Book Notification

Susan Grossey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cambridge Hardiman Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Sam Plank Books

Fatal Forgery (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man in the Canary Waistcoat (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Worm in the Blossom (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Portraits of Pretence (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faith, Hope and Trickery (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heir Apparent (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Suspicious Activity Books

The Adventures of a Money Laundering Reporting Officer - Part 1 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of a Money Laundering Reporting Officer - Part 2 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of a Money Laundering Reporting Officer - Part 3 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of a Money Laundering Reporting Officer - Part 4 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of a Money Laundering Reporting Officer - Part 5 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Adventures of a Money Laundering Reporting Officer - Part 6 (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Anti-Money Laundering (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Susan in the City (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Solo Squid: How to Run a Happy One-Person Business (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Susan Grossey is a renowned German-born English author. She is famous for writing stories on money laundering and financial crime. Grossey is particularly famous for writing the Sam Plank book series. She is a graduate of Cambridge University and has earned a degree in English in 1987. After her graduation, Grossey taught English at a secondary school for 2 years. During the course of her teaching profession, she realized that the curriculum was designed so badly that it would extinguish creativity’s spark among teachers. So, she shifted her attention towards becoming a technical author. Grossey reached great heights in this profession and was also asked to document a choc-ice wrapping machine’s workings in Cardiff. Grossey used to wear a blue hairnet while doing this work. From this high point, she moved on to join technical training. One day, Grossey was asked to assist in preparing a manual for staff based on fraud prevention.

While she was writing a chapter related to money laundering, she realized that the topic of money laundering could keep her interest for many years. Accordingly, Grossey involved herself in writing stories on that topic and ended up making her realization true. Since 1998, author Grossey has been self-employed in the field of anti-money laundering as a consultant, trainer, and strategic advisor. She is also involved in writing procedures and policies for her clients based in multiple countries. As a part of her job, Grossey has also written a few nonfiction books having exciting titles. For Grossey, this is also not enough. So, she indulges in writing fiction during her weekends and spare evenings. All her fiction stories are based on financial crime. The Sam Plank books penned by Grossey consist of historical stories of financial crime. They are set in the late Regency period of the 1820s in London.

All the books feature Sam Plank in the role of the chief protagonist have financial crime their core. The stories are narrated from the point of view of Sam Plank, who is shown working as a magistrates’ constable on the Great Marlborough Street. Each book’s story takes place in consecutive years, starting from 1824. The author has said that the books can be also be read as a standalone novel, but if the readers go through them as per their order of release, then they can understand the series better. Grossey has already written and published 5 Sam Plank books and has plotted & planned two more, which are expected to be published in the next couple of years. They are available in e-book and paperback formats and contain exciting tales of Regency crime & policing.

Author Grossey says that she developed an interest in books at an early age. She was just three years old when she understood the financial aspects of the squiggles on the books’ pages. In school, she was given the charge of editing the school newspaper. When Grossey joined the university, she was involved in doing a lot of reading and writing. She continues the habit of writing for newspapers even today and contributes a weekly column for a local newspaper as well as an article every month for a local magazine. Today, Grossey runs her own consultancy firm for anti-money laundering. She believes that this work gives her plenty of opportunities to write numerous articles on her favorite subject of money laundering. Her handbooks on money laundering help the reporting officers.

Grossey’s fourth book, Portraits of Pretence, has won the 2017 Book of the Year award by Discovering Diamonds review website. Her fifth novel was also shortlisted for the 2019 Selfies Award. Today, Grossey lives in London and spends her time in her consulting and writing works. She likes to interact with her fans through her website and give out updates about the latest happenings in her personal and professional lives. Grossey also pays attention to all the tips and suggestions she receives from the readers and uses them to improve her future projects as per the taste of her fans. Grossey is looking forward to writing many more engaging stories on money laundering in the years to come.

The Sam Plank series written by author Susan Grossey is comprised of five books in total, released between 2013 and 2019. It features the primary characters in the roles of Samuel Plank, Henry Fauntleroy, Martha Plank, William Wilson, etc. Samuel Plank is commonly referred to as Sam and works as a constable, while William Wilson is his protege. The debut book of this crime fiction series is entitled ‘Fatal Forgery’. It was released by the Createspace publication in 2013. The story is set in London in 1824. Initially, Henry Fauntleroy is introduced as a respected banker living in London. When his crime in committing forgery of financial instruments comes to light, Sam Plank is sent to arrest him. More than arresting Henry Fauntleroy, Sam wants to know why he took a risk with his reputation and why is he is pleading guilty with so much of determination. As the trial begins in court, Sam Plank races against the clock to save the life of Fauntleroy when he becomes sure that he was wrongly framed.

Another exciting novel of the series is called ‘Worm in the Blossom’. It was published in 2015 and again features Sam Plank in the lead role. The book opens in the summer of the year 1826 in London. A young man is found dead in Hyde Park. His death uncovers a ring of corruption and blackmail with connections to high profile personalities and Sam Plank is extremely shocked to find it out. The book goes on to explore a terrible secret hidden by a charitable organization and a growing enmity between watermen and carriage drivers. Sam Plank again tries everything in his capability to get to discover the secret and catch the culprits. He is helped in the investigation by his assistant William Wilson and his wife Martha. This novel gives a glimpse of the underworld of the Regency London that was involved in child sex and slavery. In addition to the mystery and suspense, readers also get to witness the lovely relationship between Sam Plank and his empathetic wife Martha.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan Grossey

Leave a Reply