Book Notification

Sunshine Vicram Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sunshine Vicram Books

A Bad Day for Sunshine (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Day for Chardonnay (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hard Day for a Hangover (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Darynda Jones is a best-selling author who has had her books hit the top of the charts in publications such as USA Today and the New York Times.

Darynda has received recognition for her work in many ways, including receiving a RITA Award and a Golden Heart (both for her book First Grave on the Right) and a Daphne du Maurier Award. Her books have been successful and popular among readers around the world, prompting them to be translated into over a dozen languages.

The author was born to tell stories, growing up telling her own tales of beautiful damsels and heroes that are in distress. She has written many popular books, including the Charley Davidson series, the Betwixt and Between series, and the Sunshine Vicram mystery series.

Darynda resides in New Mexico, also referred to as the land of enchantment. She is married and shares two sons with her husband.

The author cannot recall a time in her life where she was not writing and putting pen onto paper. When she was young, she would use a notepad and pencil and write her story onto it and ask her mother to read what she had written out loud. Her mother was a good sport and would usually play along. Darynda would even write plays for the kids in her neighborhood and make stories up as her brother played with cars. She also fell for Captain Kirk. She would use her imagination and come up with stories for her toy Barbie and Ken to act out.

She would be sent to the office all the time to speak to the principal when younger for the crime of letting her mind wander and daydream when she was supposed to be paying attention in class for years. Still, Darynda made it to high school and it was there where she almost finished her first book. She would sit with her friend for hours at the Tastee-Freez in town writing her post-apocalyptic tome. It was about a group of teenagers that were similar and maybe inspired by a certain rock band that were trying to get out of a government fallout facility’s tunnels after the third great war destroyed the earth’s surfaces. She felt that personally it would be a classic.

At the time, she was happy. Her life was good and the writing was good. However, it was only a matter of time before the real world arrived once she graduated. She stopped focusing on writing and put her energy towards providing for herself and having somewhere to live. She also got married to a man that was a rock star locally. The two had two children together, with the oldest being born deaf. She moved with her boys when the oldest was five years old and went to Albuquerque, enrolling her son in a special deaf program. Her husband stayed behind and they would alternate seeing each other on the weekends for seven years.

While living there, Darynda chose to return to college. She attended the University of New Mexico and graduated summa cum laude with her degree in sign language interpreting. She then returned to her hometown and secured some jobs to pay the bills. This included teaching at the college locally and interpreting whenever she could. She does not recommend that people take on having over three jobs if they can help it.

Gradually, Darynda felt the drive to write again. She couldn’t push it down any longer and in 2002 took up writing again. This time she had a goal, which was to secure a publishing contract. She kept on practicing and wrote three manuscripts. She would get an agent, sell a three-book deal to St. Martin’s Press, and receive a Golden Heart.

Darynda Jones is the creator and author of the Sunshine Vicram series. The series got started in 2020 with the debut novel, A Bad Day for Sunshine. In 2021, the second book in the series came out, titled A Good Day for Chardonnay. The third book came out in 2022 and is titled A Hard Day for a Hangover.

A Bad Day for Sunshine is the first book in the Sunshine Vicram series by Darynda Jones. If you like light novels that are full of twists and turns, check out this book!

Main character Sunshine Vicram is the Sheriff in Del Sol, New Mexico, a small village. She’s used to doing her job but is finding that she’s going to need a lot more coffee if she’s going to deal with what’s been happening lately. Their small village has now gained attention on a national scale thanks to a kidnapper being on the loose.

Del Sol is known for its extremely hot summer, strong coffee, and apparently now a manhunt. Sunshine has returned to her native town elected sheriff, thanks to her parents who couldn’t help nominating her. Now she has to deal with a teen girl that has vanished and a kidnapper loose in public. It’s making her recall why she left this place initially. Then she’s having to deal with her daughter having trouble at her new school and a kidnapped rooster, so her plate is full and she’s not feeling particularly sunny.

But there’s still a bright side to be seen. Like the fact that US Marshall and handsome love interest Levi is around. The cool sheriff is finding herself dealing with more and more drama and danger. Can she find the kidnapper that has everyone so worried? Will she be distracted by Levi? Read this book to find out!

A Good Day for Chardonnay is the second book in the Sunshine Vicram series by Darynda Jones. If you loved the first book, keep on with the series and follow along with everyone’s favorite sheriff!

Sunshine Vicram thought that running a small police force in Del Sol would have been a relatively carefree sort of job. What could go wrong in an area so small? It’s not as easy going as she thought it would have been, and she depends on coffee to keep her energized to deal with everything.

She would love just one laidback day. One that begins with a coffee and a few donuts and ends with some hot pizza and a nice glass of chardonnay. That’s a lot to ask, but it can’t hurt a girl to dream. Soon, Sunny finds herself dealing with a bad bar fight, a teen hunting a serial killer, and her own questions about her past abduction.

It seems like Levi Ravinder might be behind it, but Sunshine knows that the bad boy distiller is not the bad guy. But does he have clues to what happened? Can she ignore the crush on Levi that seems to be getting bigger every day? How will she deal with the rest of what’s going on in the town? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sunshine Vicram

Leave a Reply