Book Notification

Susan Vaught Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of L.O.S.T. Books

Publication Order of Oathbreaker Books

Assassin's Apprentice: Oathbreaker (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Prince Among Killers (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fat Tuesday (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stormwitch (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trigger (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blowout (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Fat Manifesto (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Exposed (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Going Underground (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freaks Like Us (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Insanity (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Footer Davis Probably Is Crazy (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Things Too Huge to Fix by Saying Sorry (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Super Max and the Mystery of Thornwood's Revenge (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Me and Sam-Sam Handle the Apocalypse (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Together We Grow (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Susan Vaught
Author Susan Vaught began writing when she was eight years old, and tries to write a bit every day even though she is also a psychologist. She specializes in Neuropsychology.

She hopes her work makes people think, makes them talk. More than anything, she hopes it lets them escape into a well-told story.

Susan’s work is from the young adult fiction, children’s fiction, science fiction, and fantasy genres.

“Trigger” and “Stormwitch” were both named the Best Books for Young Adults by the American Library Association. “Stormwitch” also won the Carl Brandon Society Kindred Award, and was nominated for an Andre Norton Award for Best Book. Susan has also won an Edgar Award for “Footer Davis Probably Is Crazy”.

“Fat Tuesday” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2004. What can Rusty Quinn do when her best friend’s father explodes over a kiss, her mother loses touch with reality, her other best friend is committed to a psych ward, and the most sane person she knows is the egotistical Finnish exchange student that swears in a language no one else understands? She could write a soap opera, obviously. Or go to Mardi Gras. Matter of fact, she could do both.

Funny how much destiny comes down to single choices, split-second decisions, and focused moments. Could running away to Mardi Gras really change four lives forever?

“Stormwitch” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2005. The year is 1969, and Ruba has moved from Mississippi from Haiti in order to live with her Grandma Jones. This world is entirely different from her old life, where she spent days beachcombing with Ba, her maternal grandma, and learning all about history and the lore of magic that she holds close.

Magic, however, is not welcome in her new grandma’s house. Ruba struggles to comprehend her odd surroundings and the hate that comes to her from some of the white folks in town. It isn’t too long before Ruba finds she is threatened by the KKK and getting pulled into the fight for civil rights. A hurricane barreling right for the coast changes everything, bringing Ruba and the rest of her family a bit of justice and some new acceptance.

Ruba is a strong main character and exhibits confidence and a strong will to fight to change circumstances surrounding her and protecting her loved ones. Some felt very inspired by her, as she thinks for herself, and knows who she is and what she was born to do.

“Blowout” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2006. Jersey Hatch cannot remember he rammed the car into his parents’ house or not. Nor can he remember the right words to have a real conversation, or why his best friend won’t speak to him. He is unable to remember why he tried to shoot his head off.

Broken in both body and mind, Jersey has to piece his whole life back together, step by painful step. He has to re-learn how to tie his shoelaces. He has to pass Algebra somehow and graduate high school. He needs to attempt to repair some old friendships that are as severed as the link between his brain and his formerly athletic body.

Go right into the bitterly funny head of Jersey Hatch while he navigates his damaged existence, and while he attempts to answer the question why he wanted to end his life. As well as if he can stop himself from attempting to end it again.

The novel gives readers insights to a suicidal teen’s mind to enable everybody to better comprehend this widespread devastating act of self harming. Vaught handles the heavy subject matter very well, and always allows the reader to decide for themselves about suicide based on what she shows. Despite being narrated by somebody that stumbles and his cloudy headed, the book is rather easy to read.

“My Big Fat Manifesto” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2007. Jamie is a senior in high school and, just like so many of her peers, is doing far too much. Unlike quite a few of her friends, she is irreversibly, enormously, sometimes angrily (and sometimes delightedly) overweight. Her most immediate need is a scholarship to go to college, so she writes a controversial and explosive column each week about being fat for the school paper.

It doesn’t take long for Jamie to have to fight for her rights as a very fat girl. And not so quietly, either. While her column raises all sorts of public questions, so must Jamie find her own private way in the world. Even as love pops up in an unexpected place, and satisfaction in her size loses ground to actual frustration.

Each of Susan’s characters are flawed and have a real heart and real voice. Jamie is a sassy and snarky main character, and is filled with strength, complexity, and voice. She is a teen activist for fat acceptance and fat rights.

“Exposed” is the fifth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2008. Chan Shealy’s got a lot of things going right in her life at the moment. A shot at the regional majorette championships in baton twirling, straight A’s, and the best friend that any girl could ask for. After the quarterback spreads a horrible lie about her, and the entire school decides she is much too trashy for words, she begins wondering if the only place she will ever find love is online.

She is careful. She follows every one of her parents’ rules, well, mostly anyway. A girl has to trust herself at a certain point, right? What if your gut tells you something that you just aren’t hearing, until it is too late?

Even though you know something bad is going to happen, you still may not see it coming.

Susan does a fantastic job in this one of showing the dangers of meeting people online and gives readers an interesting story about one girl’s life at home and in general.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan Vaught

Leave a Reply