Book Notification

Suzanne Chazin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Georgia Skeehan Books

Publication Order of Jimmy Vega Mystery Books

Land of Careful Shadows (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Blossom of Bright Light (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Witness But the Moon (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Place in the Wind (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voice with No Echo (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fragile Edge (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Suzanne Chazin is one of the famous and award winning author of America who likes to write her novels based on the mystery, thriller, and fiction genres. She is particularly well known for writing down the Georgia Skeehan mystery series, which was published by the Putnam publishing house. The novels of the series deal with the life of a female firefighter and fire marshall named Georgia Skeehan, based in the New York City. Author Suzanne was born in Manhattan, New York, United States and went on to graduate from the Northwestern University in the year 1982. She spent the first 18 years of her career after her graduation in the field of journalism as well as a writer. In the initial phase of her writing career, she used to write for a number of publications like the Money Magazine, the Family Circle, The New York Times, and The Ladies Home Journal. Author Suzanne has also worked for the Reader’s Digest as a senior writer and editor. While working as an editor for the Reader’s Digest, she won a number of national awards.

Suzanne began her independent writing career in the year 2001, when she released the first novel of the Georgia Skeehan mystery series. Many of the mystery and thriller novel written by author Suzanne Chazin have received critical acclaim by the critics and have also featured in the New York Times magazine. Following her successful writing career, she won the Washington Irving Choice Award in the category of the best Children’s Book in the year 2003. Apart from being an author, Suzanne also teaches the art of creative writing to the upcoming and aspiring writers of America. She has even taught fiction and nonfiction writing lessons to the students of The New School situated in Manhattan, as well as in other institutions like the New York University, The Smithsonian, and the Sarah Lawrence College. One of the other mystery & thriller novel series written by author Suzanne is the Jimmy Vega series, which is based on the life of an upstate New York police officer who navigates about the undocumented. Author Suzanne has used her outreach works from the undocumented to write the series. The Georgia Skeehan mystery series written by Suzanne is based on her husband’s distinguished work about the high rank chief in the FDNY. Author Suzanne has given a strong description and an overall distinguished personality to the character of Georgia Skeehan in the series.

The Jimmy Vega Mystery series written by author Suzanne Chazin consists of total of 2 novels published between the years 2014 and 2015. The series revolves around the life of the main character named Jimmy Vega, who is described as a New York police officer. The first novel of the series was published under the title ‘Land of Careful Shadows’. It was released by the Kensington publishing house in the year 2014. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, a dead body is found inside a reservoir situated 50 miles north of the New York City. The victim is found to be a young female of the Hispanic origin. The investigating officers find a photograph of a small baby in her purse, thinking her to the daughter of the victim. However, the little girl cannot be identified or found anywhere. The police also find a disturbing note in her purse who quoted her to go back to her country, telling her that she did not belong here. Soon, the homicide detective named Jimmy Vega arrives at the crime scene. He had spent a major part of his young life in the area among the criminals which can be easily understood from the scars on his face.

Being a Latino, Jimmy knew very well that it was very difficult for the outsiders to live in the region of Lake Holly. Even after becoming a respected officer, Jimmy is required to watch each step carefully while carrying out an investigation in the area as it seems to be simmering with constant animosities. On the other hand, the growing animosities in the area are frequently challenged by Adele Figueroa, who is a passionate defender of the rights of the immigrants. Adele also reminds Jimmy about the struggles of his own family. Now, Jimmy Vega is required to rethink about everything in order to unravel a long-buried secrets and truths about this loved ones, his community and about him. The novel is filled with extreme drama and mystery, and shines very well on the dark secrets of the small town of Lake Holly. The plot of the novel not only proves to be a tour de force of the deepest obsessions and literary suspense, but also an intimate journey of the characters in trying to find the truth about themselves and their relatives. The journey of the characters eventually ends in the human heart.

The second novel of the Jimmy Vega Mystery series was published by the Kensington publishing house in the year 2015. It was titled ‘A Blossom of Bright Light’ and continued to feature the life of the main character Jimmy Vega as a homicide detective in the upstate New York. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Detective Jimmy Vega is shown as making a split-second decision which thrusts him into the middle of a disturbing case. He finds a dead body near the gathering place of the immigrants of the town of Lake Holly in New York. Jimmy gets tormented by the cold-blooded murder of the victim and his innocence. He seems to be raging with violence and guilt as he thinks that he is the one to be blamed for the murder of the victim. But there seems to be a vagrant with delusional ravings who might hold the key to the killer, but he seems to be out of the reach of the police. The whole community of the immigrants in Lake Folly seems to be gripped with the fear of getting deported. Jimmy seeks the help of his activist girlfriend name Adel Figueroa in order to gain the trust of the people. But, he finds Adele to be behaving strangely as she seems to be keeping a dark secret that could tear them apart.

As the case turns personal to both of them, they discover that the town is hiding a monstrous terror which seems to be gearing to strike again. Now Adele and Jimmy are required to trust each other again in order to confront the brutal murderer and their own relationship. By doing so, they are also required to expose the evil present in the town that threatens to eclipse around all the things that they had imagined previously. This novel too became highly successful among the readers just like the first novel of the series, as it took the readers on a stunning journey of revelations and uncovered the sinister secrets of the small town of Lake Holly. It also showed the glimpses of a bright future, which could be achieved only through the dedicated efforts of all the citizens of the town. Consequently, the novel proved to be a gripping work of author Suzanne Chazin as a master storyteller and converged the sacrifice, mystery, and unremitting love.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Suzanne Chazin

Leave a Reply