Book Notification

Sue Fortin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Applewick Village Mystery Books

Death at Applewick Schoolhouse (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at Applewick Manor (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Falling for France Books

The French Retreat (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Girl Who Lied Books

The Girl Who Lied (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Birthday Girl (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

United States of Love (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Closing in (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Half Truth (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sister Sister (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Schoolgirl Missing (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead Wife (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forgotten Life of Arthur Pettinger (As: Suzanne Fortin) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
All That We Have Lost (As:Suzanne Fortin) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond a Broken Sky / Dangerous Sky (As: Suzanne Fortin) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dance Teacher of Paris (As: Suzanne Fortin) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Betrayal / The Lost Dressmaker of Paris (As: Suzanne Fortin) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Missing Wife (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sue Fortin is an English author of women’s fiction, suspense and contemporary novels. She is popularly known for her novel The Girl Who Lied and Closing In which became number one on Amazon bestseller list in the United Kingdom and number one in Kobo Romantic Suspense Chart in 2014 respectively. She was born in Hertfordshire but spent her childhood in different neighborhoods thanks to her family, which moved often. Her family eventually settled in West Sussex. Over the years she’s developed a love for cakes and dragonflies but hates with passion snakes, maths and calories.

Miss Fortin began her career as an author in 2012 when self-published her debut novel United States of Love. The novel was later published by HarperImpulse and was subsequently nominated for the 2014 Joan Hessayon Award and won INDIE Brag Medallion. Additionally, the author was also shortlisted for the 2013 New Talent Award and Festival Romance. Sue lives with her husband and their four children. When not writing, you’ll find her spending time with her children.

The Girl Who Lied

Sue Fortin’s debut novel is a story about two women, one desperate to keep a secret of the past in the past and the other one determined on unearthing the secret regardless of the price to pay. But how far will the two go?

When Erin’s father is severely wounded, she travels from her home in London and returns to her rural home in Rossway to support her family. It’s not the return she greatly enjoys- there’s a secret from a decade ago she does not want anyone to know about. But her skeletons in the closet are a danger because a childhood friend Roisin is hell-bent on letting them loose for the world to see and is already making threats to her. So Erin’s return allows her to sort out the grudge face to face.

The small village of Rossway is beautifully drawn. It’s a community where people know each other and everyone else’s business. The many folks in this town are related, and very few have ever relocated to other places. Erin helps in running her father’s café, maintaining its regular customers but preparing full cooked breakfast is never an easy task until Kerry comes to help her run the business. The Girl Who Lied gives us a great sense of family. An example is evidently seen through Erin’s close relationship with her sister and her closeness to her mother.

On the contrary, Roisin’s family is crumbling down. Her mother, a retired village GP, is now an alcoholic while her father has endless strings of affairs. The author also explores other family relationships, as well. For example, Kerry’s childhood, friends, her sister, and a husband whom they own and operate the garage. All these add depth to the main story and themes. Against the odds, Erin somehow finds herself comfortable into her former life, but the threat of her past secret uncovered is still ever present as her childhood friend plans her next move. The tension builds up with every page turn as the secrets are cleverly uncovered from flashbacks ten years earlier but with twists and turns that will keep your turning pages. When Roisin vanishes, all the suspicions land on Erin as she is willing to do whatever it takes to protect her family, but how far can she go when the time is running out?

The Girl Who Lied is a story all about lies, secrets, and family. It’s a story that examines the extent of deception that goes in shielding our loves ones from truths that can tear friendships and families apart. There’s intrigue, suspense, and plenty of emotion.

Sister Sister

In this story, we get to know Clare; a lawyer married to Luke, a painter, and parents of two girls, Hannah and Chole. When Clare was eight years old, her father took her younger sister, Alice, who was four years old for a vacation, but she went to the USA and never came back and never came into contact with her family.

Mother Marion and Clare have been looking for Alice for over 30 years and have never been able to figure out what happened, until one day they get a letter from Alice saying that she goes to meet her mother and sister. Of course, Marion and Clare do not even believe Alice contacted them, and they are radiant with the news. But as soon as Alice arrives, Clare cannot sympathize with her sister and begins to find some of her strange behaviors. She talks to her husband, but he does not see anything abnormal about her sister-in-law’s behavior and even thinks Clare is being paranoid.

Sister Sister Story unfolds through the eyes of Claire, and this works perfectly because she is a strong heroine. She is everything that anyone would expect from a devoted wife and mother who works full time and has just reunited with her long lost sibling. She is a loving character and is slowly learning to come into terms with her range of emotions and even accepts that some of these emotions, such as mistrust and jealousy, maybe her own fault. On the other hand, Alice is a mystery. The reader knows so little about her, but we desire to know more about her connect with her and accept her, but it’s almost hard to put your trust on a person you don’t know. And soon we find ourselves questioning her every move as a cloud of uncertainty gathers. This is where Sister Sister shines. Is Alice the person she claims to be? Is her sister, Claire falling apart? Is jealousy taking over Claire and affecting her relationships with those she loves?

Soon we realize that Claire might be losing her cool, and probably Alice wants to reunite with the family she never knew existed. Each chapter navigates the reader in a twisted maze of mystery and apprehension, creating a fast-paced story that delivers turn after turn. There’s a shocking twist at the end that will leave you wanting more from Sue Fortin.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sue Fortin

Leave a Reply