Book Notification

Sue Margolis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Neurotica (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sisteria (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Launderama aka Spin Cycle (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Apocalipstick (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breakfast at Stephanie's (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Original Cyn (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gucci Gucci Coo (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forget Me Knot (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perfect Blend (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Catered Affair (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coming Clean (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Best Supporting Role (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Losing Me (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days Like These (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sue Margolis is an English author who worked for the BBC as a radio reporter before finally going into the writing and publishing business.


Sue Margolis was born in 1955. And even though she has been a published author since 1998, it is for her work with the BBC as a radio reporter that Margolis is best known.

And it isn’t like the author’s fans closely followed her efforts as a reporter. Rather, it is the weight of the BBC brand that makes Sue Margolis’ time with the company that much more exciting.

But the association with the BBC has not stopped Margolis from working hard to cement her place as a celebrated author in the publishing industry. Margolis lives in London with her husband Jonathan, a journalist.

The couple has three children. The kids were somewhat young when Margolis finally decided to give her writing career the attention it deserved. The author doesn’t know when the writing bug bit her.

She knows that the dream for a career in publishing was always at the edge of her consciousness. She pondered the possibilities from time to time but she never gave it serious thought. Or at the very least, she never thought about it seriously enough to take real action.

Things changed when Margolis hit forty. It was a significant moment because she realized just how much of her life she had used so far and the fact that if she did not at the very least attempt to write her first novel at that age then she was never going to do it.

When Margolis finally decided to take a chance and write a novel, she did most of her work on her son’s desktop because she did not have a computer at that time. Fortunately for the author, most of her writing was done in the day while her son was in school.

The hardest part was getting those first few paragraphs down. But once she started, there was no stopping her. And it wasn’t long before ‘Neurotica’, her first novel, was completed and ready for publication.

People have been known to categorize Sue Margolis’ work as chick lit. Margolis isn’t necessarily averse to the description. However, she thinks it would be more accurate to call her books romantic comedies.

Margolis isn’t even convinced that her books meet the criteria for chick lit. The author has always harbored a little bit of loathing for books termed as ‘chick lit’ because they typically feature stupid heroines with ditzy attitudes and a penchant for making very silly decisions.

Margolis’ books always feature strong female characters. There’s also plenty of humor and sex. The author endeavors to counter the prevailing perception of women. She enjoys delving into their sex lives even as she explores the unique challenges they encounter in life because of their gender.

Sue Margolis has imputed some of her more interesting characters and plots to her journalistic experience. The author’s time at the BBC saw her interview many interesting people; people who always had the strangest stories to tell.

While Margolis typically depends on her wild imagination, her days with the BBC have definitely helped her inject an exciting spark into her work.

Interestingly enough, Margolis wasn’t quite sure how readers would react to her naughty humor. She was worried that she might be out of touch with the sexual proclivities of her audiences.

She was surprised by the positive responses to the humor in ‘Neurotica’, with many a reviewer commending her witty and sure prose.

Sue Margolis imputes her confidence as an author to the difficulties she encountered in school. Margolis was not a very good student. In fact, she was often at the bottom of her class.

Year in and year out, she grew accustomed to failing. She realized that failure was nothing to be frightened of. After all, each time she had failed, Margolis’ existence hadn’t ended.

Rather, she had survived and returned to fight another day. For that reason, Margolis is one author that doesn’t struggle with Writer’s Block. To her, Writer’s Block manifests because an author is afraid that what they will right could be rubbish.

Precluding her initial fear that her work might be out of step with her readers’ tastes, Margolis is one confident and largely fearless writer, and it shows in her work. She takes bold steps with each book she writes and she isn’t afraid to take chances.

It helps that humor is a part her personality. She definitely works hard to polish the comedy in her stories. But, on the whole, Margolis knows that, whatever weaknesses her books might have, her readers will laugh.

Margolis generally tries to write at least one book a year. She treats her career like any other job. She is ready to sit down and write by ten. And while Margolis will take several breaks in between her work, she won’t rest until she has done at least five hours of writing.

When the author isn’t writing, you will find her exercising at the gym, doing mental exercises, learning new languages or watching television. She also loves to nap.


Anna Shapiro is a Tabloid reporter that has not had great sex in three years. And the fault falls largely at the feet of Dan, her husband. Dan is a hypochondriac and his paranoia has more or less killed their sex life.

But Anna is only 37. She absolutely will not give up on sex. Anna’s editor gives her the perfect distraction when he tasks her with exploring a new feminist manifesto encouraging women to have affairs.

What starts out as pure journalist curiosity, with Anna interviewing women that have had extramarital affairs, takes on new shades when the journalist is forced to decide whether or not she is ready to gamble with her marriage.


Rachel was one stand-up comic who was starting to wonder whether her life had become a humorless comedy routine, what with her husband having an affair with another man and her 10-year-old developing an obsession with Barbara Streisand, not to mention the business with Rachel’s dentist boyfriend who might be cheating on her.

Matt Clapton is a welcome distraction. The washing machine repairman is not only sexy but he likes Rachel. Rachel is at a point where she must put everything on the line and bet on a decision that could save her from a grim future or finally tip her life over the edge.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sue Margolis

Leave a Reply