Book Notification

Susan McBride Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Debs Books

The Debs (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love, Lies and Texas Dips (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gloves Off (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Debutante Dropout Books

Blue Blood (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Girl's Guide to Murder (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lone Star Lonely Hearts Club (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of the Living Deb (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Pretty to Die (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Say Yes to the Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Detective Jo Larsen Books

Walk Into Silence (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walk a Crooked Line (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Maggie Ryan Books

And Then She Was Gone (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Overkill (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of River Road Books

To Helen Back (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mad as Helen (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not a Chance in Helen (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come Helen High Water (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cougar Club (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Little Black Dress (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truth About Love and Lightning (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Very Bad Things (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Susan McBride is a USA Today Best-selling writer who is best known for the novels, Blue Blood and Debutante Dropout Mystery series, which won the Lefty Award and was nominated for an Antony Award. She is also known for her other works such as Too Pretty to Die, Night of the Living Deb and the Lone Star. Susan McBride also has another bestselling series, the River Road mystery book series that was released in the year, 2015 and was published by Harper Collins. Some of the best performing books in the series include Mad as Helen and To Helen Back. The fourth installment in the River Road mystery series will be published this year. Walk into Silence, an exceedingly dark mystery series, which features Texas police detective Jo Larsen was published towards the end of 2016.

The mystery series performed exceedingly well, and it even hit the number one spot in the United States and the United Kingdom. Delacorte Press published very Bad Things, an Adult thriller in the year 2014. Publishers Weekly had nothing but praise for the book. They noted that the author’s fast-paced plot was fuelled by the jumps between the perspective of the multiple characters. McBride has also penned down numerous young adult non-mystery books such as Debs which was published in the year 2008, Gloves of which will be released in the year 2017. Susan McBride has also written three women’s fiction books such as the Truth about Love which was included in the Target’s Emerging author’s program. The book was also termed by Publishers Weekly as a poignant page-turner. Numerous editions of her books have been published in various countries such as Turkey, France, Lithuania, and Bulgaria.

Susan McBride has also penned down a short memoir with Harper Collins. The memoir narrates how she became an accidental cougar and also how she married a young man. It also tells how she was diagnosed with cancer when she was 42 years old and also how she became pregnant at 47 years. In the year 2012, McBride was named as One of the Most Dynamic People of the Year in St. Louis and was given the title, Survivor of the Year Award.

Susan McBride’s Books

Susan McBride Books

One of the best performing books by Susan McBride is Walk into Silence. Walk into Silence introduces the reader to Jo Larsen, a police detective who works for the Plainfield police department. Upon learning that there was a missing wife, Jo presumes that the wife is a runaway housewife. However, upon conducting his investigation, she soon discovers that despite the fact that the wife had so many reasons to leave her husband, there was a very high chance that she never ran away from her marriage and home. Jo Larsen is thirty something year old detective who has been working for the local police department in Plainfield. After working for quite some time in Dallas, Jo is transferred to Plainfield. Initially, Jo has presumed that one Jennifer Dielman was just a married woman who had just decided to pack her bags and leave.

However, as she got to know much more about Jennifer, the more she understood that Jennifer did not just decide to pack her bags and leave. Just as the investigation was kicking off, Jenifer’s body is found in one of the local quarries. After the autopsy had been conducted on the body, it revealed that Jennifer was killed. There are so many questions that need answers such as was Jennifer still stricken by the grief of the sudden death of her younger son? Furthermore, was Jenifer dealing with a great amount of stress, which resulted from the death of her younger son? Was Jennifer really, the type of person who would easily walk away from her marriage? Jo was not happy with the type of answers that she was getting from Dr. Kevin Harrison, Jenifer’s current husband or Jenifer’s neighbor, Lisa Burton.

With that said, this is the firs book in the Jo Larsen book series by Susan McBride. At the beginning of the Walk into Silence, the reader is given a quick look into Jo Larsen’s backstory. Jo Larsen was brought up in an abusive home, at the hands of an exceedingly abusive stepfather and an exceedingly neglectful mother. Furthermore, the author gives the readers a glimpse into the mindset of the deceased. Despite the fact that Jenifer was still grieving the death of her son, she was still looking for specific answers, especially what led to his death. Furthermore, she was also more than sure that her husband was lying about what exactly happened to their son on the night that he died. Jennifer also understands that there was someone who was playing mind games with her so as to make her appear as if she was unhinged. Slow by Slow, Jo Larsen can find the truth with regards to Jo Larsen’s life and also her eventual death and how exactly she was dealing with the loss of her child.

Little Black Dresses is another great read from McBride. In this book, the author introduces the reader to Toni, who has been exceedingly busy with her life. Toni has everything that she has ever wanted and could easily have anything that her heart desires. Apart from having her home, she has a business that is proving to be quite successful. She believes that an exceedingly wonderful man is going to show up someday in the future. However, despite having everything that she may want at her disposal, Toni still harbors regrets especially when it comes to her mother. In more than one way, the stroke that her mother suffered is both a disguise and a blessing at the same time.

Leaving everything that she adores behind, Toni has to return home, so that she can assist her mother to get back in shape. Upon arriving home, she discovers a magical black dress, which is something she never expected to find. With that being said, Little Black Dresses is the story of two women, Toni and Evie. Toni is Evie’s mother who comes from a home which had been torn apart by the decision that her sister had made after an extremely bad encounter with the little black dress. From there onwards, every single decision that Evie made was not only haunted by what her sister had done and also her choice of slipping up into the dress.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan McBride

Leave a Reply