Book Notification

Surviving the Evacuation Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Surviving The Evacuation Books

Zombies vs The Living Dead (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
London (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wasteland (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Family (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unsafe Haven (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reunion (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Harvest (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Anglesey (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ireland (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Candidate (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Search and Rescue (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Britain's End (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Future's Beginning (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mort Vivant (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where There's Hope (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unwanted Visitors, Unwelcome Guests (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
There We Stood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rebuilt in a Day (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Welcome to the End of the Earth (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Small Cogs in the Survival Machine (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Our Home, Too (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Surviving the Evacuation: Here We Stand Books

Publication Order of Surviving the Evacuation: Life Goes On Books

Outback Outbreak (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
No More News (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
While the Lights Are On (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
If Not Us (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Turning Back (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

“Surviving the Evacuation” series by author Frank Tayell is from the post apocalyptic and zombie fiction genres.

Many years went by after he decided to write a book with nothing happening. In the year 2013, Tayall read a bunch of zombie books, and listening to countless more Audiobooks. After a few turns and twists, the result was this huge global series.

The first book starts as a journal of an unnamed survivor that was found in the ruins ten years after the outbreak first happened. The first three books feature Bill and Kim’s story, and the return in the eighth book.

Books four and five continue the story with some new characters. The books push the series away from the political theme and focus more on the hope for a new life, survival, and betrayal. These stories feature Chester, Tuck, Nilda and Jay (Nilda’s son) and their stories conclude in the sixth and seventh books.

“London” is the first novel in the “Surviving the Evacuation” series, which was released in the year 2013. The outbreak began in New York. In just days, the infection spread to every part of the world. No place is safe from the undead.

Bill looked out his window as people evacuated from London. Since his leg is broken, he cannot join the exodus. He turns to friends in the government, and waits, hoping for a rescue. Days turn to weeks, and his thoughts turn to escape once he realizes that inaction is only going to lead to him starving to death.

He is forced to leave the safe haven that is his home and goes out into the undead wasteland that used to be England, where he is going to find out a horrible secret.

This is free of the sexist trappings that can appear in some fiction. The writing here is much more gender free, making it harder to tell if the narrator is male or female, which is a nice touch. Bill is faced with some questions that are highly realistic, as was the fact that society doesn’t break down quite so fast as in other series. The book features excellent writing for what appears to be a first novel by someone.

“Wasteland” is the second novel in the “Surviving the Evacuation” series, which was released in the year 2013. Billions ended up infected. Entire nations fell. The evacuation was a failure.

Bill Wright’s journey is headed only to the research facility that is responsible for the virus’ creation. He finds other survivors as he struggles to get there, and makes a discovery. It is not just the undead that have to be feared.

This series has a good main character, setting, and plot; it is simply nice to see how things are developing, story wise. The book features a surprising ending to it, which some readers really enjoyed.

“Family” is the third novel in the “Surviving the Evacuation” series, which was released in the year 2014. There is safety, Kim and Bill are told, and it is in a tiny village on the Irish coast. They just have to cross hundreds of miles of undead wasteland to a meeting point on a Welsh beach, there will be a boat that is willing to take them. First, they have to go back to London to rescue Daisy and Annette.

Should they locate and rescue the kids, and get them to a safe place, even then Bill’s journey is not going to end. It will not, until he has confronted his past, and made the tough choice between his old family and his new family.

This one will keep you up until the morning hours just wanting to finish it and see how it ends. For some, this is their favorite of the books. Annette decides to write in Bill’s journal, much like Kim did in the previous book, which is something that readers enjoyed the different perspectives being looked at.

“Unsafe Haven” is the fourth novel in the “Surviving the Evacuation” series, which was released in the year 2014. The government said that there were no reported outbreaks in either Ireland or the UK. Nilda did not believe it. She and Jay did not leave with the rest of Penrith is evacuated. Weeks of rationing later, there is little food remaining in the tiny town in Northern England.

Quickly she finds that there are quite a few other survivors fighting for it. Picking diplomacy over violence, she makes an effort to make a community from a disparate group of people. She finds they have to find sanctuary somewhere else, as the amount of undead rise. She goes north right into Scotland. Death follows her, and she has to leave once again.

She joins up with others that survived evacuation, she sees that not everyone of them has the same motives in mind. Some of them: Tuck, the Abbot of Brazely, and Sebastian just want to help. Harper and Rob, as well as others, just want to help themselves. At the same time, Chester and Anglesey’s new Mayor have got their own agenda. It is at odds with Nilda’s mission: to find safe haven for Jay.

“Reunion” is the fifth novel in the “Surviving the Evacuation” series, which was released in the year 2015. Seven months have gone by since the outbreak. The world lies in ruins. Britain is now a radioactive wasteland that is peopled by the undead. The remaining survivors keep hoping that they will wake up tomorrow. For a lot of them, that is what they have left. Nilda has got something more, though. The chance that her son could be alive. He was, months before.

She and Chester left Penrith to search for her son. During the search, she learns more about Radio Free England (a self confessed criminal), the conspiracy surrounding the outbreak, and Chester’s involvement in it. While they approach Hull, she figures out that it is too late to replace her travelling companion, as she will require his help to be able to flee the infested city, as well as locate her son.

Tuck and Jay flees what is left of the old government and go south, to look for more survivors. They save a wounded man, and their mission is to find medical supplies. That sends them toward a rooftop city, and they realize that survival in the wasteland is much easier compared to making a new life from the ruins of the old civilization.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Surviving the Evacuation

Leave a Reply