Book Notification

Summerhill Secrets Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Summerhill Secrets Books

Whispers Down the Lane (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret in the Willows (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Catch a Falling Star (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of the Fireflies (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cry in the Dark (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
House of Secrets (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes in the Wind (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hide Behind the Moon (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Windows on the Hill (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows Beyond the Gate (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Summerhill Secrets series is a beautiful book series written by an award winning and very popular American author named Beverly Lewis. This wonderful series is comprised of books of the Christian fiction, young adult, Amish fiction, teen, fiction, and mystery genres. The series consists of 10 books in total, which were released between the years 1995 and 2000. Author Beverly Lewis has developed the main character for this series as Merry Hanson. She is joined by many other important character throughout the series, who help make the stories very interesting and engaging. Some of the important characters other than Merry Hanson include Rachel Zook, Jonathan Kline, Elton, Levi Zook, Lissa, etc. Author Beverly has mentioned that the series is best suited for the readers between the age groups of 11 and 14. However, this series can be enjoyed by everyone as it seems to have something in it for every type of person. Throughout the series, it is seen that Merry Hanson indulges in some or the other task and tries to make things look good around her. She is always ready to help out her friends whenever they need her. Also, Merry Hanson possesses a soft heart in which she has good feelings for everyone. This makes her look like a kind and humble person.

The debut book of the Summerhill Secrets series written by Beverly Lewis is entitled ‘Whispers Down the Lane’. It was released in the year 1995 by the Bethany House publication. The book features the lead characters in the form of Merry Hanson, Lissa, Rachel Zook, and several others. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Merry Hanson has an Amish friend named Rachel Zook. The two decide to make a plan to run away into a nearby Amish community and hide there for some days. Both Merry Hanson and Rachel Zook hope to spend their runaway days with great fun and adventure. As the story begins, the readers are introduced to the character of Lisa. She runs away from her house because of getting frequently beaten by her father. Lisa approaches her friend Merry Hanson and tells her everything that has been happening to her for quite some time. Lisa also tells Merry that when her mother tries to stop her father, he beat her too. And she has taken the decision of running away in order to not get beaten again. Merry feels sad for Lisa after seeing her bruises, but doesn’t know what to do. She can’t consult her parents as they are away from home. And also, they cannot go to the police as Lisa’s dad in the police department himself. The next day police arrive at Merry’s school and her house in order to inquire if she or any other kid has sighted Lisa. Merry Hanson didn’t want the police to find Lisa, so she thinks of hiding her in her neighbor Rachel Zook’s house. As Rachel is Amish, Merry believes that the police won’t think that Lisa will be hiding there. But, the police arrived at Merry’s house again at the time when they were about to move Lisa to Rachel’s house. Thankfully, they are not able to recognize Lisa because of the Amish clothes that were given to her by Rachel. So, she walks past the police without any difficulty. Merry joins Rachel and Lisa later. All three girls have a blast for one full day, especially Lisa because there was no one there to beat her. Merry spends the night at the Zook’s in order to give company to her friends. She learns that Lisa has decided to become a Christian. After Merry successfully saves Lisa from getting into the hands of the police, she wonders whether she will be able to keep her safe forever? The book appears to be an exciting one. It is full of twists and turns, and an amazing storyline. Author Beverly seems to have done a wonderful job. Overall, the story and description look very beautiful, for which author Beverly was praised a lot by the readers and the critics.

The next installment of the series is called ‘Secret in the Willows’. This novel was also published by the Bethany publishers in 1995. Beverly Lewis has described the chief characters of this book as Jonathan Kline, Elton, and Merry Hanson. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Merry Hanson has a handsome friend named Jonathan Kline. He throws a party for his community’s youth group and also invites a retarded boy named Elton. Merry too is invited at the party. She takes notice of the retarded boy and shows pity on him. Suddenly, a fire breaks out and everyone starts panicking. No one thinks of helping Elton. But, given the humble and caring person that Merry Hanson is, she comes to the rescue of Elton and gets him out safely. Elton is introduced as an autistic child, who doesn’t indulge in any conversation with anyone. He keeps clicking a ball point pen repeatedly that he always carries along with him. Merry succeeds in befriending him. She seems to have a feeling for him and his condition.

The other kids do not like Elton and keep making fun and jokes about him. At first, Merry thinks that Jonathan Kline has purposely invited Elton so that he gets teased and made fun of. On the other hand, someone has robbed Rachel’s family again and again. And as they are Amish, they do not expect any help from the police. So, Rachel tells Merry about the robberies and asks for her help. Merry seems worried about a bigger problem. She is looking for a partner for the upcoming church dance and the person she was going to ask gets asked by another girl. Meanwhile, Rachel Zook and Merry Hanson try to find out the person carrying out robberies at the house of Rachel. They even device a foolproof plan and everything appear to be going as planned. But then, something happens and the situations become out of control. First, Rachel trips and hurts her foot, and then Merry also injure herself while trying to save a cat. This book too gives out an excellent message to the youth. It explains the meaning of standing up for the people with special needs and helping out friends whenever they are in need. It was well appreciated by the readers worldwide and ended up becoming quite successful.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Summerhill Secrets

2 Responses to “Summerhill Secrets”

  1. Dottie Snyder: 2 years ago

    I would like to purchase the complete series Summerhill Secrets by Beverly Lewis. Can you please tell me where I can purchase?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi – we don’t sell books but I had a look on Amazon and they appear to have two 5-in-1 collections.


Leave a Reply