Book Notification

Sunyi Dean Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Book Eaters (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Thief of Memory (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
How To Cook and Eat the Rich (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best of British Science Fiction 2018(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sunyi Dean is a fantasy fiction author. She made her debut in fiction in 2022 with the release of The Book Eaters.

Dean was originally born in the United States, but was raised in Hong Kong. She has since made her way to Yorkshire where she now lives with her children. The author enjoys reading, running, and yoga in her free time. She also finds time to escape the city to wildswim in lonely dales.

In addition to her novels, Dean is also a prolific short story writer. Her short stories have appeared in the Best of British Scifi Anthology, Prole, FFO, and Tor Dot Com. The author also keeps her a blog on her website where she shares stories about her quest to get her first novel published.

Her first novel was The Book Eaters which received many positive reviews upon its release. The book was called a “A gloriously Gothic contemporary horror fantasy, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Tanith Lee,” by author Peter McLean. Author Everina Maxwell said that the book was “Dark and incredibly compelling―I could not put this book down. All about motherhood and monsters, and twists the knife on every page.”

The book gives a very literal meaning to the term “voracious reader” and is a unique, wholly original story. There is unique worldbuilding, an original magic system, and well-shaped characters. This is a great read for fans of gothic horro fantasy. The book is a talk of family, betrayal, and the lengths that people will go to for the ones they love.

In The Book Eaters, truth is found between the stories we’re fed and the ones we are hungry for. There is a secret group of people out on the Yorkshire Moors that use books as food and after they eat, they retain all of the book’s content. These people consider spy novels to be a peppery snack and romance novels to be a sweet treat. Eating maps helps them learn their way around. When their children misbehave, their punishment can be to eat the dictionary.

Devon is a part of The Family, a clan of book eaters. Her brothers grow up eating books of valor and adventure, but the women are fed a diet of fairy tales and cautionary stories. The women are not giving much autonomy and their main mission is to grow up and have two children from two different husbands in order to continue the survival of their species. However, real life doesn’t come with happy endings. When she gets older and has a son of her own, he is born with a darker hunger that can’t be fed by books. Her son only hungers for human minds.

Now, Devon will go on the run to protect her son from The Family who don’t want him around. She’ll have to find a way to keep him safe from the Family and to feed the sinister hunger that lies within him.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sunyi Dean

Leave a Reply