Book Notification

Susan Conant Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cat Lover's Mysteries Books

Scratch the Surface (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dog Lover's Mysteries Books

A New Leash on Death (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead and Doggone (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bite of Death (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paws Before Dying (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone to the Dogs (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bloodlines (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruffly Speaking (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Ribbon (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stud Rites (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Animal Appetite (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evil Breeding (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Barker Street Regulars (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creature Discomforts (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wicked Flea (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dogfather (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bride & Groom (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gaits of Heaven (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Shots (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brute Strength (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sire and Damn (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Dog Lover's Mysteries Collections

Two Vintage Holly Winter Stories (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Gourmet Girl Mystery Books

with Jessica Conant-Park

About Susan Conant

Susan Conant is a celebrated author renowned for her talent in creating captivating stories. She has crafted a veritable cornucopia of works starring compelling characters that readers adore. Featuring the magazine writer protagonist Holly Winter and her beloved Alaskan Malamutes, Susan’s Dog Lover’s Mysteries series has earned her widespread acclaim, including three Maxwell Awards for Fiction Writing by the Dog Writers Association of America.

Yet Susan’s literary prowess isn’t limited to only the Dog Lover’s Mysteries; Conant has also penned the Cat Lover’s Mystery Series and co-wrote the Gourmet Girl Mysteries with her daughter, Jessica Conant-Park. Plus, she is always looking for new ways to invest in the written word, showing that dedication through her commitment to Alaskan Malamute Rescue.

It’s clear that Susan Conant has a special knack for writing memorable stories. Concentrating on giving readers a unique narrative experience that they will never forget; her stellar body of work is a true testament to her abilities as a wordsmith.

Early and Personal Life

In 1946, Susan Conant was born, before going on to develop a love of literature. Her devotion to books continued to drive her, gaining a Social Relations degree from Radcliffe College and a Human Development doctorate from Harvard.

These credentials allowed her to build a career as an esteemed writer, fascinating readers with her lifelike storytelling about a fascinating canine world. In recognition of her outstanding work, the Dog Writers Association of America honoured Conant with the Maxwell Award for Fiction Writing three times.

Through further exploration of her craft, Conant has remained grounded even with all of her success. At present, she and her husband reside in Newton, Massachusetts, where she continuously produces published material.

Writing Career

Susan Conant has been a successful author of mystery fiction since 1990, when her first book, A New Leash on Death, was released as the inaugural title in her Dog Lover’s Mysteries series. This series follows the exploits of professional dog trainer and amateur sleuth Holly Winter, and it has since grown to include fifteen novels. The latest installment, Sire and Damn, was published in 2015.

In addition to this series, Conant also created the Cat Lover’s Mystery series in 2005, beginning with Scratch the Surface. Together with her daughter Jessica Conant-Park, she also writes the Gourmet Girls Mysteries. This series launched in 2006 and 2007 with Steamed and Simmer Down, respectively, and the third book, Turn Up the Heat, followed a year later.

Conant continues to write actively and readers are always looking forward to her newest stories, which have been consistently well-received by both fans and critics alike. This holiday season, her novels make the perfect escapist gift.

Gone to the Dogs

In 1992, Susan Conant released the 6th book in her “A Dog Lover’s Mystery” series with ‘Gone to the Dogs’ published by Crimeline. In this story, Holly Winter and her furry companions team up with veterinarian Steve Delaney to investigate a mysterious disappearance at the Cambridge Dog Training Club. This thrilling installment could easily be read alone, although its events are part of a larger perpetual tale.

This was an exciting and suspenseful novel. The characters were likable and driven, and the mystery kept them on the edge of their seat. A great addition to this ongoing series.

Stud Rites

Four years later, Conant brought fans number nine in her popular series, ‘Stud Rites’. Published by Berkley Prime Crime Books, this one-off plot follows Holly Winter to an Alaskan Malamute National Specialty Show where two murders take place. With the murder weapon linked to her ex-boyfriend, Holly is determined to uncover the truth.

Once again many were enthralled by the plot as it followed a thrilling and captivating journey. Using intricate details to bring the story to life, Conant has created yet another page-turner.

The Barker Street Regulars

The 11th book of the series came in 1998 – ‘The Barker Street Regulars’ was issued by Bantam. This stand-alone mystery features Rowdy, now an official therapy dog, and Holly visiting the Gateway Nursing Home. When Althea’s grandnephew is murdered, they work together to find out who committed the crime, no knowledge of Sherlock Holmes required!

Once again the plot is engaging and appreciated Rowdy and Holly’s efforts to unravel the murder mystery, with only their wits and nose to guide them.

The Wicked Flea

In 2002, ‘The Wicked Flea’ marked the 14th entry in the “A Dog Lover’s Mystery” saga, published by Berkley Prime Crime. The story follows Rowdy and Kimi’s owner, Holly Winter, as she deals with amnesia, her father’s remarriage and a fight between Rowdy and a golden retriever whose owner dies. Holly sets out to identify the killer, utilizing her knowledge of dog behavior.

With a further gripping plot, this story involves Holly Winter’s search to identify a killer. Holly’s knowledge of dog behavior helped her tackle the challenging journey, making it an enjoyable read once more.

The Dogfather

Another year brought Conant’s 15th canine caper, ‘The Dogfather’, this time from Berkley Publishing. In this mystery, Holly is hired to train a puppy for a local mob boss, only for his right-hand man to die. In order to stay alive, Holly must use both her intelligence and her animal expertise to get out of the situation.

Fans thoroughly enjoyed the thrilling plot and warm humor. Many found it to be full of unexpected twists and turns that kept them guessing right until the end, as critics and the public alike sung its praises.

Scratch the Surface

In 2005, Conant printed the inaugural book of her ‘A Cat Lover’s Mystery’ series ‘Scratch the Surface’, with Berkley Hardcover. Here, detective Felicity Pride must solve the murder of a man who appears on her doorstep with a cat. With the help of a detective, she experiences some complex and intriguing circumstances in her search for a resolution.

Readers both old and new were captivated by the engaging plot and premise of this new series, finding it to be a gripping and mysterious story. With intricate characters, Felicity Pride’s journey was a stimulating tour through a thrilling murder mystery, proving Susan Conant to be a truly versatile and gifted author for a whole new audience.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan Conant

Leave a Reply