Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Susan Anne Mason Books In Order

Publication Order of Rainbow Falls Trilogy Books

Betrayed Hearts (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wayward Hearts (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Redeemed Hearts (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Courage to Dream Books

Irish Meadows (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Worthy Heart (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Love's Faithful Promise (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Canadian Crossings Books

The Best of Intentions (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Highest of Hopes (2019) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Healing the Widower's Heart (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hannah's Choice (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Most Noble Heir (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Susan Anne Mason is a Canadian author that writes romance novels with a spiritual leaning to them. Anne’s objective is to create heartwarming stories about forgiveness and redemption.


Like most authors, Susan Anne Mason was always a reader and a writer. Those two activities consumed her life for as long as she can remember. She got her start as a teenager.

While some of her peers sought to experiment with short stories, Anne Mason took a leap of faith and produced an actual novel. And she should be commended for going ahead to get try and get it published.

She was resoundingly rejected, and at that age, she wasn’t exactly in the best set of mind to handle it. However, the author did not give up, at least not intentionally. Rather, life got in the way—as is always the case.

First, she went to university and found that she was too busy keeping up her grades to pursue her childhood hobbies. She still read, though not as frequently as she would have wanted. But Susan Anne Mason couldn’t find the time to commit to writing. Eventually, she was forced to let her love for reading die a well.

And it did not help matters when she got married because that meant children, and once they finally arrived, Anne Mason knew her family had to be her first priority.

The author’s desire for publishing eventually returned, though its manifestation was slow the second time around. First, Susan Anne Mason started to read.

It was the last thing to go but the first to come back. The author was always a fan of historical romances and, especially sagas about large families. ‘The Thornbirds’ has always been a favorite for Anne Mason.

‘The Thornbirds’ chronicles the exploits of an Irish family that moves to the Australian outback. Mason remembers being drawn to the sweeping family dynamics and the forbidden love that was always rife.

Susan Anne Mason’s big break came when she wrote ‘Irish Meadows’, the first book in the ‘Courage of Dreams’ series, and the aspects of that book inspired by Mason’s love for ‘The Thornbirds’ are not that difficult to spot.

And it isn’t like the author had to dig that dip for ideas. Anne Mason has Irish roots on both sides of her family tree. The idea of writing about an Irish family excited the author because it gave her an excuse to research her genealogy which, in turn, allowed her to better appreciate her roots.

Even with her passion for the ‘Irish Meadows’ story, it took Mason a decade before she got published. But the author is not bitter about her long and winding road to success because she knows she wasn’t ready during those early years.

She needed time to grow and refine her skills. And when the time came, when Susan Anne Mason was finally comfortable with her product, she entered ‘Irish Meadows’ into ‘Fiction from the Heartland’, a writing contest.

Mason had struggled to garner interest in her manuscript and many of the rejections she encountered mentioned the presence of Catholicism and priests as the factors that worked against her.

Mason wasn’t ready to change her story despite this reaction. In fact, she set her sights on Bethany House, certain that they would have what it took to take her story as she had written it, priests and all.

In entering ‘Fiction from the Heartland’ though, Mason was initially just determined to get Dave Long, a Bethany House editor, to give her feedback. That objective saw her strive to get her book to the final round where Dave Long was a judge.

Mason believed that feedback from Dave would allow her to figure out what sort of writing style Bethany House preferred. Not only did the author win the contest, but she elicited the attention of Dave who asked to see her full manuscript. That was beginning of Mason’s journey to publishing success.

She gave Dave her story; he loved it and got her a book deal. For that reason, Susan Anne Mason cannot emphasize enough the importance of entering writing contests. She believes that it gets one’s work in the hands of the right people.

And an aspiring author doesn’t even have to win. They just need one person from the publishing industry to take note of them.

While Anne Mason loves to write historical fiction, she admits that the research aspect is very challenging. The author is especially frustrated when she has to do extensive research to figure out facts and elements that will only play minuscule roles in her stories.

But despite that challenge, Mason loves the fact that doing research for her books allows her to get deeply immersed in different time periods and eras.

+Irish Meadows

Irish Meadows is a thriving horse farm, and it did not get that way by accident. James O’Leary left home, became an immigrant in a distant land and poured his sweat and blood into creating the farm.

Even the harsh economic times have not stopped James from fighting to keep Irish Meadows alive and kicking. Unfortunately for Brianna and Colleen O’Leary, their father has seen fit to rest the future of the horse farm on their shoulders.

It is James’ goal to see his daughters marry prosperous men that will guarantee the future of Irish Meadows.

But Brianna is more interested in going off to college. And Colleen doesn’t believe she could ever fall for a man who meets her father’s strict standards. It doesn’t help James’cause when Gilbert Whelan and Rylan Montgomery come into the picture; a stable hand and a future priest, both of whom unwittingly win the hearts of Brianna and Colleen.

+A Worthy Heart

Everyone thinks Maggie Montgomery is only going to America to visit her brother Rylan and sister-in-law, Colleen. In truth, Maggie has always dreamed of going to America. More importantly, the trip gives her a chance to escape Neill Fitzgerald and the unwanted attention he gives her.

And Maggie has no intention of going back home. She believes her future lies in America. Her visit to Irish Meadows immediately takes an interesting turn when she meets Adam O’Leary, Colleen’s brother, and a prison convict.

Rylan wants Maggie to stay away from Adam but Maggie cannot control the desires of her heart.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan Anne Mason