Book Notification

Superintendent William Meredith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Superintendent William Meredith Books

The Lake District Murder (1935)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sussex Downs Murder (1936)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cheltenham Square Murder (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death On Paper (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble A-Brewing (1940)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slow Vengeance (1941)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Knows No Calendar (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Deals A Double (1943)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in White Pyjamas (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in an Ambush (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Makes a Prophet (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dangerous Sunlight (1948)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Glut of Red Herrings (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Steals the Show (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Constable & the Lady (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Riviera (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon
When the Case Was Opened (1952)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice Dead (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon
So Much in the Dark (1954)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Ends to the Town (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Shift of Guilt (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Telegram from Le Touquet (1956)Description / Buy at Amazon
Another Man's Shadow (1957)Description / Buy at Amazon

John Bude is a published author or fictional novels. It is a pen name used by Ernest Elmore.

Elmore was born in 1901 in Maidstone, Kent. His influences include Freeman Willis Croft. He attended Mill Hill School, leaving the school in 1919. He then enrolled in a secretarial college, where he would acquire the skill of typing. He would serve as the games master for a few years in Letchworth at the St. Christopher School. There he would also lead the students in their dramatic pursuits.

Ernest was interested in theater, so much so that he would go on and join up with the Lena Ashwell Players, working as their stage manager. He would travel with the players and they would go all over the country for their productions. At that time he would work on his writing and when he would have some time to himself he would hone them in whatever dressing room he was in at the time.

The author would go back to the town that he was born in and return to Maidstone. World War II started up at some point and he even ran the Home Guard unit in his local area since he had been termed to be not fit to be part of the forces as a service member.

He would go on to reside in Kent in Loose and then in Rye in East Sussex. Besides writing, Bude had an appetite for painting and golf. He also failed to officially learn how to drive, but that did not get in the way of giving advice to his own spouse while she was in the driver’s seat. Her name was Betty and the two of them had gotten to know each other when they met in Maidstone while the author was busy producing plays.

It was love and they would become married in 1933. The author would successfully transition to becoming a full time author and from there had a prolific career where he was able to write thirty novels and more in the crime fiction genre. Many of these featured Inspector Sherwood and Superintendent Meredith. His first novel to be released came out in 1935 and was titled The Cornish Coast Murder, while the last novel to come out under his name came out posthumously, The Night the Fog Came Down (published in 1958 along with A Twist of the Rope).

The author was a founding member of the Norfolk chapter of the Crime Writers Association in 1953. He would also co-organize the Crime Book Exhibition for the CWA at the time, which was designed to increase publicity. Bude would also work hard as a member of the committee from the start until May of 1957.

He would also use his authentic name to pen novels in the fantasy genre and the children’s book “The Snuffly Snorty Dog”. His most recognized fantasy story is the 1954 book “The Lumpton Gobbelings”. Ernest Elmore would pass away November of 1957, shortly after having handed over a manuscript to his publisher that would end up being his last. Christopher Bush, a friend of the author, dedicated “The Case of the Running Mouse” to Elmore.

John Bude is the creator and the author of the Superintendent William Meredith series. The Lake District Murder is the first book in this series and was first published in 1935. There are twenty-three installments of this classic series for readers to enjoy!

The Lake District Murder is the first book in the Superintendent William Meredith series by John Bude. If you are a big fan of mystery then be sure to check this book out.

The main character in this story is a man named William Meredith. The inspector is known for his ability to solve cases and get the job done. So when a body is found that’s missing a face, located in a random garage, he’s assigned the case. The inspector then embarks upon a complicated investigative process where he attempts to discover who did this, why, and where they will strike next.

In this case, nothing is what it seems. The investigation seemingly is going nowhere. Every lead or clue just ends up leading to another clue without offering any resolution. He’s scratching his head and trying to figure out whether the deceased victim took his own life or whether there really is a killer on the loose.

Meredith has to play this smart, and he’s trying to figure out why the man was in the process of trying to get out of the country before he died. The inspector also wants to know if the garage is doing any strange business transactions and whether that was related to the man’s death. Can he crack this case before a killer strikes again? Read this mystery to find out!

The Sussex Downs Murder is the second book in John Bude’s Superintendent William Meredith series. If you enjoy a good mystery and liked the first book in this series, then check this sequel out!

Murders are tough enough to solve, but they’re even tougher when they’re missing a dead body. The cops have their work cut out from them when John Rother goes missing. He lives in Sussex Downs with his brother William at Chalklands Farm. However, their calm life together becomes totally disrupted with the disappearance of John.

When the brother’s car is discovered without the brother in it and totally abandoned, no one knows what to think about it. Has he been abducted? Is the disappearance related to some personal drama going on in his life that ended up boiling over into something very bad?

Superintendent William Meredith is on the case. As he begins to investigate, he starts to become concerned that the man’s disappearance will eventually lead to the discovery of his corpse. When bones from a human body are found on the land at Chalklands Farm, the investigator has even more cause to be suspicious.

Can he figure out what’s going on and save a life? Or is John Rother already dead? Watch William Meredith work through the clues and see what happens for yourself by picking up a copy of The Sussex Downs Murder!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Superintendent William Meredith

Leave a Reply