Book Notification

Susan Dennard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Luminaries Books

The Luminaries (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hunting Moon (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whispering Night (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Something Strange and Deadly Books

Something Strange and Deadly (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dawn Most Wicked (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Darkness Strange and Lovely (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Strange and Ever After (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Witchlands Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Because You Love to Hate Me(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Susan Dennard is a popular American author who has written a number of successful novels based on the young adult, fantasy, and science fiction genres. She was born on February 25, 1984 in a small town in Georgia and since then, she has come a long way to be able to establish herself as one of the prominent authors of her country. Before becoming a full time writer, Susan obtained her masters degree in the subject of biology. This field of study allowed her to travel to different parts of the world after her graduation. She says that she has got the chance of traveling to many parts of 6 out of the 7 continents of the world. After experiencing the way of living of people from different parts of the world and getting a close look at them personally, Susan decided to settle down and become a writing instructor and full time author. In the initial days of her writing career, she became famous with the publication of the novels of her first series, which is called as the ‘Something Strange and Deadly’ series. She was able to sell the novels of this series to Harper Teen publishing house and this helped her to be noted by many as a noteworthy author of the fantasy and young adult genres. Apart from that series, Susan is also working on another series named the ‘Witchlands Series’. She sold the initial novels of this series to the Tor publishing house.

Whenever author Susan Dennard is not busy with her writing works, she is often found exploring the tidal pools or hiking with her pet dogs, or even taking up bruises while participating at the Dojo. When Susan used to live in her hometown in Georgia, she used to hate the humidity and the excess mosquitoes present over there. She desired to come out of her poor way of living and spend the rest of her life in a castle. This desire enabled her to travel all over the world and experience the different forms of luxuries. Her parents were vegetarian, which was not liked by Susan. In order to divert her mood, she used to read a lot of books and also used to compose several stories for her sister’s joy. Eventually, she went on to pursue her higher studies and graduated in statistics and marine biology. After finishing her higher studies, she thought of devoting her life for stopping the act of overfishing and saving the world. In the middle of all these things, she met her future husband, who was a very handsome Frenchman. After meeting him, she had to decide between pursuing her PhD or joining his boyfriend in Europe, and she chose to be with him rather than pursuing her PhD. Soon, she started writing for a publication and after a period of 3 years, Susan was able to publish her first novel. From there on, her writing flourished and is till going great. As of today, Susan likes to spend most of her time in writing the plots of her future novels or helping the aspiring authors to improve their style of writing. Other than writing novels, she likes to take long walks on the nearby beaches and enjoy the tidal pools. She has a couple of pet dogs named Asimov and Princess Leia. Susan also has interests in gaming, karate, and reading fantasy and science fiction books with great enthusiasm.

The ‘Something Strange and Deadly’ novel series written by author Susan Dennard consists of a total of 3 novels published between the years 2012 and 2014. The first novel of this series was published by the Harper Collins publishing house in the year 2012. It was titled ‘Something Strange and Deadly’. The plot of this novel is set in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States, during the time of the year 1876 and revolved around the lives of the main characters, Eleanor Fitt, Joseph Boyer, Clarence Wilcox, Daniel Sheridan, and Jie Chen. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Eleanor Fitt is introduced as a sensible girl with a lot of worries in her life, her brother suddenly disappears and her family faces a hard time. Her mother seems to be determined to get her married to a neighboring rich man. She realizes that something strange is happening in Philadelphia. All the worries of her life seem nothing in comparison to what she discovers in the newspaper. She becomes horrified after learning that the dead people are rising in Philadelphia. After a little while, she gets attacked by zombies, one of whom hands her a letter written by her brother. Eleanor comes to know that the one who is controlling the army of the rising dead has also taken her brother. In order to find him, she has to face the notorious Spirit Hunters, who try to protect the city from the harms of the supernatural powers. But the situation takes a different turn when she begins to spend more time with the Spirit Hunters, especially with the handsome and stubborn Daniel. Now, her reputation as well as her life is on the line and she seems desperate to save both.

The second novel of the series was published under the title ‘A Darkness Strange and Lovely’. It was published by the Harper Collins publishing house in the year 2013. The plot of this novel is set in Paris, France, in the year 1876 and revolves around the main characters, Eleanor Fitt, Joseph Boyer, Daniel Sheridan, and Jie Chen. With this novel, author Susan has tried to deliver a mixture of intense romance and supernatural forces set in the enchanting era of the end of the 19th century. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Eleanor Fitt is shown as being lonely as her mother has become insane and her brother dead. The group of the Spirit Hunters Jie, Joseph, and Daniel have also left her and moved to Paris. When Eleanor witnesses the horrifying yellow eyes and hears the barking of the hounds, she thinks that the Dead and Marcus, the necromancer, are stalking her. In order to escape the haunting world of her hometown, she boards a steamer which was bound for Paris. There she meets a young man named Oliver, who tells her that he knew her brother. However, he seems to be hiding a deadly secret that involves black magic and necromancy. It appears that she will be fine if she stays away from him. But, when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the city is taken over by the Dead. Soon, Eleanor is forced to take a dangerous step that seemed to go against all that the Spirit Hunters stood for. The strange and lovely darkness of Paris may force Eleanor Fitt to pay the price of her life.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan Dennard

Leave a Reply