Book Notification

Susan Wilson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Beauty (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hawke's Cove (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cameo Lake (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fortune Teller's Daughter (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer Harbor (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Good Dog (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dog Who Danced (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Man of His Own (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dog Who Saved Me (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Good Dogs (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dog I Loved (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Infinity Files (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
What a Dog Knows (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Susan Wilson is a best selling and award winning novelist that writes about human and dog relationships with one another. She was born in Providence Rhode Island and raised in Connecticut (Middlefield). Susan’s novel “One Good Dog” (released in the year 2010) spent six weeks on New York Times’ bestseller list. She lives with her husband and has two kids (both of whom are grown) and they have a total of three kids between them. They live with their terrier Bonnie.

In 2012, “The Dog Who Danced” was awarded the Maxwell Medal for fiction by the Dog Writer’s Association of America.

“Beauty”, a novel that was released in 1996, was made into a Sunday Night Movie that aired on CBS that starred Jamey Sheridan and Janine Turner. This is an adaptation that Wilson was pleased with.

“Beauty” is the first novel that Susan Wilson released, and it came out in the year 1996. Alexandra Miller goes to a remote place in the state of New Hampshire so that she can paint Leland Crompton’s portrait. She has no idea of what will happen. The house that he lives in is like a castle: there is a iron work gate that has wrought iron roses, mullioned windows, and a large chimney. Lee has been horribly disfigured by a rare genetic disease. The hours that they spend together deep in the woods, Alex finds that Lee is a prince, despite his ugly exterior. She soon realizes that she loves him, but he does not believe her.

Fans of the novel found that this story has two great characters in the lead roles. It has a realistic telling of a fairy tale, and takes you on a nice journey. Some found that no matter what, they kept this book, and re-read it sometimes. It is a quick read, only takes a day, and has such a great story to it. Some readers found that they could not stop crying while reading this book, it was that good.

Hawke’s Cove” was released in the year 2001. The year is 1944 and Evangeline Worth loses her first child. She goes back to her beloved grandmother’s farm that is in Hawke’s Cove. It used to be an enchanting place, when she was younger and the small town near the coast is her sanctuary while she is in solitude. Her husband, John, is on the other side of the Atlantic, fighting on the war front; she does the best she can to repair everything in her life and heart. That work is ruined when a man shows up at her door and is looking for work.

Joe Green looks like he can do quite a bit, and even though she wonders why he is not serving his country in the war, she still hires him. It is instinct, she thinks. They develop a nice friendship for one another, and the Army tells her that her husband is missing in action. She is hearing rumors that are spreading in town about a Hellcat plane that went down and the pilot that went missing.

They spend more and more time together, and take things one step further. Their relationship becomes a forbidden passion. John is found. Alive. The lovers part, but the bond is still there.

In 1993, Charlie (Evangeline’s son) gets a sweet reporting assignment. It is his job to put together the puzzle of the Hellcat that has been dredged up in Hawke’s Cove. He goes to Hawke’s Cove to help him with the half a century old mystery, and meets a man named Joe Green and Maggie (Joe’s daughter). Charlie and Maggie develop a romantic relationship with one another; it makes Joe and Evangeline realize that they have to open up about the secrets that they have kept.

Fans of the novel found this to be a lovely read. Some found that there was more historical fiction and suspense than the romance that they were expecting, something that serves as a plus for them. Susan Wilson does a great job of making you feel the different emotions right along with the characters that she writes about. It is a really enjoyable read that will keep the pages turning throughout. Some liked the way that Wilson is able to change perspective, use diary entries, letters without making the novel get messy in any way.

“Summer Harbor” was released in the year 2004. Kiley Harris goes back to the small town in New England called Hawke’s Cove after twenty years away. When she was a child, she could not wait until summer came around. It meant going to the old beach house her family had, and seeing her two best friends Grainger Egan and Mack MacKenzie. They were quite the trio back in those days; they would go sailing, swimming everyday. They would play cards while on the porch during the night and share dreams. All that changed once they graduated high school and the boys gave up on their friendship with one another and started a rivalry. Over Kiley. It did not end well.

For almost twenty years, Kiley has been in an exile that she imposed on herself from the place that she loved more than any other. Her parents want her to fix it up so that they can sell it, and use the money to finance Will’s (Kiley’s son) college education. It will mean losing Hawke’s Cove for good. She brings Will along so that he can see the place and give him the connection to the past he always wanted. She fears that it will be hear that Will is going to meet Grainger (who might be Will’s dad, even though he does not know that). Kiley does not know if this is bad timing or a possible second chance.

Fans of the novel found that it warmed their heart. It shows the kids coming of age, and the adults they became. You get to see the mistakes they made and how it formed who they were. Susan Wilson does a great job of writing novels that feature what happened long ago and how it has effected people’s lives later on.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan Wilson

Leave a Reply