Book Notification

Susan P. Baker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lady Lawyer Mysteries Books

Death of a Prince (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Rancher's Daughter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mavis Davis Mysteries Books

My First Murder (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sweet Scent of Murder (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder and Madness (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defensible Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Underground Murders (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Suggestion of Death (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ledbetter Street of Second Chances (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unaware (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Texas Style Justice (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Murdered Judges of the 20th Century: And Other Mysterious Deaths (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart Of Divorce: Advice From A Judge (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fly Catching & Other Bits & Pieces (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Susan P. Baker
Susan P. Baker is a former family and criminal attorney, former Texas District Court judge, and a former probation officer.

She is the past head of the Southwest Chapter of Mystery Writers of America, and a member of Private Eye Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and the Authors Guild.

Susan’s English war bride mom was a total penny pincher, however during the early days of her parents’ marriage, they both had to. Not long after her mom’s arrival in America, she encouraged her dad to finish his education. He used the GI Bill to get his law degree as she was having four kids and working part time doing odd jobs like collecting the money out of the coin-operated machines in washaterias.

They moved to Galveston when she was four, which is about the time when her dad claimed that he taught her how to read. They lived on the water, fishing, crabbing in Offatts Bayou, and swimming.

As far as she can recall, they had no purchased books in their house while she was growing up, as they didn’t have the money. However her mother took the four of them to the Rosenberg Library every two weeks where they would check out the maximum amount of books allowed, which was six each. They would even take library books on vacation with them so they’d have something to read on the car ride instead of fussing, constantly wanting to know if they had got there yet.

Susan wanted to be a writer when she grew up, and would write little stories as well as entertain her invisible friend, Sally, that lived in Susan’s side of the closet. Her parents would discourage Susan in pursuing a writing career, and after many false starts she eventually got her BS in Criminal Justice.

Almost one week before starting law school, she got a job as a Probation Officer. She was married with some kids of her own by that point, so she worked and went to Law School, in Houston, for three years.

After eight years of practicing law, most of which was family law, she ran for district court judge and got elected. She was the first woman in Galveston County to ever run. By this point in time, she had been writing a lot and had already had a novel published.

Only one time has she had writer’s block. At one point, she was going to pen a young adult novel about a high school female softball pitcher. She sent off a proposal for it and the first so many pages of it. The editor or agent, she doesn’t remember which, liked it a lot, however Susan just couldn’t complete it.

Susan’s debut novel, called “My First Murder”, was released in the year 1989. Her work is from the mystery and suspense.

“Death of a Prince” is the first novel in the “Lady Lawyer Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2005. Sandra Salinsky, a criminal defense attorney, gets hired to defend Kitty Fulton for killing her dad. The case is more complex than it first appeared, seeing as how Phillip Parker (the plantiffs’ attorney) was the best friend of Sandra’s mom. Salinsky and Erma Townley (her mom) are also law partners.

Even though Fulton maintains her innocence, Sandra quickly learns that Kitty had millions of reasons to want to kill her dad, and not every one of them concerned money. To make things worse, Edgar Saul, a prosecutor from hell, gets assigned the case. Erma and Sandra put their heads together to try figuring out who actually killed Phillip.

It appears that everybody has got a different story of the events for the night of the murder. One thing is for sure, however, somebody stole the victim’s ring and watch, which might turn a murder into a capital murder, a death penalty offense. Sandra’s biggest desire is to locate the murderer before her client gets indicted and put on trial for a capital murder. Before this case has ended, she is going to risk it all to solve a crime which leads right into the very pillars of Galveston society, and put herself in harm’s way to apprehend a killer that’s going to take no chances in making her his next victim.

“Unaware” is a stand alone novel that was released in the year 2017.
What you do not know actually can hurt you.

Frustrated by both of the controlling men in her life, Dena Barlow Armstrong has planned out a rosy future for herself and her kids, independent from them. Zack, her husband, constantly pushes her to turn her inheritance over to him, and when she doesn’t, he punishes her with indifference. Lucas, her cousin and law partner, controls her money and the kinds of cases she takes on.

Right when Dena starts achieving her goal of independence, somebody shows up with quite different plans for her. Unaware of the danger she is facing, she lives every day as a mom, wife, and attorney. Then one day, when her husband is out of town, the stranger is in her garage, lurking. Waiting until the kids and Dena go to bed.

“Texas Style Justice” is a stand alone novel that was released in the year 2018. Torie Van Fleet, who is devastated by her divorce and the death of a child, rebuilds her life around succeeding within the justice system. Her objective is to work her way all the way to the United States Supreme Court.

Vowing to do whatever necessary, she risks her relationship with her new husband when she refuses to bear him a child. She jeopardizes her friendship with her best friend by competing with her for the first big obstacle toward her goal, being appointed to the Texas Supreme Court after one of the justice’s dies suddenly.

Not until she learns what her backers expect of her does she realize what an exorbitant price she’s got to pay to reach her goal. Is she going to risk it all, come to terms with her own priorities, or does she even have a decision?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan P. Baker

Leave a Reply