cut a guy’s throat just for his boots.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Stringer

Leave a Reply